cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

phoenix63
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:17 pm
Location: Puy-de-Dôme, France

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by phoenix63 »

hum, I may look like an idiot, but what du you mean by "touchscreen" ? My screen isn't a "touchscreen" one...
No usb device is connected, no mouse, no keyboard (I only use the integrated touchpad and keyboard on the laptop)

oldman
Posts: 1107
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 1:23 pm

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by oldman »

phoenix63 wrote:Oh a new version ;)
I'll try it then :) Not too unstable I hope though ?
Yes it does seem the basic video driver of ReactOS doesn't work on my GC
The very latest build can always be found here, which are always the best for testing after a release version has been out for more than a week. As for stability of the latest builds; more often than not, they do work, but occasionally they do fail.

That said, the 0.4.8 release version will be out very soon, which has been reported to be the most stable release so far, so watch out for the announcement on the front page at https://www.reactos.org

Regarding the touch screen, you wrote:
model : Sony Vaio PCG-FR215S (laptop)
graphic driver : ATI Radeon IGP 345M
processor : Intel Pentium P4 2.66GHz
IDE HDD
1024x768 XGA screen
1GB RAM (2 x 512MB) : DDR SODIMM PC2100
PS/2 mouse/touchscreen
Is that a typo?
Last edited by oldman on Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Please keep the Windows classic (9x/2000) look and feel.
The layman's guides to - debugging - bug reporting - compiling - ISO remaster.
They may help you with a problem, so do have a look at them.

phoenix63
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:17 pm
Location: Puy-de-Dôme, France

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by phoenix63 »

as I mentioned earlier on, version 0.4.8 doesn't work either ; I saw a 0.4.9, would that be OK ?
Otherwise, could you please develop a bit concerning my touch screen problem ? Since I do not have a touch screen... (they didn't exist at the time I bought the laptop :D )
Thanks.

phoenix63
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:17 pm
Location: Puy-de-Dôme, France

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by phoenix63 »

oldman wrote: Regarding the touch screen, you wrote:
model : Sony Vaio PCG-FR215S (laptop)
graphic driver : ATI Radeon IGP 345M
processor : Intel Pentium P4 2.66GHz
IDE HDD
1024x768 XGA screen
1GB RAM (2 x 512MB) : DDR SODIMM PC2100
PS/2 mouse/touchscreen
Is that a typo?
no typo, am I missing out anything ? It's just a simple 15" XGA screen... :roll:

oldman
Posts: 1107
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 1:23 pm

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by oldman »

phoenix63 wrote:as I mentioned earlier on, version 0.4.8 doesn't work either ; I saw a 0.4.9, would that be OK ?
Otherwise, could you please develop a bit concerning my touch screen problem ? Since I do not have a touch screen... (they didn't exist at the time I bought the laptop :D )
Thanks.
Regarding the touch screen; please see my last post.

Revisions work like this:
Example trunk (latest build) revision: 0.4.8-dev-620-g6b1ca75-x86-gcc-lin-dbg.7z
The 0.4.8 trunk build number changes to 0.4.9 when they branch the trunk for a release, so in a couple of months time, when they branch again for another release (0.4.9), the trunk build number should become 0.4.10.

Once a release has been out for a week, it becomes old for testing and therefore the latest trunk builds should be used.
Please keep the Windows classic (9x/2000) look and feel.
The layman's guides to - debugging - bug reporting - compiling - ISO remaster.
They may help you with a problem, so do have a look at them.

phoenix63
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:17 pm
Location: Puy-de-Dôme, France

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by phoenix63 »

oldman wrote:
phoenix63 wrote:as I mentioned earlier on, version 0.4.8 doesn't work either ; I saw a 0.4.9, would that be OK ?
Otherwise, could you please develop a bit concerning my touch screen problem ? Since I do not have a touch screen... (they didn't exist at the time I bought the laptop :D )
Thanks.
Regarding the touch screen; please see my last post.

Revisions work like this:
Example trunk (latest build) revision: 0.4.8-dev-620-g6b1ca75-x86-gcc-lin-dbg.7z
The 0.4.8 trunk build number changes to 0.4.9 when they branch the trunk for a release, so in a couple of months time, when they branch again for another release (0.4.9), the trunk build number should become 0.4.10.

Once a release has been out for a week, it becomes old for testing and therefore the latest trunk builds should be used.
I'm sorry, I still do not understand what you mean with touch screen, despite reading your last post ; I can't see anything wrong with the info I posted :/
OK for the revisions ;)

oldman
Posts: 1107
Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 1:23 pm

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by oldman »

I have done a Jira search and found two reports with similar graphics to yours.
https://jira.reactos.org/browse/CORE-9355

https://jira.reactos.org/browse/CORE-13 ... n%20IGP%22
Both use ATI Radeon IGP 320M but I do not know how similar that is to your ATI Radeon IGP 345M

So it could be the same bug that you are experiencing.

Regarding the misunderstanding about touch screens:

You wrote PS/2 mouse/touchscreen not touchpad! See viewtopic.php?f=4&t=17013#p130220
Please keep the Windows classic (9x/2000) look and feel.
The layman's guides to - debugging - bug reporting - compiling - ISO remaster.
They may help you with a problem, so do have a look at them.

phoenix63
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:17 pm
Location: Puy-de-Dôme, France

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by phoenix63 »

oldman wrote:I have done a Jira search and found two reports with similar graphics to yours.
https://jira.reactos.org/browse/CORE-9355

https://jira.reactos.org/browse/CORE-13 ... n%20IGP%22
Both use ATI Radeon IGP 320M but I do not know how similar that is to your ATI Radeon IGP 345M

So it could be the same bug that you are experiencing.

Regarding the misunderstanding about touch screens:

You wrote PS/2 mouse/touchscreen not touchpad! See viewtopic.php?f=4&t=17013#p130220
Oh sh** ! Very sorry, I'll correct immediately ! Of course it's touchpad lol
Thanks for the report ; I neither do not know if the 2 GC models are similar, especially that they are old cards and that I do not have a GC in my everyday use PC (just a HD Intel GMA)

User avatar
mrmajik45
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 1:21 am
Location: USA, Indiana
Contact:

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by mrmajik45 »

Does your pc have a serial port?
ReactOS Donator ~ $5.00 | Linux Mint Donator ~ $1.00 in BTC

phoenix63
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:17 pm
Location: Puy-de-Dôme, France

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by phoenix63 »

mrmajik45 wrote:Does your pc have a serial port?
you mean like a VGA port ?

User avatar
mrmajik45
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 1:21 am
Location: USA, Indiana
Contact:

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by mrmajik45 »

This is a serial port:
[ external image ]
ReactOS Donator ~ $5.00 | Linux Mint Donator ~ $1.00 in BTC

middings
Posts: 1027
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 9:18 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by middings »

Many laptops use USB connections for the internal keyboard or mouse. This makes the laptop's internal cabling thinner and easier to route.

phoenix63
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:17 pm
Location: Puy-de-Dôme, France

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by phoenix63 »

middings wrote:Many laptops use USB connections for the internal keyboard or mouse. This makes the laptop's internal cabling thinner and easier to route.
ah yes, that's what I thought it was ;) I do have this port on my laptop and I used to use it to connect it to my (old) LCD TV so that I could watch movies on my TV with the files on the PC ;)

justincase
Posts: 441
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 4:13 pm

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by justincase »

phoenix63 wrote:ah yes, that's what I thought it was ;) I do have this port on my laptop and I used to use it to connect it to my (old) LCD TV so that I could watch movies on my TV with the files on the PC ;)
No no no. You don't use a serial port for video output. That's a VGA port. A serial port has 9 pins (as pictured above), a VGA port has 15 pins. They may look similar, but they are not the same, and they are not interchangeable.
I reserve the right to ignore any portion of any post if I deem it not constructive or likely to cause the discussion to degenerate.

phoenix63
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Apr 03, 2018 6:17 pm
Location: Puy-de-Dôme, France

Re: cannot install ReactOS with boot CD

Post by phoenix63 »

oh yes, exactly, it is a VGA port I have ; hadn't noticed your picture had less pins ^^
Well then no serial port on the laptop :D

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Semrush [Bot], Yandex [Bot] and 2 guests