ReactOS will not boot at all.

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
ryank5
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 5:10 am

ReactOS will not boot at all.

Post by ryank5 »

Basically, the Boot CD that I created will not work no matter how many computers I put it in. It always just boots directly to the hard drive, even when I force it to start from the CD. I checked with the IRC and they couldn't figure it out either, so I am starting to run out of options here.

User avatar
EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4450
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Re: ReactOS will not boot at all.

Post by EmuandCo »

Do you try to boot it by UEFI or Legacy boot?
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes

middings
Posts: 1035
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 9:18 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: ReactOS will not boot at all.

Post by middings »

ryank5 wrote:Basically, the Boot CD that I created will not work no matter how many computers I put it in.
Please pardon me for asking such a basic question; are your PCs configured to boot from their CD drive?

ryank5
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 5:10 am

Re: ReactOS will not boot at all.

Post by ryank5 »

middings wrote:
ryank5 wrote:Basically, the Boot CD that I created will not work no matter how many computers I put it in.
Please pardon me for asking such a basic question; are your PCs configured to boot from their CD drive?
Yes as the boot priority.

ryank5
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 5:10 am

Re: ReactOS will not boot at all.

Post by ryank5 »

EmuandCo wrote:Do you try to boot it by UEFI or Legacy boot?
Both, still nothing

(Edit 1: on the toshiba satellite c55-a5104 it doesn't have an option, only an option for secure boot.)
(Edit 2: found a new bios version 1.30 for the laptop with an option)
(Edit 3: Getting a "Memory allocation failed: out of memory. Press any key")

middings
Posts: 1035
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 9:18 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: ReactOS will not boot at all.

Post by middings »

Raymond Chen of Microsoft suggests an Email tip: When asking for help with a problem, also mention what you’ve already tried.

I'm glad ryank5 explained how EmaundCo's question led to results that didn't work. Raymond Chen encourages that with this Email tip: When you say that something didn’t work, you have to say how it didn’t work.

User avatar
EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4450
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Re: ReactOS will not boot at all.

Post by EmuandCo »

This bug is not new. There was a Jira report for....
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes

ryank5
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 5:10 am

Re: ReactOS will not boot at all.

Post by ryank5 »

EmuandCo wrote:This bug is not new. There was a Jira report for....
There's nothing.

ryank5
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 5:10 am

Re: ReactOS will not boot at all.

Post by ryank5 »

ryank5 wrote:
EmuandCo wrote:This bug is not new. There was a Jira report for....
There's nothing.
(Edit 1: got to the setup screen, just waiting for it to check the disk.)
(Edit 2: Copying files)
(Edit 3: 'Importing binary hive failed!')

User avatar
EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4450
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Re: ReactOS will not boot at all.

Post by EmuandCo »

ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes

ryank5
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 5:10 am

Re: ReactOS will not boot at all.

Post by ryank5 »

I can't fix the binary hive error, even with using any suggestions on jira.

User avatar
EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4450
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Re: ReactOS will not boot at all.

Post by EmuandCo »

As you can see that report is not resolved yet.
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Semrush [Bot] and 1 guest