Page 1 of 1

ReactOS Can't Detect a Hard Drive During Installation

Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 9:06 pm
by philthethrill
I'm trying to install ReactOS on the VMware Workstation 12 Player. It says it couldn't detect a hard drive. I have a SATA drive installed on my Windows 10 computer. What do I have to do for it to be recognized?

Re: ReactOS Can't Detect a Hard Drive During Installation

Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2016 10:15 pm
by karlexceed
I assume you created a virtual drive when you created the VM? What OS type did you choose when creating it?

Re: ReactOS Can't Detect a Hard Drive During Installation

Posted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 12:52 am
by philthethrill
I chose Linux because I found your operating system on classicdosgames.com, and in the description it said "a Linux implementation...called Wine...already existed when development began." I therefore assumed that I should pick Linux as the OS. There was no Wine option in the Version list, so I picked the default which is Ubuntu.

Re: ReactOS Can't Detect a Hard Drive During Installation

Posted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 6:39 pm
by karlexceed
Ah; that's probably part of the issue then.

ROS is not Linux; it's a binary-compatible re-implementation of the NT architecture. Yes, ROS uses Wine code because the Wine team has spent a lot of time implementing Windows software and there's no sense in rewriting it for ROS when Wine is open source and available.

When VMware makes an Ubuntu VM, it creates the disks on a SCSI interface. What you should do instead is create your VM for Windows Server 2003 32 bit (which is what ROS is targeting for compatibility), as this will create the virtual disks on an IDE interface.

Give that a try and it should work.

Re: ReactOS Can't Detect a Hard Drive During Installation

Posted: Fri Aug 19, 2016 6:58 pm
by philthethrill
I tried using Windows Server 2003 Standard Edition, and I get the same error message: "Setup could not find a harddisk."

Re: ReactOS Can't Detect a Hard Drive During Installation

Posted: Sat Aug 20, 2016 10:21 am
by DougLyons
Please review the VMware section of the Wiki here https://www.reactos.org/wiki/VMware.
Note that you should choose "Windows XP Professional" for your OS because this gives you an IDE drive which ReactOS supports.

Re: ReactOS Can't Detect a Hard Drive During Installation

Posted: Sat Aug 20, 2016 3:30 pm
by erkinalp
SCSI and SATA are so widespread that ReactOS still lacking drivers poses an issue.

Re: ReactOS Can't Detect a Hard Drive During Installation

Posted: Sat Aug 20, 2016 10:34 pm
by philthethrill
I tried what you DougLyons said, and it worked. The new hardware wizard popped up and it wanted to install a new device driver for system device, but it couldn't find it. I thought installing VMWare Tools would solve the problem. I got an error message that said "The procedure entry point ?SetCHString@CInstance@@QAE_NPBGABVCHString@@@Z could not be located in the dynamic link library framedyn.dll."

Re: ReactOS Can't Detect a Hard Drive During Installation

Posted: Sun Aug 21, 2016 7:05 am
by philthethrill
The New Hardware Wizard is also trying to install a new device driver for multimedia audio device, but it can't find it.

Re: ReactOS Can't Detect a Hard Drive During Installation

Posted: Sun Aug 21, 2016 7:09 am
by philthethrill
I tried again to install VMWare tools, and I got another error message: The procedure entry point ??ICWbemGlueFactory@@QAE@XZ could not be located in the dynamic link library framedyn.dll.

ReactOS Can't Detect a Hard Drive During Installation

Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2016 6:08 am
by DougLyons
The failure to install the two devices and the errors on VMware tools install are known issues with VMware.
Normally even with the errors the VMware tools function fairly well and you should be able to run ReactOS just fine.

Re: ReactOS Can't Detect a Hard Drive During Installation

Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2016 6:29 am
by philthethrill
Thanks DougLyons. Is there any way I can install and play CD games?

Re: ReactOS Can't Detect a Hard Drive During Installation

Posted: Mon Aug 22, 2016 6:53 am
by Pi_User5
philthethrill wrote:Thanks DougLyons. Is there any way I can install and play CD games?
Yeap. Mount the CD in the VM and run the installer. Whether or not the installer/game works is a completely different story.