Connect to internet in Reactos

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Trainsandtech
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2015 6:26 am

Connect to internet in Reactos

Post by Trainsandtech » Sun Jul 26, 2015 6:34 am

Hi. After trying to install Reactos with fail on my Compaq Presario CQ42, I decided just to make a virtual machine. The problem is, I can not seem to connect it to the internet. AT first, I thought it was the built-in browser. Then I noticed that the install would not work. So, would anyone know:
1. How to install from a CD on a Compaq Presario CQ42?
2. How to connect a VM (Virtualbox) on the same computer to the internet?
If you could answer any of these questions, it would be appreciated to do so. I have only just installed the OS after the exciting idea of a free Windows.

More info: I am using a Compaq Presario CQ42 laptop with an Intel Celeron processor (1.9 Ghz) and 2 GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro, 64-bit (but I usually install things 32-bit to make sure that it is compatible with other computers) and I usually use an external keyboard and mouse. You can find more specs of my computer on the HP website. My problem is a live CD will work and the setup freezeswhen I try to install ReactOS (after the part where you choose the partition)

karlexceed
Posts: 440
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Connect to internet in Reactos

Post by karlexceed » Tue Aug 11, 2015 2:42 pm

For VirtualBox:
Your best bet is to have your VM's network settings set to "Bridged Adapter" like this:
Image

Then, you'll want to install Firefox or another browser from RAPPS; the built-in browser is mostly an empty shell.

For the install issue; I'm not sure I can help much. Are you choosing the default values during install? It could be the case that your SATA controller is unsupported.

milon
Posts: 969
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 9:26 pm

Re: Connect to internet in Reactos

Post by milon » Wed Aug 12, 2015 12:23 am

Lots of "real hardware" is unsupported by ReactOS at this time. VirtualBox works perfectly fine, however.

KIPILLasa
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2015 11:05 am

Re: Connect to internet in Reactos

Post by KIPILLasa » Mon Dec 14, 2015 11:14 am

my internet is good work with NAT

sorin_postelnicu
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 6:49 pm

Re: Connect to internet in Reactos

Post by sorin_postelnicu » Fri Oct 21, 2016 7:10 pm

Can the default ReactOS Explorer connect to a website?
(Otherwise I don't understand, how can I install Firefox or any other program?)

I am trying ReactOS in VirtualBox, but the ReactOS Explorer doesn't do anything when I try to set the address bar to https://www.reactos.org

Also, if inside the ReactOS Explorer window I click on the menu item "Help -> Is this copy of ReactOS legal?", I get this popup error message: "ERROR_FILE_NOT_FOUND - The system cannot find the file specified." and after pressing OK then I see another popup error message: "ReactOS could not browse to 'https://www.reactos.org/joining/faqs' (error 0x0). Please make sure there is a web browser installed."

hbelusca
Developer
Posts: 1124
Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 10:36 pm
Location: Zagreb, Croatia

Re: Connect to internet in Reactos

Post by hbelusca » Fri Oct 21, 2016 10:02 pm

There is something called "ReactOS Applications Manager". This is one of the big icons on the desktop. In it you'll find everything you need to install proposed 3rd party programs, such as a navigator.

middings
Posts: 1001
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 9:18 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: Connect to internet in Reactos

Post by middings » Sat Oct 22, 2016 3:11 am

sorin_postelnicu wrote:Can the default ReactOS Explorer connect to a website?
IIRC, ReactOS Explorer is the counterpart to Microsoft's Windows Explorer, not Microsoft's Internet Explorer.

sorin_postelnicu
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 6:49 pm

Re: Connect to internet in Reactos

Post by sorin_postelnicu » Mon Oct 24, 2016 3:30 pm

Thank you for your replies.
I know that ReactOS Explorer is replicating Windows Explorer, but at a certain point Microsoft has integrated Internet Explorer into Windows Explorer (I mean, you could type an http address in the Windows Explorer location-bar, and it would take you to that website), so I assumed that the same is the case for ReactOS Explorer. (especially since there is no other browser installed by default)

Now I have another related problem: my internet connection goes through an http proxy, with user and password. But in the ReactOS Internet Settings there is no such option (there is no "Network" -> "Connections" tab)
I have nevertheless opened the ReactOS Applications Manager settings and configured there the proxy ip and port, but without the username and password, since it does not have this option.

Now when I start RAppsMgr and click on any software category, the application crashes (window closes abruptly, without any message).
Where could I find some kind of debugging logs for this application?

sorin_postelnicu
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 6:49 pm

Re: Connect to internet in Reactos

Post by sorin_postelnicu » Mon Oct 24, 2016 3:32 pm

(by the way, I found an iexplore.exe inside Program Files, but there is no shortcut icon in the Start menu/submenus)

middings
Posts: 1001
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 9:18 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: Connect to internet in Reactos

Post by middings » Tue Oct 25, 2016 9:01 am

sorin_postelnicu wrote:...you could type an http address in the Windows Explorer location-bar, and it would take you to that website...
I had never tried putting an http address into Microsoft Windows Explorer before. I tried it a few moments ago to see what happens. The Microsoft Windows Explorer in Microsoft Windows XP SP3 appears to send an http address that was entered into its Address Bar (location-bar) to the default browser. Then the default browser attempts to open the document at that address.
Last edited by middings on Wed Oct 26, 2016 12:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4282
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Re: Connect to internet in Reactos

Post by EmuandCo » Tue Oct 25, 2016 11:52 am

AFAIK http proxy does not work yet. Especially one you have to logon,
Image
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes.

erkinalp
Posts: 822
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 5:55 pm

Re: Connect to internet in Reactos

Post by erkinalp » Wed Oct 26, 2016 9:15 pm

IIRC, ReactOS Explorer is the counterpart to Microsoft's Windows Explorer, not Microsoft's Internet Explorer.
No, that will require us to implement Trident. ReactOS uses a different browser engine. And Internet Explorer is not core stuff.
-uses Ubuntu+GNOME 3 GNU/Linux
-likes Free (as in freedom) and Open Source Detergents
-favors open source of Windows 10 under GPL2

sorin_postelnicu
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 6:49 pm

Re: Connect to internet in Reactos

Post by sorin_postelnicu » Tue Dec 25, 2018 11:11 pm

Dear Erkinalp,

I have one remark to your last remark :)
If an internet browser is not "core stuff" for an operating system after 2010, then what is the purpose of such an operating system? :)

My opinion is that an internet browser is the Number 1 requirement of any OS in this century, and ReactOS should not be the exception! :)

dizt3mp3r
Posts: 1417
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 5:54 pm

Re: Connect to internet in Reactos

Post by dizt3mp3r » Wed Dec 26, 2018 12:58 am

sorin_postelnicu wrote:
Tue Dec 25, 2018 11:11 pm
My opinion is that an internet browser is the Number 1 requirement of any OS in this century, and ReactOS should not be the exception! :)
Well that would be 'your' opinion on a thread two years old. Don't awake threads from the dead please.

sorin_postelnicu
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 6:49 pm

Re: Connect to internet in Reactos

Post by sorin_postelnicu » Fri Dec 28, 2018 11:15 am

Dear dizt3mp3r,
In the open-source world, 2 years ago is like 2 weeks ago.
If you don't believe me, just have a look at this ticket which was opened in 2010 and fixed in 2015: https://jira.reactos.org/browse/CORE-4852

And I didn't awake this "dead" thread for fun, but because I commented on it 2 years ago while trying to use RApps at the office, and today (2 years later) I still cannot use RApps when I am behind a proxy-server with user & password.

I was looking right now through the ReactOS code to see if I could contribute to implement this feature, and I found that (for some unknown reason) the RApps code is not using the system-wide internet proxy settings, but instead it's implementing its own settings for proxy, without the feature of having a username & password.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests