Importing binary hive failed

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
GHNeko
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 2:07 pm

Importing binary hive failed

Post by GHNeko »

Hello! I recently tried installing ROS 0.3.16 on a spare laptop I own. After some difficulties with setup (progress doesnt occur unless I hold down a key or press a multitude of keys at random continuously), I did manage to get through the setup completely. However, when I rebooted and came to the bootloader for ROS, after selected ReactOS from the menu, it started to load but then gave me the error,
importing binary hive failed!
and then rebooted after that. I tried a bunch of stuff like safemode and last known config, but that did not work.

I'm trying to reinstall ReactOS now, but the setup has been stuck on one file again...

Help?

EDIT: holding down random keys on the keyboard and setup is progressing as it normally should.
EDIT2: switched to a weighted object to keep the keys down lol.
EDIT3: when it came to the bootloader installation menu...setup froze... *sigh*
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

oswetto
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 10:43 pm

Re: Importing binary hive failed

Post by oswetto »

Hello GHNeko, thanks for your test.

1 - 0.3.16 is old, please download last version from https://reactos.org/getbuilds
2 - Share your pc configuration(ram, processor, other)
3 - See this url for debbuging https://www.reactos.org/wiki/Debugging
4 - Post image of your pc when crash
5 - Open issue in our bugtraking http://jira.reactos.org/secure/Dashboard.jspa

GHNeko
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 2:07 pm

Re: Importing binary hive failed

Post by GHNeko »

oswetto wrote:Hello GHNeko, thanks for your test.

1 - 0.3.16 is old, please download last version from https://reactos.org/getbuilds
2 - Share your pc configuration(ram, processor, other)
3 - See this url for debbuging https://www.reactos.org/wiki/Debugging
4 - Post image of your pc when crash
5 - Open issue in our bugtraking http://jira.reactos.org/secure/Dashboard.jspa
oh wow. i wonder how i missed the builds section. where is it located from the main page?

my laptop information.

hmm

AMD Vision A4 1.9ghz Dual Core; 4GB DDR2 RAM, 120GB WD HDD, DVD-RW Drive.

Make is HP; Model is Pavilion G Series.

That's all i remember off the top of my head. All the OSes are gone so I can't pull up specific info on the device atm. The HDD is from a Netbook. Acer Aspire One. I was trying to use the disc drive of my laptop to install ROS on the HDD, so I can put the HDD back into the netbook and dualboot between Android 4.4 and ROS on my Netbook.

As for the picture. Unfortunately, I havn't been able to make it through setup all the way again since that one time so I can't post the screenshot of the error.

I can open up a ticket on Jira, but as I cant even make it past setup with the 0.3.16 build without a lot of retries, I'm not sure if you still want me to do that lol.

If it happens with the latest ROS build, then I'll be sure to take a picture and open up a ticket then though.


EDIT: woooow im super blind. how did i miss the big "DAILY BUILDS" button on the main page.

goodness gracious that is extremely embarrassing. i'll excuse myself forever.

EDIT2: alright ran into pretty much the same issues sadly enough.

ROS 0.4-SVN; bootcd-62697-dbg (revision link revision 62697). I tried the DBGWIN version first. Wouldn't boot into setup. Went with plane DBG. Setup loads. At 20% during the install where setup copies files over, the copying stopped. i forgot to take a pic at that specific file unfortunately. started with libx. I think it was a dll.

just like i've mentioned before. i mashed on the keyboard non-stop and sure enough as long as i kept mashing, the setup process continued onward. upon finishing, i managed to get the bootloader to install after pressing the enter key like 4 times in immediate succession. lol.

computer reboots.

freeloader kicks in and i get my ROS boot menu.

i try to start up ROS normally and then...

BAM.

http://imgur.com/8NKhJCu

This problem shows up.

SO. I try to reinstall.

mid setup copy files. the copying stops again. This time at 28%. I took a pic of that as well.

http://imgur.com/PJYTcOH

I've left the laptop alone for a few minutes. no progress. i even opened the disc tray and closed it again, in blind hopes that the laptops attempts at reading the CD jars the setup in to progressing again. no go.

ill submit a ticket now.

EDIT3: Submitted a ticket @ http://jira.reactos.org/browse/ROSBE-52
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Webunny
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 1:30 pm

Re: Importing binary hive failed

Post by Webunny »

GHNeko wrote:
oswetto wrote:Hello GHNeko, thanks for your test.

1 - 0.3.16 is old, please download last version from https://reactos.org/getbuilds
2 - Share your pc configuration(ram, processor, other)
3 - See this url for debbuging https://www.reactos.org/wiki/Debugging
4 - Post image of your pc when crash
5 - Open issue in our bugtraking http://jira.reactos.org/secure/Dashboard.jspa
oh wow. i wonder how i missed the builds section. where is it located from the main page?

my laptop information.

hmm

AMD Vision A4 1.9ghz Dual Core; 4GB DDR2 RAM, 120GB WD HDD, DVD-RW Drive.

Make is HP; Model is Pavilion G Series.

That's all i remember off the top of my head. All the OSes are gone so I can't pull up specific info on the device atm. The HDD is from a Netbook. Acer Aspire One. I was trying to use the disc drive of my laptop to install ROS on the HDD, so I can put the HDD back into the netbook and dualboot between Android 4.4 and ROS on my Netbook.

As for the picture. Unfortunately, I havn't been able to make it through setup all the way again since that one time so I can't post the screenshot of the error.

I can open up a ticket on Jira, but as I cant even make it past setup with the 0.3.16 build without a lot of retries, I'm not sure if you still want me to do that lol.

If it happens with the latest ROS build, then I'll be sure to take a picture and open up a ticket then though.


EDIT: woooow im super blind. how did i miss the big "DAILY BUILDS" button on the main page.

goodness gracious that is extremely embarrassing. i'll excuse myself forever.

EDIT2: alright ran into pretty much the same issues sadly enough.

ROS 0.4-SVN; bootcd-62697-dbg (revision link revision 62697). I tried the DBGWIN version first. Wouldn't boot into setup. Went with plane DBG. Setup loads. At 20% during the install where setup copies files over, the copying stopped. i forgot to take a pic at that specific file unfortunately. started with libx. I think it was a dll.

just like i've mentioned before. i mashed on the keyboard non-stop and sure enough as long as i kept mashing, the setup process continued onward. upon finishing, i managed to get the bootloader to install after pressing the enter key like 4 times in immediate succession. lol.

computer reboots.

freeloader kicks in and i get my ROS boot menu.

i try to start up ROS normally and then...

BAM.

http://imgur.com/8NKhJCu

This problem shows up.

SO. I try to reinstall.

mid setup copy files. the copying stops again. This time at 28%. I took a pic of that as well.

http://imgur.com/PJYTcOH

I've left the laptop alone for a few minutes. no progress. i even opened the disc tray and closed it again, in blind hopes that the laptops attempts at reading the CD jars the setup in to progressing again. no go.

ill submit a ticket now.

EDIT3: Submitted a ticket @ http://jira.reactos.org/browse/ROSBE-52
Well, running it on real HW is still a bit tricky: some are succesful, others not. Feel free to add your experiences to https://www.reactos.org/wiki/PC_ROS_Rigs , though.

GHNeko
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 2:07 pm

Re: Importing binary hive failed

Post by GHNeko »

WELL. AFTER A LOT OF STRUGGLING AND REINSTALLS. I MANAGED TO GET IT RUNNING.

At first, the screen would stay black, but on the 3rd shot, the ROS splash screen showed up.

Unfortunately, I was only able to get as far as the start of the setup window after the installing driver window, because not to my surprise, my keyboard and touchpad's drivers are missing. (At least I HOPE it's missing drivers and not freezing. Seems odd for the OS to freeze after the installing drivers prompt...but this is an extremely alpha OS so it's not impossible I guess?)

So I can't proceed with setup lmao.

i dont have a usb mouse that doesn't us a logitech bluetooth adapter so I'm kinda at a bit of a loss here.

I read about installing drivers via tossing them into a pre-compiled install of ROS along with a modified registry, but I'm iffy on reinstalling ROS after all the trouble I had initially. hahaha.

anyone have any advice?
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Webunny
Posts: 1201
Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2012 1:30 pm

Re: Importing binary hive failed

Post by Webunny »

GHNeko wrote:WELL. AFTER A LOT OF STRUGGLING AND REINSTALLS. I MANAGED TO GET IT RUNNING.

At first, the screen would stay black, but on the 3rd shot, the ROS splash screen showed up.

Unfortunately, I was only able to get as far as the start of the setup window after the installing driver window, because not to my surprise, my keyboard and touchpad's drivers are missing. (At least I HOPE it's missing drivers and not freezing. Seems odd for the OS to freeze after the installing drivers prompt...but this is an extremely alpha OS so it's not impossible I guess?)

So I can't proceed with setup lmao.

i dont have a usb mouse that doesn't us a logitech bluetooth adapter so I'm kinda at a bit of a loss here.

I read about installing drivers via tossing them into a pre-compiled install of ROS along with a modified registry, but I'm iffy on reinstalling ROS after all the trouble I had initially. hahaha.

anyone have any advice?
Is the mouse and keyboard USB or PS/2?

GHNeko
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Apr 09, 2014 2:07 pm

Re: Importing binary hive failed

Post by GHNeko »

I'm not sure off the top of my head. It's the laptop keyboard and mousepad that's not working. But because they're not working, I'm lead to believe they're acting as USB devices despite the fact the film is connected to the laptop mobo. I dont recall PS/2 devices ever needing drivers BUT what do I know? I'm just a novice when it comes to OSes haha.
( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests