Manually install ReactOS 0.2.8 without running setup?

Ask your support questions in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
erictwose2
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 3:25 pm

Manually install ReactOS 0.2.8 without running setup?

Post by erictwose2 » Sat Nov 05, 2005 3:00 pm

Manually install ReactOS 0.2.8 without running setup?

Hi,

I have a laptop with an AMD-K6 3D processor and 64M of RAM.

The laptop has a generic IDE disk type 45 partitioned into:
C:\ -- 2GB FAT32 with Windows 98
D:\ -- 2GB NTFS with Windows XP accessed through dual boot.

Setup from v0.2.8 iso fails ("can't read super block", can't read partition info; etc) but I can copy all the ReactOS files over from another computer.

The question is: is it possible to manually edit ReactOS files and boot.ini to get ReactOS working without going through setup?

Many thanks in advance,
Eric Twose.

Malba Tahan
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:08 am
Location: Chapecó, SC, Brazil

Post by Malba Tahan » Sat Nov 05, 2005 4:17 pm

Yeah, there IS a way! I've done it with version 0.2.7!
I'm sure I've posted some kind of tutorial about this, but it was some months ago. But remember, you have to copy the files from a preinstalled version of ROS, not from the installation CD. I've extracted the files from the QEMU disk image. I use the XP boot screen (boot.ini) to boot GRUB, and GRUB to boot ROS.
Bush was reelected, Terminator is at his side, and Superman is dead! Who's gonna save us?

erictwose2
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2005 3:25 pm

Manually install ReactOS 0.2.8 without running setup?

Post by erictwose2 » Sat Nov 05, 2005 4:27 pm

Cheers Malba, I'll have a hunt in the archives and give it a go.

Best wishes,
Eric Twose.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Yeti [Bot] and 1 guest