Command line access built in to the start menu...

The place to bring up any design issues, or post your own creations

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
gnu_rocky
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 10:36 pm

Command line access built in to the start menu...

Post by gnu_rocky » Wed Dec 13, 2006 3:57 am

HI:

Long time no see... anyways, I think a commandline tool built into the start bar would be nice for quickie commands without the necessity of loading cmd.exe. Sound like an idea?

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Post by Z98 » Wed Dec 13, 2006 7:03 am

I'd go for a search bar instead, similar to what Vista's start menu is going to have. Most users wouldn't know what to do with the cmdline, and might do something stupid in the process.

gnu_rocky
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 10:36 pm

Post by gnu_rocky » Wed Dec 13, 2006 6:05 pm

Well... yeah! That too. The tool I am thinking of can double up as both a search tool AND a command line tool. Get it? Versatility in the making...

Andrewm1986
Posts: 108
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2005 4:08 pm

Post by Andrewm1986 » Wed Dec 13, 2006 6:09 pm

until you search for a file called "deltree" :shock:

.aart3k
Posts: 339
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 11:21 am

Post by .aart3k » Wed Dec 13, 2006 6:30 pm

maybe opera-like shortcuts?
s file will affect is searching
c command will affect in command running

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Post by Z98 » Wed Dec 13, 2006 7:50 pm

Or default it to search and require some kind of tag for the cmdline. One that's not likely to be used in a name.

billyswong
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 7:20 pm
Location: Hong Kong, China

Post by billyswong » Sat Feb 03, 2007 7:54 am

Z98 wrote:Or default it to search and require some kind of tag for the cmdline. One that's not likely to be used in a name.
Or press Enter for search and Alt-Enter for cmdline

cdoublejj
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jun 28, 2006 4:42 pm

Post by cdoublejj » Sun Feb 04, 2007 6:56 am

Andrewm1986 wrote:until you search for a file called "deltree" :shock:
lmao :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Mrkaras
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 5:43 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by Mrkaras » Sun Feb 04, 2007 10:08 am

I currently (on winXP) have an address bar attached to my desktop (right click your taskbar -> toolbars -> address bar and drag it where you want it) for that reason. good to type folder paths for example with auto complete/MRU.
I do like the vista style search-the-start-menu though

atarixle
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 12:48 pm

Post by atarixle » Mon Feb 05, 2007 2:05 am

gnu_rocky wrote:HI:

Long time no see... anyways, I think a commandline tool built into the start bar would be nice for quickie commands without the necessity of loading cmd.exe. Sound like an idea?
ah, like the mini-command-line-plug-in for the GNOME-toolbar
I use this mini-cmd very often, it's a good idea, I think
... may be, the ReactOS-Explorer will support similary plug-ins someday?

walter
Posts: 244
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:34 pm
Location: north italy

Post by walter » Mon Feb 05, 2007 4:16 pm

on windows there is a hidden trick which creates a "command prompt here" entry on folders context menu (you can activate this with tweaking programs like x-setup). this allows the user to quickly start a dos prompt from the folder he wants, and i find this really useful.

i think this could be another great solution (sorry for my bad english).

JGR
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 26, 2006 11:25 am

Post by JGR » Mon Feb 05, 2007 5:37 pm

In windows you can just select Run from the start menu to get a command prompt (admittedly it doesn't do cmd.exe style processing, so just running stuff only). You can open this with Win+R.
I think that it would be easier to type a command into a small dialog box without needing to have it in the start menu, as this would make it rather wide.

I personally use a dozen or so key commands to open various types of command prompts with various things automatically typed in, or I use the right click menu of a file, which I both find easier than looking through the start menu to find the run icon.

As a suggestion, how about including a command line dialog box, in the right click menu of the taskbar?

Nmn
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 10:20 pm
Location: In front of my pc maybe?

Post by Nmn » Fri Feb 09, 2007 6:49 am

On SuSE 10.2 linux, their startmenu has a search bar, but if you type in a program name, it lets you run it too. So it would be cool if it searched the paths for the file first then it searched the harddrive.

MadRat
Posts: 243
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 8:29 am
Contact:

Post by MadRat » Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:44 am

Searchbar would be fine for a newb.

CLI is where its at. :)
*************************************
Go Huskers!

andrewweb
Posts: 263
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2007 3:59 pm
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by andrewweb » Thu Oct 11, 2007 8:37 pm

Andrewm1986 wrote:until you search for a file called "deltree" :shock:
Hehehehehe! Good one! :D

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest