How to get debug output from VirtualBox in Windows (Putty)

Got a ReactOS tutorial to share? Drop it in here

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
Black_Fox
Posts: 1584
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: Czechia

How to get debug output from VirtualBox in Windows (Putty)

Post by Black_Fox »

This is basically http://www.reactos.org/wiki/VirtualBox#Using_PuTTY with images.
This tutorial uses named pipes, for com0com serial tutorial look here: http://www.reactos.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=7867

I test this way under Windows Vista x64 and Windows 7 x64 without problems.

You will need:
- VirtualBox (you should have it)
- Putty (link to exe)
- ReactOS ISO (you already know how to get this)

We will use named pipes, because com0com (wiki link) doesn't (or at least didn't) work on 64-bit Windows.

NOTE: name for the pipe used in this tutorial is "ros_pipe", you can use whatever name you wish

STEP1: VirtualBox setup (NOTE: for newer VirtualBox versions UNCHECK the "Connect to existing pipe/socket")
[ external image ]

STEP2: Set up Putty as depicted, set some name under Saved Sessions and press Save, then you can connect using double-click on that name (it's highlighted in blue on the screenshot)
[ external image ]

STEP3: Start Virtual machine and install ReactOS as usual
(picture unnecessary)

STEP4: When booting, select "ReactOS (Debug)", otherwise you won't get any debug output!
[ external image ]

STEP5: Connect with Putty
(see picture under step 2)

STEP6: Getting debug logs
STEP7: If you get kdb:> prompt like in the screenshot below, type "bt" and press enter to get a backtrace (that's information that helps developers a lot)
[ external image ]




Some notes:
- Your VM has to be running prior to connecting with Putty
- If you close VirtualBox machine with Putty connected, it will say "Error reading from serial device". That's ok, next time you start your VM just click with your right mouse button on Putty window titlebar and select "Restart session"
- When you select some text in Putty, it will be automatically copied to clipboard


Changes from first posting:
- removed mention about administrator privileges, they are not needed at all
- tiny stylistic improvements
- more tiny stylistic improvements (Feb '13)
- I fixed broken images, Imgur saves the day (Apr '14)
- emphasize the importance of getting backtrace
- newer VirtualBox versions have slightly different serial port settings (Feb '17)
Last edited by Black_Fox on Sun Feb 05, 2017 5:52 pm, edited 5 times in total.
cruonit
Posts: 251
Joined: Mon Jun 29, 2009 12:57 am

Re: How to get debug output from VirtualBox in Windows

Post by cruonit »

nice tutorial :)
User avatar
jonaspm
Posts: 585
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 1:10 am
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: How to get debug output from VirtualBox in Windows

Post by jonaspm »

suggestion for title: [HOWTO]How to get debug output from VirtualBox in Windows[/HOWTO]
User avatar
Black_Fox
Posts: 1584
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: Czechia

Re: How to get debug output from VirtualBox in Windows

Post by Black_Fox »

I believe it's obvious since this a "HOWTO" (well, "Tutorials") section :)
User avatar
jonaspm
Posts: 585
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2011 1:10 am
Location: Mexico
Contact:

Re: How to get debug output from VirtualBox in Windows

Post by jonaspm »

Black_Fox wrote:I believe it's obvious since this a "HOWTO" (well, "Tutorials") section :)

ups, never mind, i didn´t see the Tutorials section :S i always browser the "active topics" lol really sorry
Vantalk
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 6:42 pm
Location: Romania

Re: How to get debug output from VirtualBox in Windows

Post by Vantalk »

I am receiving an error when trying to start VirtualBox with those pipe settings it says:

Failed to open a session for the virtual machine ReactOS Experiment.

NamedPipe#0 failed to create named pipe \\. \pipe\ros_pipe (VERR_NET_HOST_NOT_FOUND).

Result Code: E_FAIL (0x80004005)
Component: Console
Interface: IConsole {db7ab4ca-2a3f-4183-9243-c1208da92392}

What is wrong?
User avatar
Black_Fox
Posts: 1584
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: Czechia

Re: How to get debug output from VirtualBox in Windows

Post by Black_Fox »

On which version of VBox? And did you type "\\. \" or "\\.\"? The latter is correct, in your quote you have the former.
Vantalk
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Nov 23, 2012 6:42 pm
Location: Romania

Re: How to get debug output from VirtualBox in Windows

Post by Vantalk »

Thank you very much Black_Fox for the reply. Besides what you already pointed out I realized I was trying to apply the new port configuration to an already installed ReactOS, which was causing errors. Made the configuration before installing and then set up putty and runned it. Seems to work. I'll do my best to send test results ;)
User avatar
Black_Fox
Posts: 1584
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: Czechia

Re: How to get debug output from VirtualBox in Windows

Post by Black_Fox »

You're welcome, glad to help. Happy logging 8-)
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests