ReactOS on Wine

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

digiboy
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 1:47 am

ReactOS on Wine

Post by digiboy »

Has anyone tried to run ReactOS in Wine? I tried to run explorer.exe in Wine and it seems to work a little.
The ReactOS desktop appears with the start menu and desktop icons.

There are a few problems:

- the start menu causes some unsupported fixme's in wine but it seems to work with the arrow keys.
- desktop items are added as .desktop files instead of .lnk files.
- clicking on the desktop causes ROS taskbar to disappear (press ALT+TAB to get it back)
- apps don't appear in the ROS taskbar
- etc.

How would you make gnome run "wine explorer.exe" instead of loading it's panels?

Just a thought.
Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Re: ReactOS on Wine

Post by Haos »

You cant run ReactOS in WINE, its an operating system. You should be able to run the userland apps though, alas how to, its a question for WINE. Explorer is not an all-in-one shell, it uses other components, those from WINE might not necessarily be compatible.
forart
Posts: 1050
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 1:36 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ReactOS on Wine

Post by forart »

digiboy wrote:Has anyone tried to run ReactOS in Wine?
ReactOS *IS* Wine (standalone) !
»Forward Agency NPO
In progress we (always) trust.
User avatar
EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4722
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Re: ReactOS on Wine

Post by EmuandCo »

forart wrote:
digiboy wrote:Has anyone tried to run ReactOS in Wine?
ReactOS *IS* Wine (standalone) !
Uuuuh, NO??!
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes.

If my post/reply offends or insults you, be sure that you know what sarcasm is...
digiboy
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 1:47 am

Re: ReactOS on Wine

Post by digiboy »

I said run "explorer.exe", not the whole OS.
digiboy
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 1:47 am

Re: ReactOS on Wine

Post by digiboy »

Ok, here's the script I use to set it up:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash

#check pre-requisites
if [ ! -f /usr/bin/wine ]; then
  echo wine not installed! Run 'sudo apt-get install wine'
  exit 1
fi

if [ ! -f ~/.wine/system.reg ]; then
  echo wine not configured! Run 'wine test'
  exit 1
fi

echo Warning : About to install ROS on Wine.
echo Press CTRL-C to abort now or press ENTER to continue...

read ignore

if [ ! -f ReactOS-0.3.11-REL-iso.zip ]; then
  wget http://sourceforge.net/projects/reactos/files/ReactOS/0.3.11/ReactOS-0.3.11-REL-iso.zip/download
fi
if [ ! -f ReactOS.iso ]; then
  unzip ReactOS-0.3.11-REL-iso.zip
fi
mkdir ros_iso
sudo mount -o loop -t iso9660 ReactOS.iso ros_iso
mkdir ros_files
cd ros_files
cabextract ../ros_iso/reactos/reactos.cab
#wine runs it's own explorer so we need to rename it to desktop.exe
cp explorer.exe ../.wine/drive_c/windows/system32/desktop.exe
#need one DLL
cp notifyhook.dll ../.wine/drive_c/windows/system32
cd ..
sudo umount ros_iso

#rm -rf ros_iso
#rm -rf ros_files

touch .profile
grep "desktop" .profile 2>/dev/null
if [ "$?" == "1" ]; then
  #start Wine on login
  echo /usr/bin/wine desktop.exe \& >> .profile
  #start a terminal, this is done so you can ALT-TAB to see the ROS taskbar
  echo gnome-terminal \& >> .profile
fi

echo Done!
I'm using Ubuntu 10.04 as is. Install Wine, create a second user 'wine' so if thing go wrong you can login as your normal user.
Run this script logout and then log back in as 'wine'.
If you click on the ROS desktop you'll need to press ALT-TAB to see the taskbar again. That's why I run gnome-terminal.

A few problems but it's interesting.
Lone_Rifle
Test Team
Posts: 802
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 2:17 pm
Contact:

Re: ReactOS on Wine

Post by Lone_Rifle »

Why would you want to run explorer.exe on Wine?
cppm
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 10:03 pm

Re: ReactOS on Wine

Post by cppm »

I think he means to create a windows like shell for an X session. Maintaining all of the windows shell metaphors for the wine environment (drive letters, start menu, system tray etc)

Needless to say no open source implementation of explorer.exe is yet complete enough to use in this manner and neither, I should hazard to guess, are the shell libraries in Wine.

It would be an interesting approach to get people to use FOSS though, as they wouldn't have to relearn how to use their computers. I have always thought it would be a fun thing to get working but I can see it wouldn't be a trivial job!

PS: digiboy, you need to be clearer whether you are talking about ReactOS as in the actual OS or just the windows style shell/explorer.exe etc.
digiboy
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Aug 16, 2006 1:47 am

Re: ReactOS on Wine

Post by digiboy »

Ya, like I said. I'm talking about just explorer.exe, not the whole OS.

Just to make Linux/Wine/Gnome look like Windows. You got the idea.

But it doesn't work good enough.
User avatar
Black_Fox
Posts: 1584
Joined: Fri Feb 15, 2008 9:44 pm
Location: Czechia

Re: ReactOS on Wine

Post by Black_Fox »

cppm wrote:It would be an interesting approach to get people to use FOSS though, as they wouldn't have to relearn how to use their computers.
Luckily, we are talking on forum of one of these ...more standalone... approaches. ;)
Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Re: ReactOS on Wine

Post by Haos »

digiboy wrote:Ya, like I said. I'm talking about just explorer.exe, not the whole OS.

Just to make Linux/Wine/Gnome look like Windows. You got the idea.

But it doesn't work good enough.
Dont expect it to be. Current explorer that ROS uses is tightly hacked with other ROS components, so it kinda works, on ROS again. Its not supposed to be interoperable. This will change with Explorer-new, that works on Windows quite nice.
zefklop
Developer
Posts: 114
Joined: Sat Feb 11, 2006 8:47 pm

Re: ReactOS on Wine

Post by zefklop »

Haos wrote:
digiboy wrote: But it doesn't work good enough.
Dont expect it to be. Current explorer that ROS uses is tightly hacked with other ROS components, so it kinda works, on ROS again. Its not supposed to be interoperable. This will change with Explorer-new, that works on Windows quite nice.
ROS explorer works quite well in windows XP. It's hacked to compensate missing stuff of ReactOS, not the other way around.

So, if it does not work in WINE, it's a WINE bug. Someone should report it to them, and then they may take care of shell libraries (particularly shell32.dll which is really incomplete in WINE, and so in ReactOS currently)
forart
Posts: 1050
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 1:36 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ReactOS on Wine

Post by forart »

EmuandCo wrote:
forart wrote:
digiboy wrote:Has anyone tried to run ReactOS in Wine?
ReactOS *IS* Wine (standalone) !
Uuuuh, NO??!
OK, then: ReactOS *is* almost standalone Wine

Better ?
»Forward Agency NPO
In progress we (always) trust.
The123king
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 6:51 pm

Re: ReactOS on Wine

Post by The123king »

forart wrote:
EmuandCo wrote:
forart wrote: ReactOS *IS* Wine (standalone) !
Uuuuh, NO??!
OK, then: ReactOS *is* almost standalone Wine

Better ?
Again, no. ARWINSS is standalone WINE, ReactOS is independant of WINE in the way it handles applications. WINE handles win32 apps in a non-Windows way, but ReactOS tries to follow the Windows approach.

I think...
User avatar
EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4722
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Re: ReactOS on Wine

Post by EmuandCo »

Right, The123King. ReactOS is ReactOS and no Wine at all. Wine heavily depends on the Unix Base it works on, ReactOS has no Unix Base at all. The only stuff we have in common are some user Mode Libs, thats it. Arwinss even adds some more WIne'ism to ROS, yes, because its the Wine win32 Subsystem with some nice hackings to make it fit in a Windows base, even supporting Windows GFX drivers and not dump all stuff to the X Server.

Btw, The123King... a bug has 6 legs ;-)
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes.

If my post/reply offends or insults you, be sure that you know what sarcasm is...
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests