Question to ARWINSS

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

wildschwein

Question to ARWINSS

Post by wildschwein » Fri Jan 29, 2010 11:54 pm

Some question to ARWINSS, I am not a developer but i am VERY (!) excited if ARWINSS could perhaps be a big breaktrough... So what i am wondering about is, if perhaps the developing of ARWINSS is not that much code, but more "brainwork" and finding all errors and finetuning. Because Wine is used. Or my question in other words...Is it a lot of programming work to finish ARWINSS, or is it already there (with fireballs first approach) and it "only" needs to be improved and tested ?

Or even another formulation: How big is the "Wine-leverage", means the saving by using wine-code ?

And how many developers are working on ARWINSS now ?

Will it come into trunk branch, when it's stable enough ?
Could this already be in 3.12 ?

Sorry for my bad english, it's rusted in :-)

betaluva

Re: Question to ARWINSS

Post by betaluva » Sat Jan 30, 2010 6:59 am

wildschwein

Post by wildschwein » Sat Jan 30, 2010 10:36 pm

thank you ! wonderful explaining of ARWINSS...

But the question how many developers work on ARWINSS is not answered...

and what things must be fullfilled that ARWINSS comes to main branch

vicmarcal
Test Team

Post by vicmarcal » Sun Jan 31, 2010 1:22 am

wildschwein wrote:thank you ! wonderful explaining of ARWINSS...

But the question how many developers work on ARWINSS is not answered...

and what things must be fullfilled that ARWINSS comes to main branch
Currently the main developer working in ARWINSS is Fireball, but there are also some Devs helping from time to time: Smiley, Pigglesworth.Also there are some Devs which looks the code and sometimes sends some Patchs.Btw, there are some Testers following Arwinss progress, mainly(but not just him) Gabrielilardi.