Page 1 of 2

Some General Inqueries...

Posted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 4:13 pm
by Mastadex
I've been following ReactOS for a while. But just out of curiosity, could someone answer some of these questions for me:

- Will DirectX10 and above ever be supported?
- Will the new driver model available in Vista/Win7 be supported?
- Is ReactOS x64 compatible?
- Will ReactOS have the 'newer' processor scheduling that is available in Vista/Win7? Or is it only based on the WinXp/2K3 Kernel?

Thanks for your time.

Re: Some General Inqueries...

Posted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 4:32 pm
by The123king
Yes
Probably, in time, but not now
x64 branch is under development. I think it can boot but not much more. Currently released ReactOS is IA32 (x86) only.
Reactos is based on thw win2003 kernel, but enhancements from newer OSes may at some point be added.

Re: Some General Inqueries...

Posted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 5:54 pm
by Haos
I dont think ReactOS would work on Itanium (IA32)... Trunk is for x86 only, with ARM porting being done from some time.
A branch for x86-64 is being developed, but it still requires much work before reaching the functionality of trunk. Right now ReactOS is based on 2003 kernel. All new features you mentioned will be possibly implemented, but not in the near future.

Re: Some General Inqueries...

Posted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 5:59 pm
by preston
Right now we completely rely on Wine when it comes to directx support. You can check their status here http://www.winehq.org/status/directx.

Re: Some General Inqueries...

Posted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 7:01 pm
by Ganimoth
Haos: IA-32 is not Itanium, which is IA-64. IA-32 is the same as x86. :)

Re: Some General Inqueries...

Posted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 7:08 pm
by Lone_Rifle
Ganimoth wrote:Haos: IA-32 is not Itanium, which is IA-64. IA-32 is the same as x86. :)
That is correct.

Re: Some General Inqueries...

Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 4:03 am
by swight
Here is another question that seems related. Will ReactOs run on a 64-bit processor as a 32-bit operating system like Windows XP/Vista 32-bit versions work on 64-bit processors?

Re: Some General Inqueries...

Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 4:56 am
by RideBMX
swight wrote:Will ReactOs run on a 64-bit processor as a 32-bit operating system
I believe it currently can, but will only use one core due to issues with the multi-processor code.

Re: Some General Inqueries...

Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 5:28 am
by doomonyou
RideBMX wrote:
swight wrote:Will ReactOs run on a 64-bit processor as a 32-bit operating system
I believe it currently can, but will only use one core due to issues with the multi-processor code.
That's correct, I run it with a Core 2.

Re: Some General Inqueries...

Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 3:08 pm
by cppm
RideBMX wrote:
swight wrote:Will ReactOs run on a 64-bit processor as a 32-bit operating system
I believe it currently can, but will only use one core due to issues with the multi-processor code.
The number of cores a processor has is nothing to do with whether it's 64bit or 32bit surely...?

Re: Some General Inqueries...

Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 6:34 pm
by The123king
cppm wrote:
RideBMX wrote:
swight wrote:Will ReactOs run on a 64-bit processor as a 32-bit operating system
I believe it currently can, but will only use one core due to issues with the multi-processor code.
The number of cores a processor has is nothing to do with whether it's 64bit or 32bit surely...?
What he means, is that ReactOS can only use one processor/core at the moment, regardless of if it's a 64bit Core2Quad or a 32bit dual PIII

Re: Some General Inqueries...

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 12:15 am
by Ey3
cppm wrote:
RideBMX wrote:
swight wrote:Will ReactOs run on a 64-bit processor as a 32-bit operating system
I believe it currently can, but will only use one core due to issues with the multi-processor code.
The number of cores a processor has is nothing to do with whether it's 64bit or 32bit surely...?
No, these two things aren't related, but 64bit support has come with dual core processors, they're just syncronous technology developements ;)
Ex. QuadCore CPUs aren't 128bit processors :D

Re: Some General Inqueries...

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 4:35 pm
by cppm
Ah right. Well that makes sense. I was just being picky :D

Re: Some General Inqueries...

Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 10:55 pm
by preston
this went slightly offtopic.. I think the original question was answered and we can all move on :-)

Re: Some General Inqueries...

Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 4:56 pm
by reub2000
Ey3 wrote:
cppm wrote: I believe it currently can, but will only use one core due to issues with the multi-processor code.
The number of cores a processor has is nothing to do with whether it's 64bit or 32bit surely...?
No, these two things aren't related, but 64bit support has come with dual core processors, they're just syncronous technology developements ;)
Ex. QuadCore CPUs aren't 128bit processors :D[/quote]
No, they where 2 seperate developments. AMD created amd64 on single core processors, and the original Pentium D was a 32-bit processor.

Edit:No I was wrong. The Pentium D did support amd64. However, my computer is using a Athlon 64 3000+, a single core processor with only one core. There are plenty of systems out there that support amd64 but with only a single core. So you can't assume that a 64-bit cpu has more than one core. So my point still stands.