The new Explorer

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

frmariam
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 8:04 pm

Re: The new Explorer

Post by frmariam »

I hope that the file manager itself is Explorer++ (http://www.explorerplusplus.com/). Just with the option to switch to a multi-window view like it currently allows (like Double-Commander http://doublecmd.sourceforge.net/).

As for small enhancements over the explorer in XP I hope it comes with rollup (http://www.palma.com.au/winroll/), taskbar sort (http://taskix.robustit.com/) and system tray minimize on right button click in the minimize button. These should keep the explorer lite while adding some funcionality.

Also maybe screen border/other windows detection/snap feature (guess this one may be heavier on memory so don't know if it would be worth it)
Last edited by frmariam on Sun Jun 28, 2009 9:33 pm, edited 2 times in total.

vicmarcal
Test Team
Posts: 2732
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:35 pm

Re: The new Explorer

Post by vicmarcal »

Explorer ++ is under copyright ;)

frmariam
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 8:04 pm

Re: The new Explorer

Post by frmariam »

Oh man and I was under the impression it was OSS... I really think it would be just perfect for ReactOS. Still think that its tabs are something to consider when redoing the ReactOS explorer... Like Double-Commander (this one is GPL: http://doublecmd.sourceforge.net/). This one handles most archives as subfolders (like XP does nativelly with zip files) but I'm guessing this is out of scope.

FlyingIsFun1217
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 3:56 am

Re: The new Explorer

Post by FlyingIsFun1217 »

ROS' explorer is open source, so as always, there's sure to be interest if you decide to add these features in on your own.

FlyingIsFun1217

Ged
Developer
Posts: 925
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 3:00 pm
Location: UK

Re: The new Explorer

Post by Ged »

Z98 wrote:It looks no different than the current shell, just will be a bit less creaky code wise.
It's actually quite a lot different than the current shell.
It's almost a 1:1 copy of the windows 200 / XP classic shell. You'd be very hard pressed to notice a difference between them.

vicmarcal
Test Team
Posts: 2732
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:35 pm

Re: The new Explorer

Post by vicmarcal »

GED, nice to hear :)..Is it usable?or near to be usable?

greenie
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:10 am

Re: The new Explorer

Post by greenie »

I downloaded the latest build from http://www.reactos.org/getbuilds/
and explorer new didn't work. An old build I played with worked, though context menu for clicking on tasks in task bar did not work and setting focus of tasks did not work.
Has there been any updates to it?

When I looked at the source tree a while ago it was 4 months since a change was done that was not a language change.


EDIT:
I just looked. Basically one update in 7 months which was related to 64 compatibility. So I think it has not improved.
Here are some screenshots of the old explorer new I have
http://img20.imageshack.us/gal.php?g=58148595.png

This is a modified one of mine. so it may work a little different.

User avatar
EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4394
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Re: The new Explorer

Post by EmuandCo »

We dont need to fix explorer_new. It works under windows XP. Our shell32 is the problem.
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes.

greenie
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:10 am

Re: The new Explorer

Post by greenie »

EmuandCo I meant it doesn't work under windows xp. In my test anyway. I will try again on another computer. I'm just downloading boot cd and extracting it from there.

I will edit this with the results.

No it still doesn't work at all. no errors or anything it will not start and I have terminated the normal shell and done everything I do to start the old explorer_new.
thats on 2 different xp machines with sp3.

maxpower
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2009 9:03 am

Re: The new Explorer

Post by maxpower »

I can not get it to work on Vista SP2 and on ROS. Just nothing happens, like greenie said.

FlyingIsFun1217
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 3:56 am

Re: The new Explorer

Post by FlyingIsFun1217 »

Hmm. Not working on windows? That... may be an issue when it's time to use it in ROS.

Interesting to hear it is having issues. Last year (I'm assuming before the last revision of it) I know people had used it and it had worked. Believe I tried it myself.

FlyingIsFun1217

PetruDimitriu
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 9:45 am

Re: The new Explorer

Post by PetruDimitriu »

I've also tested it. It does nothing on Win98, WinXP, WinVista and ReactOS 0.4-SVN.

greenie
Posts: 145
Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 12:10 am

Re: The new Explorer

Post by greenie »

I updated my sources and tried to build explorer new.
I then start to merge different parts of the old source I had using winmerge.
It compiled every time, but failed to start every time. I then just replaced the entire directory of explorer-new with the old folder. cleaned all and tried to make it again. it compiled but failed to start.

I then tried to build plain old explorer to see if everything I compiled failed. It compiled and ran fine.

This is not what I expected and I am really confused. what could cause this?
Could it be because i'm using rosbe 1.3?
Though the nightly builds produce the same result.

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: The new Explorer

Post by Z98 »

ROS is missing quite a few shell32 implementations before explorer-new will run on anything like a consistent basis. The fact that it ran in the past seemed more like a fluke than anything else.

FlyingIsFun1217
Posts: 475
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2007 3:56 am

Re: The new Explorer

Post by FlyingIsFun1217 »

Z98 wrote:The fact that it ran in the past seemed more like a fluke than anything else.
I think the thing that's really making people scratch their heads though, is that not too many people can get it to run on Windows, which I'd hope would have Windows-compatible shell32 implimentations.

FlyingIsFun1217

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests