Page 1 of 1

[idea] React Do

Posted: Sat Jun 06, 2009 8:40 pm
by kevintrooper
Please only vote if you've read this post.


I'm sure we have a lot of Linux users on this forum, but I'm not sure how many actually use Do, also known as "Gnome Do". I think Do is a very useful application because it lets you "do things as quickly as possible (but no quicker)" and is very useful with it's options and extensions. I was wondering if there was anyone willing to start this for ReactOS and keep it at minimum size. I know, there are some clones for windows, but they just bring the experience expected. Vista actually has something similar, the search field on the start menu, and I believe OSX has something like this, too (but it costs money). So I think this is a good idea, eh? :)

Thank You,

Kevintrooper

Re: [idea] React Do

Posted: Sat Jun 06, 2009 10:53 pm
by coldReactive
But it should be optional if made, because I can't stand Gnome Do.

Re: [idea] React Do

Posted: Sun Jun 07, 2009 1:03 am
by kevintrooper
coldReactive wrote:But it should be optional if made, because I can't stand Gnome Do.
of course, i meant to have it on Download!

Re: [idea] React Do

Posted: Sun Jun 07, 2009 7:50 am
by Phalanx
The new start menu in windows, and connectivity centre seem to cover this...

Re: [idea] React Do

Posted: Sun Jun 07, 2009 12:42 pm
by alexef
The answer is Launchy. There's no need to rewrite an entire application, just to make the existing work: http://www.reactos.org/support/index.ph ... group/239/

Re: [idea] React Do

Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 4:13 am
by kevintrooper
alexef wrote:The answer is Launchy. There's no need to rewrite an entire application, just to make the existing work: http://www.reactos.org/support/index.ph ... group/239/

I like it, but it doesnt seem to be working in ReactOS for me...

Re: [idea] React Do

Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 9:11 am
by EmuandCo
There are more Windows "clones"? Like?

Re: [idea] React Do

Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 12:20 pm
by vicmarcal
kevintrooper wrote:I like it, but it doesnt seem to be working in ReactOS for me...
I have downloaded the latest Launchy.
Before installing i knew it wouldnt work under ReactOS.It uses Transparency, which isnt working in ROS.SO i was expecting BSOD,or problems with Launchy colors in the best of the cases.
I tried and it begins complaining about XXXXX.DLL not found. Most of them begins with the MSXXX.DLL. You can download them from Internet(They are redistributables).(NOTE: It was complaining also about a QTxxx.DLL not found,which was there,next to the EXE,seems one of the NotFound-MSXXX were preventing QTxxx.DLL to be found,after copying the needed MSxxx.DLL to system32 the QTxxx.DLL warning dissapears)
After putting this DLLs inside System32 and launching "Launchy" a Grey Square appeared in the Middle of the Screen.I made right click on it and appeared a Launchy Menu. I was able to change everything there,indeed the skins(all of them using Transparencies and beatiful things our GUI doesnt support), as all of the skins were using transparencies none of them are working.
If you find an old Launchy version it is really possible to have it working inside Ros,since seems the only problem is a Drawing Issue.

Re: [idea] React Do

Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:10 pm
by Smiley
vicmarcal wrote:
kevintrooper wrote:I like it, but it doesnt seem to be working in ReactOS for me...
I have downloaded the latest Launchy.
Before installing i knew it wouldnt work under ReactOS.It uses Transparency, which isnt working in ROS.SO i was expecting BSOD,or problems with Launchy colors in the best of the cases.
I tried and it begins complaining about XXXXX.DLL not found. Most of them begins with the MSXXX.DLL. You can download them from Internet(They are redistributables).(NOTE: It was complaining also about a QTxxx.DLL not found,which was there,next to the EXE,seems one of the NotFound-MSXXX were preventing QTxxx.DLL to be found,after copying the needed MSxxx.DLL to system32 the QTxxx.DLL warning dissapears)
After putting this DLLs inside System32 and launching "Launchy" a Grey Square appeared in the Middle of the Screen.I made right click on it and appeared a Launchy Menu. I was able to change everything there,indeed the skins(all of them using Transparencies and beatiful things our GUI doesnt support), as all of the skins were using transparencies none of them are working.
If you find an old Launchy version it is really possible to have it working inside Ros,since seems the only problem is a Drawing Issue.
can you post some screenshots?

Re: [idea] React Do

Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:24 pm
by vicmarcal
I deleted the VM..
But there isnt too much to see.
Launchy loads as a plain gray rectangle:size 300x150. RightClicking on it a Window appears,but it´s just a Settings Window. The typical of 5 or 6 tabs where you can set the options(GUI,links,and such). Really nothing to see,since the gray rectangle should be a rectangle with a Textbox.And the textbox is the one that launches everything.It is a QT app.

Re: [idea] React Do

Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 2:32 pm
by vicmarcal
EmuandCo wrote:There are more Windows "clones"? Like?
I think he was talking about there are some Clones of ""Gnome Do"" for Windows.(as Launchy) Hehehe.. :)

Re: [idea] React Do

Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 4:52 pm
by coldReactive
I'd use RocketDock or RKLauncher before I would use this anyway.

Re: [idea] React Do

Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 7:01 pm
by Black_Fox
BTW, RocketDock has one similar open-sourced equivalent. :)

Re: [idea] React Do

Posted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 7:12 pm
by coldReactive
Black_Fox wrote:BTW, RocketDock has one similar open-sourced equivalent. :)
It would be wise to link the actual website as well.

Re: [idea] React Do

Posted: Wed Jun 10, 2009 5:20 am
by kevintrooper
RocketDock isn't the same, yet it is my favorite dock for windows.