Firefox 3 messed up and 0.5 by Christmas?

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

nute
Posts: 251
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:30 am

Firefox 3 messed up and 0.5 by Christmas?

Post by nute » Thu May 21, 2009 9:17 am

It looks like ReactOS 0.5 beta may be released by Christmas, which is about 7 months away
roughly.

Well, here's hoping that it comes out that soon.

BTW, I have not been able to get sound to work under vmware workstation 6 following the wiki.

Firefox 3 is screwed up in 0.3.9. The fonts are all messed up and it is even worse than that.
Firefox 3 must depend on something that Firefox 2.0.0.20 doesn't. Anyone else having
problems?

How come 0.3.11 is on the roadmap? It's odd that it's on the roadmap without any
comments regarding what the goals for this release will be.

Any idea when the add hardware wizard will get a fuller implementation?

vicmarcal
Test Team
Posts: 2732
Joined: Mon Jul 07, 2008 12:35 pm

Re: Firefox 3 messed up and 0.5 by Christmas?

Post by vicmarcal » Thu May 21, 2009 9:35 am

0.5 wont be released by Christmas. Roadmap dates in Roadmap Wiki page arent accurate and it is a roadmap just to arrive to 0.4.0. So dont truth it.
Firefox 3 has well known issues,one is the Messing Fonts.
Firefox 3 uses QT while FF 2 not. This is the change which screwed all.
Image

The123king
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 6:51 pm

Re: Firefox 3 messed up and 0.5 by Christmas?

Post by The123king » Thu May 21, 2009 9:42 am

Adding to what vicmarcal said, 0.3.11 is likely to bhe the last release before 0.4.0. There might be more, there might be less, it just depends on how far ReactOS progresses. According to the release cycle and that roadmap, expect 0.4. around christmas, but no definates ;)

Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Re: Firefox 3 messed up and 0.5 by Christmas?

Post by Haos » Thu May 21, 2009 12:40 pm

Hardware wizard itself is perfectly fine.

GoBusto
Posts: 579
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:13 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Firefox 3 messed up and 0.5 by Christmas?

Post by GoBusto » Thu May 21, 2009 12:40 pm

vicmarcal wrote:Firefox 3 uses QT
Does it? I'm not sure that it does.

Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Re: Firefox 3 messed up and 0.5 by Christmas?

Post by Haos » Thu May 21, 2009 12:41 pm

Not the Win32 version...

coldReactive
Posts: 581
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 10:42 pm

Re: Firefox 3 messed up and 0.5 by Christmas?

Post by coldReactive » Thu May 21, 2009 1:34 pm

Haos wrote:Not the Win32 version...
Which is what ReactOS Would use. :|

GoBusto
Posts: 579
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:13 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: Firefox 3 messed up and 0.5 by Christmas?

Post by GoBusto » Thu May 21, 2009 2:31 pm

I'm guessing that the remaining Firefox 3 problems are related to either Freetype or Cairo rather than Qt.
coldReactive wrote:
Haos wrote:Not the Win32 version...
Which is what ReactOS Would use. :|
Unless, of course, you were to install some sort of inverse WINE on ReactOS.

You could theoretically also use it to run WINE, in a "Yo Dawg We Heard You Like Win32 So We Put A Win32 In Your Win32 So You Can Win32 While You Win32" spiral that would probably end up causing the universe to end.

hto
Developer
Posts: 2193
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 3:43 pm

Post by hto » Thu May 21, 2009 4:32 pm

This kerning bug is not the only problem with FF3. There are some other bugs, which are worse, like bug 4406 and bug 4423.

doomonyou
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed May 06, 2009 5:45 pm

Re: Firefox 3 messed up and 0.5 by Christmas?

Post by doomonyou » Fri May 22, 2009 11:59 pm

GoBusto wrote:
vicmarcal wrote:Firefox 3 uses QT
Does it? I'm not sure that it does.
They tried to port it to QT a while back but, last I heard, it was still useless.

Vermillion
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon May 18, 2009 9:06 am

Re: Firefox 3 messed up and 0.5 by Christmas?

Post by Vermillion » Mon May 25, 2009 8:19 am

Firefox 3 is screwed up in 0.3.9. The fonts are all messed up and it is even worse than that.
Firefox 3 must depend on something that Firefox 2.0.0.20 doesn't. Anyone else having
problems?
Got the same problem.

QT Version of Firefox isn't an official version.
But in Version 3 they changed to Cairo maybe it's that ;)

Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Re: Firefox 3 messed up and 0.5 by Christmas?

Post by Haos » Mon May 25, 2009 9:49 am

FF is native on Win32.

cppm
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 10:03 pm

Re: Firefox 3 messed up and 0.5 by Christmas?

Post by cppm » Tue May 26, 2009 3:50 pm

Perhaps someones getting confused with Firefox's greater widget integration on Linux? On win32 it is indeed native, but I got the impression that on Linux FF 3 used the native widgets of the desktop enviroment (as opposed to simply emulating the look and feel with themes in FF2), therefore it would use Qt in a KDE context.

Although I might be horribly confused on this point.
Image

deniseweird
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu May 07, 2009 8:13 pm

Re: Firefox 3 messed up and 0.5 by Christmas?

Post by deniseweird » Tue May 26, 2009 8:12 pm

Afaik, Firefox uses XUL regardless of what OS is being used. They've added integration for Windows, Mac OS X and GTK+ to XUL. Firefox is not integrated when running in KDE, the Linux version will always use the theming that GTK+ provides. Same thing with *BSD.

Phalanx
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2004 12:42 am
Location: Australia

Re: Firefox 3 messed up and 0.5 by Christmas?

Post by Phalanx » Wed May 27, 2009 3:26 am

deniseweird wrote:Afaik, Firefox uses XUL regardless of what OS is being used. They've added integration for Windows, Mac OS X and GTK+ to XUL. Firefox is not integrated when running in KDE, the Linux version will always use the theming that GTK+ provides. Same thing with *BSD.
XUL on windows calls underlying win32.

QT was a test for the Linux version which is a project.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests