Smart Boot Manager and ReactOS?

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
tomleem
Posts: 631
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: New Hampshire of United States of America
Contact:

Smart Boot Manager and ReactOS?

Post by tomleem » Fri May 13, 2005 2:38 pm

http://btmgr.sourceforge.net/
I was given this link when I asked about installing eCS onto an older Thinkpad (760EL) that could not boot from a cdrom drive. It is an os independent boot dsic that one can use to install/boot from a cdrom (the eCS 1.1 cd is bootable). Since it is for any operating system, could it be used to install ReactOS onto a computer that one can not boot from the cd drive?
http://btmgr.sourceforge.net/about.html

:?:
* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Tom Lee M / BigGoofyGuy
* * * * * * * * * * * * *

tomleem
Posts: 631
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: New Hampshire of United States of America
Contact:

Short Description from the site

Post by tomleem » Fri May 13, 2005 2:39 pm

"Smart Boot Manager (SBM) is an OS independent and full-featured boot manager with an easy-to-use user interface."

8)
* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Tom Lee M / BigGoofyGuy
* * * * * * * * * * * * *

Dr. Fred
Developer
Posts: 607
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 10:09 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Post by Dr. Fred » Sat May 14, 2005 9:27 am

I don't think that it really can load ReactOs. Only chainloading like ntldr and grub. So you could also install grub or what ever or am I messing the point ?
Where do you want ReactOS to go today ?

Gasmann
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 6:53 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Gasmann » Sat May 14, 2005 10:31 am

I think he means that you could directly boot the install (or live) cd with sbm, without needing a BIOS that supports boot from cdrom. However I tried it out and it didn't really work for me. There are some problems which prevented it from booting, don't know why exactly :?
EDIT: Here's what I get when booting current installcd in SBM 3.7.1:

Code: Select all

Press any key to boot from CD..
Detecting hardware...
No APM BIOS found
Disk Read Failed
Error Code: 0x1
Error: bad command passed to driver
Press any key
Failed to read the PVD.
Press any key
Disk Read Failed
Error Code: 0x1
Error: bad command passed to driver
Press any key
Unable to locate boot partition
Press any key
Failed to open boot drive.
Then it hangs up.

tomleem
Posts: 631
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: New Hampshire of United States of America
Contact:

Boot Indirectly From Cd Drive

Post by tomleem » Mon May 16, 2005 5:49 pm

That was the idea for using Smart Boot Manager. On older computers that do not or can not boot from the cd drive. Since it is os indepent, I thought it might be used on older computers. What computer were you trying it on?
I was also sent the file so I do not if it is the same as the one at the site listed. The one I have could be more current.
* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Tom Lee M / BigGoofyGuy
* * * * * * * * * * * * *

Gasmann
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 6:53 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Boot Indirectly From Cd Drive

Post by Gasmann » Mon May 16, 2005 9:56 pm

tomleem wrote:That was the idea for using Smart Boot Manager. On older computers that do not or can not boot from the cd drive. Since it is os indepent, I thought it might be used on older computers. What computer were you trying it on?
I was also sent the file so I do not if it is the same as the one at the site listed. The one I have could be more current.
Well, then try it for yourself :wink:
I was testing using a normal computer: amd athlon xp 2400+, 512mb ram, Asrock K7VT2, Nvidia GeForce 4 MX-440. I'll try it with an old one (166mhz :lol: ) but I don't think that it will work.

Meklort
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 11:53 pm
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Re: Boot Indirectly From Cd Drive

Post by Meklort » Mon May 16, 2005 11:06 pm

gasmann wrote:I'll try it with an old one (166mhz :lol: ) but I don't think that it will work.
What are you talking about, that isnt old, 50mhz (386's) are old.
If you can get it to work that would be a good thing.. (I think I might try using the install cd for network booting.

tomleem
Posts: 631
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: New Hampshire of United States of America
Contact:

Tried with eCS 1.1, ROS and FreeDOS

Post by tomleem » Tue May 17, 2005 3:21 pm

I tried the Smart Boot Manager diskette. It did not work with the eCS 1.1 cd, the ROS cd or the FreeDOS cd. The computer is an IBM Thinkpad 760EL with a 1.2 gig hard drive, a 120 mg hertz cpu and 72 meg of ram. I tried it with the docking station; the cdrom drive in the dock with the diskette in the Thinkpad. It did not work with any of the os's boot cd's. :(

:cry:
* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Tom Lee M / BigGoofyGuy
* * * * * * * * * * * * *

f22_storm
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 9:20 am
Location: BeiJing, China
Contact:

Post by f22_storm » Fri May 20, 2005 4:38 am

- Grub+memdisk can support Dos/Win98 partition image. I mean,

if you have an minial Win98 system, you can Winimage to create

a partition image to a file, and use grub+memdisk to load it into

your ram, and boot it. -this partition image file can be compressed

with zip- ;-)


- But, I have not test this on ReactOS. Wish this may work.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], DotBot [Crawler], Google [Bot] and 5 guests