Using git for ros source as main revision control system.

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Using git for ros source as main revision control systen. Did we need it?

Yes, for all source code (branches, tags, trunk, vendor, web).
3
12%
Yes, for all source code, except trunk.
0
No votes
Yes, only for some of code (comment below, what exactly code you want to see in git).
0
No votes
Yes, for all source code as svn mirror.
6
23%
Yes, only for some of code as svn mirror (comment below, what exactly code you want to see in git mirror).
0
No votes
May be, if somebody explain why git is better choose for ros, than svn.
0
No votes
No, let's leave everything as is.
15
58%
No, we don't need git at all. Let's remove git mirror of trunk.
0
No votes
Other (comment below).
2
8%
 
Total votes: 26

q4a
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:23 am

Re: Re:

Post by q4a »

Ged wrote:one of the best source control tools
Prove it!!!

hto
Developer
Posts: 2193
Joined: Sun Oct 01, 2006 3:43 pm

Post by hto »

q4a wrote: Prove it!!!
Here is the proof
It ought to be remembered that there is nothing more difficult to take in hand, more perilous to conduct, or more uncertain in its success, than to take the lead in the introduction of a new order of things. […] This coolness arises […] partly from the incredulity of men, who do not readily believe in new things until they have had a long experience of them.

q4a
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:23 am

Re:

Post by q4a »

hto wrote:
It ought to be remembered that there is nothing more difficult to take in hand, more perilous to conduct, or more uncertain in its success, than to take the lead in the introduction of a new order of things. […] This coolness arises […] partly from the incredulity of men, who do not readily believe in new things until they have had a long experience of them.
1.Whose is this words?
2.I need real facts, which can be checked.
In favor of git i gave this link: http://joshcarter.com/productivity/svn_ ... _directory
Also i compared http://svn.reactos.org/svn/reactos/vendor/ got via svn and via git-svn (compare including .git and all .svn folders):

Code: Select all

cluster size of my HDD is 4 KB (default for Windows)
vendor:
Revision:		40473
Last commit revision:	40414
---
vendor via svn:
Size:		585 MB (614 465 297 byte)
On disk:	732 MБ (768 143 360 byte)
Contains:	Files: 54 950; dirs: 11 609
---
vendor via git-svn:
Size:		330 MB (346 641 471 byte)
On disk:	372 MБ (390 348 800 byte)
Contains:	Files: 19 093; dirs: 1 267
Now I'm downloading branches via git-svn. I'll compare it later..

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Using git for ros source as main revision control system.

Post by Z98 »

Wait, you're using an http prefix for the SVN address?

q4a
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:23 am

Re: Using git for ros source as main revision control system.

Post by q4a »

Z98 wrote:Wait, you're using an http prefix for the SVN address?
http://svn.reactos.org/svn/reactos/vendor/ - is only ViewVC for real http://svn.reactos.org/reactos/vendor/ or svn://svn.reactos.org/reactos/vendor/ .
For svn i used svn://svn.reactos.org/reactos/vendor/
for git-svn i've to use http://svn.reactos.org/reactos/vendor/ , because, as i think, git-svn does not support svn://*.* .
---
Update:
hm.. my mistake - git-svn working with svn://*.* too =) now, i'm using svn://svn.reactos.org/reactos/vendor/ for git-svn too.

q4a
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue Apr 17, 2007 7:23 am

Re: Using git for ros source as main revision control system.

Post by q4a »

Now, i'm downloading reactos/vendor, reactos/braches and trunk/KDE together via git-svn:
http://img245.imageshack.us/img245/4104 ... 233833.png
Git using majority resources of my computer, but i it don't become slow. So git has very good distribution of resources and paralleling.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DotBot [Crawler], Google [Bot] and 1 guest