Page 1 of 4

Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Posted: Fri Apr 03, 2009 11:07 pm
by Davy Bartoloni
on latest version of Qemu ( http://qemu-forum.ipi.fi/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=4953 )
using Ac97 audio drivers ( http://svn.reactos.org/packages/ac97_vbox.exe )
and latest ReactOS DEBUG-BUILD ... Winamp played the demo-song :)

THX to CARLO and Gabriel for the qemu news :)

Image

now it's time to add the AC97 switch to RosTE ...

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Posted: Fri Apr 03, 2009 11:09 pm
by vicmarcal
:)
Now we need...to...have it working in VBOX and VMWare..But good work :)

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Posted: Fri Apr 03, 2009 11:12 pm
by Davy Bartoloni
?? on VBOX it's already working... ( some strange errors but first-mp3 plays fine.. )
Image

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Posted: Fri Apr 03, 2009 11:18 pm
by vicmarcal
then VMWare.. :)

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Posted: Sat Apr 04, 2009 12:01 am
by Nintendo Maniac 64
AC97? I have that (onboard) sound card! :D As an audiophile, this is very exciting.

Time for alpha testing! (though the installation CD never did work, but the Live CD does!)

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Posted: Sat Apr 04, 2009 12:14 am
by vicmarcal
Nintendo which is your PC hardware? :)

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Posted: Sat Apr 04, 2009 12:20 am
by Nintendo Maniac 64
Copy and pasted from my NGEmu sig...

CPU: Athlon XP 2100+ OC'd @ 2GHz
GPU: Radeon 9600 256MB AGP OC'd @ 425 core : 200 mem
RAM: 512MB DDR + 256MB DDR

And one thing not stated on it...
Mobo: ECS k7s5a Pro

EDIT: Only problem is, since I can only use the live CD, I'm having issues figuring a way to put the driver files in the ISO or on the CD...

EDIT 2: Nevermind, MagicISO seems to have worked. The trial is apparently limited to 300MB, but ReactOS ISOs are tiny anyway. ;) Now to test it!

EDIT 3: ...or not. The disc wouldn't boot with my custom-made ISO >_>. Can't you guys just add the drivers to the SVN or something so I can test on real hardware? Come on, I'm eager to test and blow some stuff up! :P

EDIT 4: bah, according to people in #reactos-testers, I'd have to edit the registry anyway to get it to work on the LiveCD. So now I have no way to test this on my AC97. :/

On a somewhat related note, I discovered that MPlayer seems to be working perfectly, but obviously can't test much until I get my audio working... (I used the PortableApps version, but launched from the actual app EXE and not the portableapps launcher EXE)

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Posted: Sat Apr 04, 2009 7:16 am
by q4a
I have sound on qemu 0.10.1, but how to redirect sound from qemu to host's sound card?
---
UPD:
Problem resolved. http://qemu-forum.ipi.fi/viewtopic.php? ... &sk=t&sd=a here u can find links to qemu 0.10.1 and "test version with sound (sdl, dsound and fmod) enabled and usb using libusb-win32".
So, download qemu-0.10.1.7z from here:
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=AECYVOVK
than qemuusb.7z from here:
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=SGPJGPUI
Copy all files from qemuusb to qemu-0.10.1. Than start qemu:
SET QEMU_AUDIO_DRV=sdl //(or dsound , or fmod)
qemu * -soundhw pcspk,ac97 *
Than install ac97 driver and media player. You can find ac97 driver here:
http://www.mibbit.com/up/CIReC35Z.zip
or http://www.file-upload.net/download-150 ... s.zip.html
or anywhere else =)
---
For me works only sdl and fmod method, but not so good as in vbox. dsound - don't work for me.

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Posted: Sat Apr 04, 2009 9:21 am
by Blackcrack

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Posted: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:25 pm
by Haos
I do recommend everyone using qemu to update to 0.10.1... Note that this version actually supports... GUS. GRAVIS!!

Thx for info, I will test sound in Qemu soon. Till this moment i can vouch for sound working on my real hardware, with Intel 80821 based AC97 sound chip. Playback is not completely smooth, some conversion debug is breaking it up from time to time, but its clear and loud, no tearings, no audible trashing. Both Winamp and Foobar work, but winamp 2,95 is offering bit smoother playback, on foobar playback is interrupted bit more often.

Almost ready for release...

On Vbox it should work as well, but i`m experiencing some strange issues in my Vbox 2.1.4 on Vista32 host. Despite everything being set properly in vm and vbox control panel i cant hear the actual sound. I managed to do it once or twice, but the problem persists.

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Posted: Sat Apr 04, 2009 3:47 pm
by Ged
it works in vmware

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Posted: Sat Apr 04, 2009 4:44 pm
by Blackcrack
humm, it is a idea/suggest to make an driverdownload-manager to get the right driver and download it.. and why not making paralell by develope of the Downloader by side... humm.. call some factorys to give an little support... maby an bit serverplace for some drivers to make an "standart" driverpath for diffrent domains on some hardwaremanufacturer.. they profit afterwards finally from Reactos. naturally one should not straight Intel on write, but why not Creative (with SB16 drivers ) or Via (with them AC97-Drivers) . Easy as testrun to get later possibility atomatic difrent drivers direktly from the manufacturer.. easy as suggest...
The script/text of locations be smaller as the fully drivers, isn't it ?
Only the networkdrivers be a must have for it.. and the most of it,
it is with a the Networkcard. the other have a CD.

best regards
Blacky

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2009 8:33 am
by betaluva
@GED, what driver did you use in vmware? vmware tools audio?

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2009 1:10 pm
by Carlo Bramix
ARGH!!!!
Although QEMU 0.10.1 works perfectly under XP (at least, it seems), it does not start on any earlier version of Windows (9x or NT) because it says that freeaddrinfo function is not exported by ws2_32.dll!!!!!!!!!!!

Sincerely,

Carlo Bramini.

Re: Audio Working on QEMU. ( AC97 )

Posted: Sun Apr 05, 2009 4:51 pm
by Z98
We stopped supporting development on anything older than Windows 2000 a while ago.