1:1 MSPaint clone - not ? but !

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

kevintrooper
Posts: 549
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 6:44 am
Location: behind you.
Contact:

Re: 1:1 MSPaint clone - not ? but !

Post by kevintrooper » Wed Feb 11, 2009 1:28 am

What is this going to be called? Draw?
Image
Image

Speedator
Posts: 136
Joined: Sat Jun 17, 2006 4:42 pm

Re: 1:1 MSPaint clone - not ? but !

Post by Speedator » Wed Feb 11, 2009 2:49 am

Like Microsoft Draw, CorelDRAW(ok, a little bit different) or OpenOffice.org Draw?
Maybe something more unique ;)

Anyway progress is more important

kevintrooper
Posts: 549
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 6:44 am
Location: behind you.
Contact:

Re: 1:1 MSPaint clone - not ? but !

Post by kevintrooper » Wed Feb 11, 2009 2:51 am

I'll think of a name.
Image
Image

gyROS
Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 8:10 pm
Location: Deutschland

Re: 1:1 MSPaint clone - not ? but !

Post by gyROS » Wed Feb 11, 2009 1:04 pm

The displayed name should stay Paint, the official name could be ROS-Paint and the EXE should be called MSPAINT.EXE for compatiblity reasons.
Currently I'm reordering the source code. (mainly done by splitting up the huge source file into a couple of smaller ones).
This will ease maintaining the source code once it is opened.

(I silently updated the exe several times, the "move selection bug" should be fixed now.)

The123king
Posts: 242
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 6:51 pm

Re: 1:1 MSPaint clone - not ? but !

Post by The123king » Wed Feb 11, 2009 11:18 pm

gyROS wrote:I've no idea what's up with your ReactOS installation, I just cannot reproduce it. In my ReactOS 3.8 Qemu installation it always looks like this: (?!)
Image
I've had the same problem as Blackcrack, but i've now found the cause of the problem. The icons will show up in every colour setting except 32-bit colour. I think it might be ReactOS's problem, but seeing as i've never seen it in any other program, i'm dubious about that actually...

I'll test a copy of MSpaint and see if the same thing happens (seeing as the two programs are likely to be similar in button design)

EDIT:no luck, mspaint spat out a missing dll error

gyROS
Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 8:10 pm
Location: Deutschland

Re: 1:1 MSPaint clone - not ? but !

Post by gyROS » Wed Feb 11, 2009 11:33 pm

It will be a ReactOS problem then. At least it doesn't occur in the windows and wine versions I tested (win98, win2000, winVista, no idea which wine version).
I've updated the exe once more. I've now nearly completed the reordering stuff and also implemented the first custom dialog (rotate/mirror), although only horizontal mirroring is working ATM.
The "do you want to save the image"-message still is german only, but I'll change it while including the other dialogs. I've also decided on the license now: It's going to be LGPL.

@kevintrooper: Thanks for the signature image so far.

Blackcrack
Posts: 1808
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:55 pm
Contact:

Re: 1:1 MSPaint clone - not ? but !

Post by Blackcrack » Thu Feb 12, 2009 8:58 am

Hy,

whant to be get you Sourcecode to the Developer, then i whant be show you name in red letters maby if they developers take you uppon :) but now you a "GPL'ed App Dev" and shold be in green.
an Reactos own shold be in red.. red it's is hot like imho.. but, good Idea KevinTrooper :D
green it's a signal-color too ad be more "oky" and "Go" like Neutral but with the Reactos-Ball more Reactos Open Source App Developer place ;) you see ? With give a Place to be a "Green" App-developer who be a neutral place to be developing an big thing by side of Reactos, maby not direcktly in reactos, but , by side of a Open Source System and an Free "Community-Place" as Open Source App-Developer for Win32-/NT at Reactos.org these be can many of other Developers with an own Forum maby.. i think about it too.. to make a App-Reactos-Forum on my blackysgate.dyndns.org with an account for Reactos and on it then a apps-developer and Design and so on maby.. dont now.. i be on it too.. therefor i thinking on it too, it's my personaly line... humm... it shold be an place by an free provider... maby i call anyone.. dont now what i do..
but Kevin, make it in green and "Open Source Apps Dev", whant be an better neutral color imho...
for future programmers and so on *s*

best Regards
Blacky

kevintrooper
Posts: 549
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 6:44 am
Location: behind you.
Contact:

Re: 1:1 MSPaint clone - not ? but !

Post by kevintrooper » Fri Feb 13, 2009 3:42 am

Image
Image

gyROS
Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 8:10 pm
Location: Deutschland

Re: 1:1 MSPaint clone - not ? but !

Post by gyROS » Fri Feb 13, 2009 9:35 am

Nice video, but one important question: Did you test Projekt1.exe (the old one) or Paint.exe? The new file is called Paint.exe.
Is the move selection bug still not eliminated? I thought I got it fixed.

To clear up things a little, here's a list of features NOT yet implemented, or known to be buggy:
- free selection
- set as wallpaper
- bezier line
- polygon
- delete selection deletes the selection, not its contents
- text tool
- save (only save as is working)
- open (does only display the dialog - no functionality)
- if a different tool is selected the selection window is not removed
- moving in in a zoom of n will increase moving speed by n
- view menu entries except zoom are not yet implemented
- most image menu entries not yet implemented, mirror/rotate only displays dialog and always mirrors horizontally
- draw transparent uses biswise AND in BitBlt instead of TransparentBlt
- attributes dialog implemented (in my newest version) but still without any function
- no possibility to resize the image

kevintrooper
Posts: 549
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 6:44 am
Location: behind you.
Contact:

Re: 1:1 MSPaint clone - not ? but !

Post by kevintrooper » Fri Feb 13, 2009 11:53 pm

New Link? :oops:

Cool, nice signature ;)
Image
Image

gyROS
Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 8:10 pm
Location: Deutschland

Re: 1:1 MSPaint clone - not ? but !

Post by gyROS » Sat Feb 14, 2009 12:17 am

OK, one more time the link:
http://www.freenet-homepage.de/meinstuss/Paint.exe

The file has been updated not even 3 minutes ago:
- Rotate/Mirror-dialog now perfectly working, only the functionality behind 90° and 270° rotation is still missing.
- The attributes-dialog is also complete, but without function. There are some first (too buggy) experiments on changing the size, but I commented them out in this compilation.

Nintendo Maniac 64
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 3:08 am
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Re: 1:1 MSPaint clone - not ? but !

Post by Nintendo Maniac 64 » Sat Feb 14, 2009 12:21 am

Ya know, it's be really helpful if you edited your first post to include a download link. It's getting to be quite a pain to search the topic looking for one. :P

And while you're at it, maybe a link in your sig could be useful?

EDIT: Oh geez, you made a post with the link while I was typing up this post XD

kevintrooper
Posts: 549
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 6:44 am
Location: behind you.
Contact:

Re: 1:1 MSPaint clone - not ? but !

Post by kevintrooper » Sat Feb 14, 2009 4:15 am

Image
Image

gyROS
Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Nov 09, 2008 8:10 pm
Location: Deutschland

Re: 1:1 MSPaint clone - not ? but !

Post by gyROS » Sat Feb 14, 2009 11:31 am

@kevintrooper:
Believe me, there is no bug: The original Paint would immediately delete the selection window, once you've selected a tool different to the selection tools, I'm just looking for the best way to do this.
I'm also looking for a way to enhance drawing the image area (WM_PAINT).

The more important information:
I finally found the bug making painting in ReactOS impossible. It was not a ReactOS bug:
I had written a line similar to:

Code: Select all

if (wParam==MK_LBUTTON)
to check, whether the button is down, but it should have been:

Code: Select all

if ((wParam & MK_LBUTTON) != 0)
The file is already updated:
http://www.freenet-homepage.de/meinstuss/Paint.exe

gabrielilardi
Moderator Team
Posts: 873
Joined: Sat Sep 02, 2006 1:30 am
Location: Italy

Re: 1:1 MSPaint clone - not ? but !

Post by gabrielilardi » Sat Feb 14, 2009 4:24 pm

gyROS wrote:The more important information:
I finally found the bug making painting in ReactOS impossible. It was not a ReactOS bug:
If you could paint in Windows but not in ReactOS then it's a ReactOS bug, it should behave like windows.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 1 guest