PS3

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

GoBusto
Posts: 579
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:13 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: PS3

Post by GoBusto »

Iyeru wrote:
Ohhh, I see:
  • 512 MB built-in NAND flash memory
  • 3 MB embedded GPU texture memory and framebuffer.
Still doesn't compensate for the low processing power.
Essentially, it has no underlying OS taking up resources. Also, the hardware is purpose-built, rather than generalised as consumer PC hardware is. Look at the PS2 - the games you can buy for it far surpass what a PC with equivalent specs could do.

coldReactive
Posts: 581
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 10:42 pm

Re: PS3

Post by coldReactive »

GoBusto wrote:Essentially, it has no underlying OS taking up resources. Also, the hardware is purpose-built, rather than generalised as consumer PC hardware is. Look at the PS2 - the games you can buy for it far surpass what a PC with equivalent specs could do.
Yeah, too bad the mass-produced 40 GB PS3 can't play PS2 games ><;

Well, purpose built or not, any console with a harddrive can be booted with an OS, LiveCD or not, if the OS is geared to booting with such hardware.

GoBusto
Posts: 579
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:13 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: PS3

Post by GoBusto »

Iyeru wrote:Well, purpose built or not, any console with a harddrive can be booted with an OS, LiveCD or not, if the OS is geared to booting with such hardware.
You'll probably be able to boot into the OS, but you won't be able to use the specialised hardware [to it's fullest potential/properly/at all] without using drivers that exploit the specific features available to it.

oiaohm
Posts: 1322
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 8:40 am

Re: PS3

Post by oiaohm »

Missed it there is a hypervisor in a PS3.

Total ram normally directly accessible is 256 megs and Video card is off limits without hacks to OS's and non signed software. PS2 also allow running Linux. There are even PS2 distributions out there. Development platform mode PS1 was also a Linux based system.

History of Linux + Playstation goes right back to its birth. So development other OS's for it is simple but limited due to applied hardware access limits.

http://www.wiili.com/index.php/Main_Page Wii and Xbox360's are harder first is needed mod chipping.

coldReactive
Posts: 581
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 10:42 pm

Re: PS3

Post by coldReactive »

oiaohm wrote:http://www.wiili.com/index.php/Main_Page Wii and Xbox360's are harder first is needed mod chipping.
PS2 also needs mod chipping to play burnt PS2 games =/ So that's no surprise.

But with PS3 games, PS3 games are regionless, yipee. *has a friend in England who can play a Japanese PS3 game*

Nintendo Maniac 64
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 3:08 am
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Re: PS3

Post by Nintendo Maniac 64 »

oiaohm wrote: http://www.wiili.com/index.php/Main_Page Wii and Xbox360's are harder first is needed mod chipping.
Wait, are you saying they need a mod chip for homebrew? Because for the Wii that's definitely not true. That's the whole purpose of the Twilight Hack and the Homebrew Channel! (also note, there's even a homebrew app for running imports)

oiaohm
Posts: 1322
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 8:40 am

Re: PS3

Post by oiaohm »

Twilight hack to me is nothing more than a Software Mod chip like the old diskswaps and game hacks on PS2 and Xbox's. I put it in the same class as mod chipping. You are working on a platform without permission and updated versions of it may not work.

PS3 PS2 and to a point PS1 there is a invited way to run you application no soft or hardware mods required. Of course it means less hardware access. Major advantage once working no update is going to stuff you up.

coldReactive
Posts: 581
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 10:42 pm

Re: PS3

Post by coldReactive »

Nintendo Maniac 64 wrote:Wait, are you saying they need a mod chip for homebrew? Because for the Wii that's definitely not true. That's the whole purpose of the Twilight Hack and the Homebrew Channel! (also note, there's even a homebrew app for running imports)
Check out how hard it is for PSP though. =/

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PlayStatio ... e_homebrew

For M33 to work, you need a fat PSP if you want it on a slim PSP (Yup, I've tried this before because I was going to try and use cwcheat, but found I couldn't because I have no fat PSP, I only have a slim one.)

kevintrooper
Posts: 549
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 6:44 am
Location: behind you.
Contact:

Re: PS3

Post by kevintrooper »

I have a Phat, but i didnt need it to mod my slim! I just got a pandora of Ebay :)

coldReactive
Posts: 581
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 10:42 pm

Re: PS3

Post by coldReactive »

kevintrooper wrote:I have a Phat, but i didnt need it to mod my slim! I just got a pandora of Ebay :)
I'll stay with my own unmodded, thank you very much =/ Not like the games are that hard.

oiaohm
Posts: 1322
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 8:40 am

Re: PS3

Post by oiaohm »

Thank you Iyeru PSP is a good example of the problems ahead for running stuff on WII.

For stable dependable solution invited is so many times better.

coldReactive
Posts: 581
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 10:42 pm

Re: PS3

Post by coldReactive »

oiaohm wrote:Thank you Iyeru PSP is a good example of the problems ahead for running stuff on WII.

For stable dependable solution invited is so many times better.
Uh, you're welcome, I guess.

Nintendo Maniac 64
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 3:08 am
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Re: PS3

Post by Nintendo Maniac 64 »

Well, TECHNICALLY you don't know that for sure. :P

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Semrush [Bot] and 4 guests