PS3

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

kevintrooper
Posts: 549
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 6:44 am
Location: behind you.
Contact:

PS3

Post by kevintrooper » Thu Jun 05, 2008 6:22 pm

There's Linux for PS3; what about ReactOS?
Image
Image

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: PS3

Post by Z98 » Thu Jun 05, 2008 6:50 pm

Completely different processor architecture. Our PPC port is nowhere close to being ready to act as a foundation for such an attempt.

z180
Posts: 197
Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 7:58 pm

Re: PS3

Post by z180 » Thu Jun 05, 2008 9:15 pm

I saw fedora on PS3 at Linux-Tag.
ReactOS is still not ready for PPC, otherwise it would
be a good alterative os for those openfirmware powermacs.
The PS3 is much different from a mac, but if mac works Reactos could
theoretically be easyly ported to IBM RS6000,if someone has one.

cppm
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 10:03 pm

Re: PS3

Post by cppm » Thu Jun 05, 2008 10:00 pm

There are 2 levels of support for PS3

Bit of background:
The PS3 has an interesting CPU architecture called the 'cell' . The cell is composed of several 'Synergistic processing units'(SPU) which are specialised vector processing units and one main processing unit(MPU), the idea being that the programs run on the MPU and ship out individual tasks to the SPU's for extra oomph.

The MPU is based on the well known 'PowerPC' (abbreviated to PPC) architecture and a standard PPC operating system and apps, such as PPC linux or older versions of Mac OS can run on it.

However this isn't utilising the full power of the Cell, there are still those SPU's that are standing idle, and the MPU on it's own isn't that great, it's not poor for your average uses, but it's been shown to be well outperformed by an off the shelf Core 2 Duo.

This is what I mean by 2 levels of support, a standard PPC OS or app can be thought of as having the first level of support, however by handling the SPU's that same OS or app can unlock a world of oomph. This was done deliberately by the designers of the cell, as it was also intended to be used with the workstations and servers of the future, and with this kind of compatibility you could have a level 1 support OS running level 2 support apps and vice versa.

In terms of reactos, it could ostensibly gain first level support in the future as there is a PPC port knocking around, but apparently it doesn't work at the moment and possibly needs quite a bit of working on to get it to work, once it does, it should be just like running linux on the PS3. However I do think it needs individual drivers for USB and bluray access.

Here though you have the caveat that there is virtually no win32 software for the PPC architecture, however with demand open source software should be possible to port.

There is not likely to be any effort to utilise the SPU's in reactos, so don't expect the oomph of full PS3 support any time soon. Just thought i'd clear that up in case on the event of the PPC port getting working, people wondered what happened to said ooomph :D
Image

Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Re: PS3

Post by Haos » Fri Jun 06, 2008 9:58 am

@cppm

What about Ms games on Xbox360? Its using PPC arch.

cppm
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed May 02, 2007 10:03 pm

Re: PS3

Post by cppm » Fri Jun 06, 2008 11:47 am

Haos wrote:What about Ms games on Xbox360? Its using PPC arch.
Yeah, so emulation of the Xbox360 might be easier on a PPC platform. One wouldn't be able to run the games on ReactOS natively as such. it's not really a standard PPC chip. Theres also the GPU to consider; while it's not a particularly special GPU, Games will expect that exact specification.

Check out the wikipedia articles on the CPU and the GPU to see what I mean
Image

Nintendo Maniac 64
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 3:08 am
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Re: PS3

Post by Nintendo Maniac 64 » Sat Jun 07, 2008 2:17 am

Seeing the recent explosion in Wii homebrew, I wonder if that is also a possibility for a ReactOS port. Like the PS3 and 360, it too runs on a PPC CPU.

And similar to the PS3, you wouldn't need a modchip or something either. (if you don't know about the Homebrew Channel and Twilight hack, I recommend reading up on them at http://wiibrew.org )

kevintrooper
Posts: 549
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 6:44 am
Location: behind you.
Contact:

Re: PS3

Post by kevintrooper » Sat Jun 07, 2008 5:02 am

Nintendo Maniac 64 wrote:Seeing the recent explosion in Wii homebrew, I wonder if that is also a possibility for a ReactOS port. Like the PS3 and 360, it too runs on a PPC CPU.

And similar to the PS3, you wouldn't need a modchip or something either. (if you don't know about the Homebrew Channel and Twilight hack, I recommend reading up on them at http://wiibrew.org )

That would be so cool! Wii running ReactOS! I own a Wii and PS3!

EDIT: is it safe to use the homebrew channel online?
Image
Image

Nintendo Maniac 64
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 3:08 am
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Re: PS3

Post by Nintendo Maniac 64 » Sat Jun 07, 2008 6:31 am

even though this is offtopic...

Do you mean is it safe to go online with the homebrew channel installed? As far as I know yes, because it doesn't actually mod the system; it's a full-fledged "unofficial" Wii channel.

Though, it would probably still be a good idea to turn off the Nintendo Channel's "send info to Nintendo" function. (and maybe WiiConnect24 if you're that paranoid, or at least the stand-by connection)

Mike
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 7:14 pm

Re: PS3

Post by Mike » Sun Jun 22, 2008 8:45 am

kevintrooper wrote:Wii running ReactOS!
The Wii only has 64MB of RAM, so it might not be the best experience ever, but it would be pretty cool. Probably enough RAM to play Doom, Duke Nukem 3D, Quake 1, Quake 2... maybe enough for OpenOffice.org or Quake 3 even.

coldReactive
Posts: 581
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 10:42 pm

Re: PS3

Post by coldReactive » Sun Jun 22, 2008 6:22 pm

kevintrooper wrote:There's Linux for PS3; what about ReactOS?
http://www.terrasoftsolutions.com/products/ydl/

Remember to link the linux you're talking about =/ I'd like to see ROS try to perform on it though someday.

Nintendo Maniac 64
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Sep 17, 2006 3:08 am
Location: Northeast Ohio, USA

Re: PS3

Post by Nintendo Maniac 64 » Mon Jun 23, 2008 2:38 am

Um... the Wii has 88MB of RAM. And note, there's already Quake for the wii through homebrew :P

coldReactive
Posts: 581
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 10:42 pm

Re: PS3

Post by coldReactive » Mon Jun 23, 2008 4:15 am

Nintendo Maniac 64 wrote:Um... the Wii has 88MB of RAM. And note, there's already Quake for the wii through homebrew :P
88MB of ram? Then how do those kick ass wii games run? :?

GoBusto
Posts: 579
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 11:13 am
Location: UK
Contact:

Re: PS3

Post by GoBusto » Mon Jun 23, 2008 10:22 am


coldReactive
Posts: 581
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 10:42 pm

Re: PS3

Post by coldReactive » Mon Jun 23, 2008 1:49 pm

Ohhh, I see:
  • 512 MB built-in NAND flash memory
  • 3 MB embedded GPU texture memory and framebuffer.
Still doesn't compensate for the low processing power.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 16 guests