The Ideal ROS development&testing PC

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
Duck
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 4:44 am

The Ideal ROS development&testing PC

Post by Duck » Wed Apr 06, 2005 1:05 am

I want to to build a PC from old parts to run ROS exclusively. Could you guys already running ROS on hardware make a checklist of prooven to work hardware?
I have already been in the ROSfansite but i get the idea that the hardware compatibility list is way outdated...

I tould be nice if people could know what to look for in order to build machines to use ros on...

Or you could make a little efort to update the fansite if the information is outdated.

what combination of hardware is working for you guys?

Thanks :D

frik85
Developer
Posts: 829
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 7:48 pm
Location: Austria, Europe
Contact:

Re: The Ideal ROS development&testing PC

Post by frik85 » Wed Apr 06, 2005 4:24 pm

Duck wrote:I want to to build a PC from old parts to run ROS exclusively. Could you guys already running ROS on hardware make a checklist of prooven to work hardware?
I have already been in the ROSfansite but i get the idea that the hardware compatibility list is way outdated...

I tould be nice if people could know what to look for in order to build machines to use ros on...

Or you could make a little efort to update the fansite if the information is outdated.
If you mean this site:
http://reactosde.re.funpic.de/hardware_ ... y_list.php

Sorry, this section is under construction. I will finish the page next weekend.

GreatLord
Developer
Posts: 926
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Sweden

Post by GreatLord » Wed Apr 06, 2005 8:11 pm

Hi
Reactos runs on

CPU :
i486 or Higher

Graphice card :
any graphice card that are vga / vbe 2.0 or hiher compatble. It is recommande to use a graphice card with vbe 2.0 so you can use more that 8color.

Mouse :
Serial or PS/2 compatible

Keyboard :
PS/2 compatible

Hard disk
IDE / sicsi and more.

SoundCard
SB16 are know working with some machine with NT4 drv.
Do not expect much.


Port
COM PORT : current SVN
NETWORK : under devloping it working in some part. release 0.2.6 and higher
USB : Under Devloping


Most of reactos drv are genretic it mean it work on most hardware.
old and new. The Graphice Card drv are one exmple on that
and other are the NE2000 drv for network. it works on most networks card.

Gedi

Post by Gedi » Wed Apr 06, 2005 9:30 pm

Try to get a decent spec system as ROS isn't optimised at the moment, and won't run as fast as something like Win9x.

In fact I ran it on a PII 233MHz a few months ago and it was unusable.
However it runs fine on my PIV 2GHz.

I think some of the devs are running it on 500MHz without any real problems.

GreatLord
Developer
Posts: 926
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Sweden

Post by GreatLord » Wed Apr 06, 2005 10:41 pm

Gedi
It is ite mininum req of reactos, it was some did runing ros on i486 I do not rember how or when.

I am on a P3 800mhz and ruing ros in qemu or vmware deepns what I like to use for the day.

Duck
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 4:44 am

Thanks!

Post by Duck » Thu Apr 07, 2005 12:29 am

Thanks for the support guys!

Frik Wrote
If you mean this site:
http://reactosde.re.funpic.de/hardware_ ... y_list.php

Sorry, this section is under construction. I will finish the page next weekend.
Yes, that is the site i was talking about.

I am hoping to find some second hand hardware to build my ROS machine.

Ive got a P3 (1GHZ), some network cards, but soon i will get my hands on one or two old pcs from a friend of mine. I think they are old P3s and i just hope they are compatible with the processor i have here.

How is the hard drive compatibility with ros?
Can it handle big hd's (like 120 GB)? I already got one here i use inside my external hd case.

Seems i am going to need a mouse too. only got usb mouse... :?

Thanks again![/quote]

Gedi

Post by Gedi » Thu Apr 07, 2005 1:36 am

Duck,

To be honest, it's much easier to use ROS in QEMU or VMWare at the moment.
It's so convinient as ROS is changing daily, and to consider running ROS full time at the moment is unrealistic, it's just not ready for everyday use.

GreatLord
Developer
Posts: 926
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Sweden

Post by GreatLord » Thu Apr 07, 2005 7:27 am

In release 0.2.6
Reactos can handle 128GB or higher HD
This release are on the way.


in release 0.3.0
Reactos will support some kind of network and more.
we are already working on this release

Duck
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 4:44 am

Right!

Post by Duck » Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:31 pm

You may be right about ros changing... Maybe i will install xp on the pc wityh qemu and try ros also on hardware...
How is the partitioning in ros? Can i securely install 2 OSs?

Sorry i didnt post for a while, busy work week....
Thanxs.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DotBot [Crawler], Google [Bot] and 5 guests