Suggestion/Idea ... a internal dyndns-client (systemsetting

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Blackcrack
Posts: 1808
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:55 pm
Contact:

Suggestion/Idea ... a internal dyndns-client (systemsetting

Post by Blackcrack »

Hy,

any computer is finding ever by ip, why not direcktly
make a connectivity by default with dyndns.org
to make ever Reactos to a little server ... generally...
and support dyndns client by default .... in the System-Settings

greetings
Blacky
SdC
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: GMT +1

Post by SdC »

oh my god no please NO :evil:
Blackcrack
Posts: 1808
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:55 pm
Contact:

Post by Blackcrack »

tell me why not ... child :)
it can disable by default and enable by configuration..
Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Post by Haos »

Because this is what 3rd party applications are for? Why do you think it should be integrated into ROS? Only because YOU would use it?
Blackcrack
Posts: 1808
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:55 pm
Contact:

Post by Blackcrack »

Haos.. Hy,
humm, only i am.. humm.. 3rd app, why, it's a small client if it is
integrated as Service and with a cpl ... it is give it not, no one had
show it befor.. any one whant tell how bad it is... but if it inside and
ready to use, do no one say agains anywhat, any use it.. a small tool
with a good service.. think about it, you dont mus extra install a 3rd Soft..
it is give a realy good Dyndns-client, but is commercial :\ and why shold
this not be integrated as small app ... anyone have internet, anyone
whant let run a Webserver and ftp/sftp, ssh or so.. and how show,
if have not a dyndns-name.. ? here in Germany and other land's
have te Peoples Dynamic ip adresses, in swiss isnt so and i think in
Polen too, you have a static ip, but in other Place of Earth have
Peoples not static IP's, there be dynamic ip's and ever 24howers it
change the ip-adress and there for shold get a integrate dyndns-client ...
not only fr me, no for all the Peoples who what let run a I-Net-Server ..
SMB is Standart, Web-Server and ssh be go to standart on the Systems
and why not direcktly a dyndns-client inside of Reactos to enabling to
make fast a Webserver averywere of the wrld without download and
installing a 3rd Soft.. no, installing, configuring the dynds and the server
is running..

Take a Notebook, use Reactos and dyndns, anywere of the world ...
and you don't mus have extra software... , no, call Systemmenu,
klick a cpl and past you login of dyndns (and if need a dyndns-server) ,
that's all.. and you can get a frend aywere of the world you files..
or he can upload anywhat... but, if you use a 3rd Soft, you mus
min. have 2 CD's one with ros and one wit the 2nd Soft... dyndny can
be only 2 files, one dll and one cpl, that's all .... to let fast run a server..
with a notebook ... or a home PC as server ... or... a other small computer ;)
pda, psp or so.. as lil' server, how ever ;)

greetings
Blacky
Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Post by Haos »

Most of the people do not use any kind of local dyndyns app. Thus i feel that a system service with such functionality is really not required.

If you feel strong for this idea, start with coding/finding a suitable third party app that could be included in rosbe or a dev that would code it. Do not expect any of the devs to drop everything and rush to code it for you.
Blackcrack
Posts: 1808
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:55 pm
Contact:

Post by Blackcrack »

Hy Haos,

hummmmm... DudE... i am cant coding.. DuDe .... i had say it offen *s*
Oky, Haos, this is you mean.. on you Land... :)

it is not a most for all Peoples.. and thanks god is not your decision ;)

nice greetings to you Haos
Blacky
Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Post by Haos »

It is not my decision, but since i`m with this project for some time (nearing one year in march) i am quite able to predict the dev`s reaction.

You can ask them yourself if you wish.
User avatar
EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4465
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Post by EmuandCo »

Well. It could be interesting as a feature to share stuff over the internet. I personally like it. A nice idea. But I dont think we should increase our ISO size with billion Tools, putting in rosapps perhaps, but not our main ISOs. SO Haos is right. ;-)
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes
Blackcrack
Posts: 1808
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:55 pm
Contact:

Post by Blackcrack »

hey Haos,

hey, I give only ideas, therefore around to speak have I no fun, ideas
supply and ideas dead-speak am two things. and I like not if one am
destructive.

say it easy , "i dont think to come into the Project, this is my mean .... "

and i not it.. and if it take in to the Project it is good and it dont taken it is
good too, but I will not say it for other one, which orders to me lined up,
because I do not point which it would imagine and I that never take out
to state that I would know Caemyr which the others to think.

Point does you which I mean ?!!

and.... take a look on my Date...

greatings
Blacky
Blackcrack
Posts: 1808
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:55 pm
Contact:

Post by Blackcrack »

EmuandCo wrote:Well. It could be interesting as a feature to share stuff over the internet. I personally like it. A nice idea. But I dont think we should increase our ISO size with billion Tools, putting in rosapps perhaps, but not our main ISOs. SO Haos is right. ;-)
this is a word of Developer.. jea ;)

hummm... it shold be get as addon ... to integrating if make a "nlite"
customation of Ros ... or so... only as idea.... later ...

greetings
Blacky
SdC
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2008 3:52 pm
Location: GMT +1

Post by SdC »

If you feel so strongly about dyndns, why don't you volunteer to investigate the dyndns clients that are already available, add them to the ROS appdb, contact the dev's of those tools to make adjustments where necessery (see the Notepad thread on how this could be done).
In other words: this is a Do-it-yourself project.
P.S. I'm a long-time dyndns user myself (http://combatfs.homeip.net) but even I don't see the need to integrate it in any OS.
eXile
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2006 6:39 pm

Post by eXile »

Strange, I always thought the router should have the dyndns-compatibility, and not the computers behind it.
Blackcrack
Posts: 1808
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:55 pm
Contact:

Post by Blackcrack »

eXile wrote:Strange, I always thought the router should have the dyndns-compatibility, and not the computers behind it.
reactos as router ?.. ! why not... who say Linux mus ever be a Router ?
or Unix ? or a HP-Mashin ? ....

Reactos.. why shold not get recources how a other System ?
Take a look on Ampp or div. FTPD's....

greetings
Blacky
User avatar
EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4465
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Post by EmuandCo »

Later Blackcrack. Later. Lets get it stable on X86, then X64, PPC and then ARM. When it runs on ARM it might run on router HW too. ROS it not meant as Embedded OS as first step, but why not as 2nd step .-)
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], Google [Bot], Yandex [Bot] and 7 guests