Page 1 of 1

Video card

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 12:54 am
by Techsalvager
Which video cards have the best support so far?

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 11:18 am
by GreatLord
All card that support vbe 2.0 or higher (not intel graphic card)

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 12:36 pm
by elhoir
hope it will be fixed, because i have a laptop with a Intel GPU integrated LOL

Posted: Mon Feb 11, 2008 5:51 pm
by linuxgx
Some macbooks have the crapy 64mb intell cards also. Ya it would be nice!

Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 11:13 am
by inclusivedisjunction
Which Intel cards are unsupported? Mine seems to work fine.

Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 11:37 am
by GreatLord
most i810/820/840

does not using real framebuf pointer for vbe 2.0 when u request it.

other interl graphic card I have not tested my self

Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 11:50 am
by inclusivedisjunction
Ok. My GMA 950 works fine, so the MacBooks are *probably* safe.

Is the bug in the driver, or in the hardware? It would seem strange that Intel couldn't support a standard from 1994.

Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 2:09 pm
by elhoir
mine is a 925 Intel GPU... may i be able to run ROS?
EDIT: 915GM, not 925!! fool of me....

Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 2:16 pm
by inclusivedisjunction
elhoir wrote:mine is a 925 Intel GPU... may i be able to run ROS?
The only real way to know is to try it, since the developers probably don't have the resources to try all the hardware out there. My guess is that the 9xx and X-series ones will work fine. Try out the LiveCD, before you commit to an install.

Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 4:24 pm
by elhoir
the thing is that it is useless to me to test ros in real hardware because no one of my pcs have serial ports to get a debug output

Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 4:31 pm
by inclusivedisjunction
A debugger wouldn't be necessary to find out if the card worked, although it would be handy to find out why it didn't, if that were the case.

I'm pretty sure they make serial ports that'll fit on a PCI card. I don't know anything about them, though.

Posted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 4:32 pm
by hefner
... at the macbook-owners how did you get reactos work with efi ? I never tried it ...

thx hefner

Posted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 10:24 am
by inclusivedisjunction
EFI can emulate a legacy BIOS.