thorough test program

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
frogman27
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:04 pm

thorough test program

Post by frogman27 » Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:25 pm

I don't have a lot of time to code for a project like this, but I have several pieces of popular software I'd be glad to test on the beta and post the results. Would this be helpful, or is it premature? If it's helpful is there anyone else that would be interested in doing the same? We could start a serious list of what works and what doesn't.

Ex-Cyber
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2005 5:15 am

Post by Ex-Cyber » Sat Feb 02, 2008 4:52 am

The ReactOS website has a compatibility database for this kind of testing.

frogman27
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:04 pm

Post by frogman27 » Mon Feb 04, 2008 3:40 pm

I saw the database, but it's pretty small. I was wondering if we could start a program to fill it out and try as many softwares as possible. The current database has I would guess less than a hundred softwares listed, and many of them show as "untested"when you look at them. I think we could fill the database out pretty quickly and fill out the ones listed as untested.

frogman27
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:04 pm

Post by frogman27 » Mon Feb 04, 2008 3:43 pm

I take it back. I looked at a list of programs linked off the main page. At that time (maybe 2 months ago) it listed 4 games and 2 were marked as untested. It had maybe a 1/2 dozen categories. I'll look through this and contribute if I have things not already listed. Thanks.

frogman27
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 11:04 pm

Post by frogman27 » Mon Feb 04, 2008 3:46 pm

Wait, I'm back.

http://www.reactos.org/support/index.php/comp/cat/id/2/

Look through this list. Every page I go to shows most of the software as untested. The list is getting bigger, but the testing doesn't seem to be taking place.

linuxgx
Posts: 170
Joined: Wed Mar 29, 2006 4:18 pm

Post by linuxgx » Mon Feb 04, 2008 3:48 pm

The real problem is that we have lost support for real hardware with the latest release. The only way to see it games work is to use parlles in OS-X and then the app must only be DX-8 or earlier.

Virtual box wont give you the 3d you need to test games.

GreatLord
Developer
Posts: 926
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Sweden

Post by GreatLord » Mon Feb 04, 2008 9:57 pm

vmware workstation for windows support dx10 and down depns on the host machine. vmware own driver have a warper from vm machine to host. it mean the vitual machine in vmware are using the real hardware access of the graphic card.

The free version of vmware does not support it.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], DotBot [Crawler], Google [Bot] and 2 guests