Some bugs in ReactOS

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
Explosive
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 1:37 pm
Location: Russia
Contact:

Some bugs in ReactOS

Post by Explosive » Sat Mar 26, 2005 8:52 pm

I was install ReactOS-032105-r14264.iso.gz, and have some problems:

1. IrfanView 3.95 not works (and setup.exe not work)
2. WinRAR 3.41 Pack/Unpack work correctly, but not work benchmark.
3. Not work DN/2 Win32 (http://www.dnosp.ru/).
4. And Many programs not run.
5. I Can't delete Folder's.


Sorry for My bad english :(

Viod
Posts: 102
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 12:29 am

Post by Viod » Sat Mar 26, 2005 9:14 pm

I`ve noticed same bugs on my box . Plus when I want to log off ros crashes from some vbe graphic driver bug .
:D

Lucio Diaz
Posts: 107
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 10:12 pm
Location: España (perdido en el atlantico)

Post by Lucio Diaz » Sun Mar 27, 2005 4:09 am

ReactOS is ALPHA software, many instructions are not implemented, so it is normal most aplications dont work in ReactOS... same for drivers, those are not really bugs, but lack of implementation of whole parts of the OS, way a bit longer and you will see things going on but actually it is not intended for production.

Meklort
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 11:53 pm
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Post by Meklort » Sun Mar 27, 2005 5:41 am

Lucio Diaz wrote:way a bit longer and you will see things going on but actually it is not intended for production.
I have notice that every time I try a new svn version it is more stable and faster. The features that you see are lacking, will be avalible soon. Soon could be a few months or a year.

uniQ
Posts: 246
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 8:58 am

Re: Some bugs in ReactOS

Post by uniQ » Sun Mar 27, 2005 9:14 pm

Explosive wrote:5. I Can't delete Folder's.
Have you tried from the Command Prompt?

-uniQ

PS. As for English (I hope you don't hate me for this):

1. In En generally we say "X does not work" instead of "Not work X"
2. Only some things are capitalized when they aren't the 1st letter of a sentence.
3. You don't need the apostrophe " ' " when it's just plural.

Hope that helps and doesn't cheese you off!
Coming on, coming up, let me help ROS and I'll be able to look @ a life well used.

Explosive
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 1:37 pm
Location: Russia
Contact:

Post by Explosive » Sun Mar 27, 2005 11:09 pm

I understand, that ReactOS still Alpha. But some programs were started in earlier versions ReactOS(DN/2, IrfanView?) and not started in night build.

I tried to remove a folder through Explorer and FAR - result identical.

ScoTTie
Posts: 165
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2005 9:40 am

Post by ScoTTie » Mon Mar 28, 2005 5:47 am

Explosive wrote:I understand, that ReactOS still Alpha. But some programs were started in earlier versions ReactOS(DN/2, IrfanView?) and not started in night build.
This most likely would be due to a newly added bug, you could either enter a bugzilla report on the issue so the devs take a look or just make a post on the forum and hope one of them takes notice.

navaraf
Developer
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 2:29 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Some bugs in ReactOS

Post by navaraf » Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:34 am

Explosive wrote:1. IrfanView 3.95 not works (and setup.exe not work)
The Setup never worked, because it requires MFC libraries...IrfanView itself works just fine.
Explosive wrote:2. WinRAR 3.41 Pack/Unpack work correctly, but not work benchmark.
3. Not work DN/2 Win32 (http://www.dnosp.ru/).
If you post about bugs here they will only get forgotten. Bugzilla (www.reactos.com/bugzilla/) is the right place to report them.
Explosive wrote:5. I Can't delete Folder's.
This is known bug (at least as far as FAR is concerned).

Jaix
Moderator Team
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:40 pm
Location: Sweden, Växjö

Post by Jaix » Mon Mar 28, 2005 10:40 am

ScoTTie wrote:This most likely would be due to a newly added bug
This is called feature in the Microsoft dictionary. :lol:

mf
Developer
Posts: 368
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2004 2:37 pm
Location: Eindhoven, NL
Contact:

Post by mf » Mon Mar 28, 2005 2:28 pm

Explosive wrote:I understand, that ReactOS still Alpha. But some programs were started in earlier versions ReactOS(DN/2, IrfanView?) and not started in night build.
The correct term to use in cases like this is "regression" - the functionality of some applications has regressed since <insert working revision here>.

AcetoliNe
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Jan 05, 2005 10:53 pm
Location: a thousand miles from Hinterland
Contact:

Post by AcetoliNe » Mon Apr 04, 2005 7:12 am

This is called feature in the Microsoft dictionary.
That was a nice one LOL
caveman LIKES chocolate.
we shall reinvent the wheel until it turns properly.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests