system requipments for react os, and if it can be with linux

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
vid
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:48 pm

system requipments for react os, and if it can be with linux

Post by vid » Thu Mar 10, 2005 5:20 pm

system requipments for react os? (for friend 486)

for me: i have slackware in my comp. can i install react os? Tell me i must dellete linux and install reactos and install linux again? or i can install withount dellinting linux.

ps: is reactos supported linux files? (programs....) or it support only windows programs?
thanks for help :D

Gasmann
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 6:53 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: system requipments for react os, and if it can be with l

Post by Gasmann » Thu Mar 10, 2005 8:30 pm

vid wrote:system requipments for react os? (for friend 486)
Take a look
for me: i have slackware in my comp. can i install react os? Tell me i must dellete linux and install reactos and install linux again? or i can install withount dellinting linux.
There's no reason for deleting linux; ReactOS can be installed beside of other OS'ses (like I do :) )
You can even boot FreeLoader (ReactOS'ses bootloader) from GRUB
However, you need a fat16/fat32 partition where you can install ReactOS on.
ps: is reactos supported linux files? (programs....) or it support only windows programs?
ReactOS does not support unix/linux apps.

GreatLord
Developer
Posts: 926
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Sweden

Post by GreatLord » Thu Mar 10, 2005 10:21 pm

486 with a vga card
32MB memmroy (I do not know if it need more or less)

if you friend got a vga card with vbe 2.0 (vesa 2.0) you are lucky
you can use then reactos vbe driver to get 16,32 bits color
some vbe 2.0 card has only 24bits instead for 32bits color
other wise your are stuck with 8bits color. if you can install the gf own driver in reactos then you can use more that 256 color (8bits color)

8bits = 256 color
15bits = 32768 color
16bits = 65536 color
24bits = 16.7M Color
32bits = 16.7M Color + alpha channel

uniQ
Posts: 246
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 8:58 am

Post by uniQ » Fri Mar 11, 2005 12:40 am

ROS has been seen to load on 24MB, but if you can get 32 or better definately.

-Q
Coming on, coming up, let me help ROS and I'll be able to look @ a life well used.

vid
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Mar 07, 2005 4:48 pm

Post by vid » Fri Mar 11, 2005 8:20 pm

:D but i use LILO loader. can i install it easy-have it program like f/disck?

i try. have it slovenian kezboard?

uniQ
Posts: 246
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 8:58 am

Post by uniQ » Sun Mar 13, 2005 2:38 am

vid wrote::D but i use LILO loader. can i install it easy-have it program like f/disck?
Try looking @ this it may help.
vid wrote:i try. have it slovenian kezboard?
No. I suggest you look @ this and get it touch with RomanH, who'se doing the de-CH keyboard.

-uniQ
Coming on, coming up, let me help ROS and I'll be able to look @ a life well used.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot] and 1 guest