Page 1 of 1

processor overload

Posted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 11:51 pm
by Gedi
I downloaded a copy of bochs with the react image built in, ran it and when it got to the install screen, the proc hit 100% usage.

It was so busy, I could hardly move the mouse. I left it for 10 mins or so and then gave up.

Any ideas?

Posted: Thu Dec 02, 2004 11:54 pm
by seibertjd
Bochs is slower than a crippled turtle. If you're on Linux I think you can use QEMU (I can't remember). VMWare is pretty good, but ROS is still pretty slow on it.

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 12:00 am
by Gedi
but this was so slow it was totally unusable.
Surely is shouldn't be like that,

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 12:04 am
by Gedi
Ran QEMU and all is now fine :)

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 12:07 am
by seibertjd
I've never had Bochs run fast enough to do anything for me. Like I said, it's bloody slow...

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 12:09 am
by Gedi
Which is the quickest?
Would I be better running vmware?

Posted: Fri Dec 03, 2004 12:35 am
by GvG
Gedi wrote:Which is the quickest?
Would I be better running vmware?
VMware is faster than QEmu, but the difference between VMware and QEmu is not as big as the difference between QEmu and Bochs

Posted: Sat Dec 04, 2004 9:35 am
by uniQ
VMware is also graphical and easy to setup and run, but it's commercial soft and expensive.

Also, be sure you change the memory setting before you try to start a VMachine or it will crash you up! Also SETI doesn't like it or vice versa.

-uniQ

Posted: Sun Dec 05, 2004 7:40 am
by ConMan
Ya, I tried Boch and it wouldn't even install ReactOS, but QEMU would install and it worked. QEMU runs it pretty slow, so I tried VMware and it does a good job, but isn't free. Stay away from VirtualPC by Microsoft. If you are serious about running other operating systems under windows, I think VMware is like $70 which isn't just too bad.

Posted: Sun Dec 05, 2004 6:03 pm
by Gedi
I got vmware and it's much better.
Cheers.