Page 1 of 2

Ros Test Environment

Posted: Fri May 11, 2007 8:05 pm
by Ged
Up for testing as it's in it's infancy at the moment
Only for people who know a bit about setting up qemu manually at the moment, until the readme file is done.

http://svn.reactos.org/downloads/RosTE-0.1.exe

Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 12:45 am
by betaluva
can i make a suggestion? i think it should auto install a copy of qemu to the local system drive> %Sytem Drive%\Program Files\RosTE\QEmu

Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 1:26 am
by TestamenT
thanks

Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 4:05 am
by Reacter
It works well, but I like starting off of a batch file on my desktop :) .

Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 11:46 am
by Ged
betaluva wrote:can i make a suggestion? i think it should auto install a copy of qemu to the local system drive> %Sytem Drive%\Program Files\RosTE\QEmu
It does, along with KQEmu, VDK and the GUI

Posted: Sun May 13, 2007 11:59 am
by vins
Works great. User friendy and easy to use as well.

Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 3:20 am
by betaluva
i get it now.

Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 10:48 am
by Ged
It'll slowly take shape into something very user friendly.
Watch this space ;)

Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 11:38 am
by vins
I'm unable to change settings in the "Network" tab. Is it a bug?

Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 11:41 am
by dreams
uh oh, got an error message when starting QemuGUI.exe:
Can't initialise this app (0xc0000135) (translated)

I'm using WinXP SP2. I have used Qemu and KQemu before on this pc.

Posted: Tue May 15, 2007 12:01 pm
by vins
dreams wrote:uh oh, got an error message when starting QemuGUI.exe:
Can't initialise this app (0xc0000135) (translated)

I'm using WinXP SP2. I have used Qemu and KQemu before on this pc.
Do you have .NET Framework installed?

Posted: Wed May 16, 2007 10:23 pm
by gabrielilardi
Hi Ged, I'd like to congratulate you for this very easy & useful tool to test ReactOS.
I had already started testing reactos with QEMU some moths ago, and I've arranged well so far, but this tool has everything right there, one click away.
One of the most useful things I've found is the possibility to mount the hard drive image as a drive (useful to copy progs, files, etc.) and the debug log from the serial port.
The only thing I can suggest it's that when you try to mount the image while it's actually being used (sorry didn't check that first) it doesn't tell you about it, just an explorer error while trying to lunch the supposed mounted unit.
The last thing, I've installed it in an italian xp, so the default "program files" folder it's called differently, perhaps another suggestion could be to detect the folder depending on the OS language.
Thanks and compliments again!

Posted: Thu May 17, 2007 12:12 pm
by Ged
The original GUI was designed by GreatLord as a sort of proof of concept.
It was then enhanced by Christoph and encoded, and a few tweaks added by me.

However the design isn't great and it's not very scalable.

So, I've started a full rewrite of the GUI.
The new version will be much more user friendly and adaptable.

Here's a screenshot of the way the early stages

Image

Posted: Thu May 17, 2007 2:56 pm
by RomanH
The ReactOS Test Environment works great form me. Thanks!

only one (very minor!) thing:
Non-English Windows Versions don't use "Program Files" as their default location to store programs which makes it necessary to change the path manually.

Thanks!

Image

Posted: Thu May 17, 2007 3:09 pm
by Ged
I know about this.
The path was put in for my ease of use when writing the installer, and I didn't bother to remove it.

I'm not doing any more tweaking on this GUI now, the new one will address all these problems.