ReactOS on other processor types, for example Sparc?

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
rowa
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 7:57 pm
Location: Berlin (good old Europe)
Contact:

ReactOS on other processor types, for example Sparc?

Post by rowa » Sun Feb 13, 2005 8:14 pm

Hello,

is it possible to compile and run ReactOS on other processor types, for example Sparc?

I mean not now but later. I have an old SparcStation LX for testing.

I know that ReactOS need SCSI-Support for this as well.

Dr. Fred
Developer
Posts: 607
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 10:09 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: ReactOS on other processor types, for example Sparc?

Post by Dr. Fred » Sun Feb 13, 2005 8:58 pm

rowa wrote:Hello,

is it possible to compile and run ReactOS on other processor types, for example Sparc?

I mean not now but later. I have an old SparcStation LX for testing.

I know that ReactOS need SCSI-Support for this as well.
If someone would port the HAL to Sparc it's possible.

uniQ
Posts: 246
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 8:58 am

Post by uniQ » Mon Feb 14, 2005 12:37 am

Once ReactOS becomes usable and stable on it's current target x86, I expect alot of ppl to try and port it to other platforms, especially those which NT4 used to support.

-uniQ
Coming on, coming up, let me help ROS and I'll be able to look @ a life well used.

Jaix
Moderator Team
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:40 pm
Location: Sweden, Växjö

Re: ReactOS on other processor types, for example Sparc?

Post by Jaix » Mon Feb 14, 2005 12:00 pm

rowa wrote:Hello,

is it possible to compile and run ReactOS on other processor types, for example Sparc?

I mean not now but later. I have an old SparcStation LX for testing.

I know that ReactOS need SCSI-Support for this as well.
Yes, in time I hope that ReactOS will be ported to as many platformt as Linux has. The only problem is that there lacks programmers for taking on such a project yet, there is a porting project for XBox but it is based on the x86 processor, so it is easier to do and it is a project that one of the developers works on in his sparetime.
Many people is interested in different ports but ROS has a long way to go before the current developers can start focusing on a new platform, but with new recruits a porting project could perhaps be stated. I think that would be a good way to eliminate bugs in the x86 port too.

bastetfurry
Posts: 49
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 11:20 am
Location: Deep Umbra ;)
Contact:

Post by bastetfurry » Wed Feb 16, 2005 5:23 pm

If someone knows the handywork of creating it and has some boredome, go get UAE a Kickstart, preferable 1.3 (Amiga 500) or 3.0 (Amiga 1200/3000). and hack away ;)
--
Wir sind kein Mensch und keine Katze.
Wir sind wer wir sind.
Wir sind die Kinder des Zwielichtes.
Wir sind Bastet.

arty
Developer
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:39 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Second architecture

Post by arty » Wed Mar 02, 2005 11:19 pm

I'm working on PPC as a second architecture. This will get us powermac and pegasos machines quickly, probably followed by the Xbox 2 and 3rd gen amiga hardware later on. It's mostly for fun though.

What I have now is:
- The hello world boot program I can run on pearpc and my 7300 mac.

- Some mostly untested fixes for egcs-1.1.2 and binutils-2.15 that enable use of the powerpcle-cygwin32 target.

Jaix
Moderator Team
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:40 pm
Location: Sweden, Växjö

Re: Second architecture

Post by Jaix » Thu Mar 03, 2005 3:12 pm

arty wrote:I'm working on PPC as a second architecture. This will get us powermac and pegasos machines quickly, probably followed by the Xbox 2 and 3rd gen amiga hardware later on. It's mostly for fun though.

What I have now is:
- The hello world boot program I can run on pearpc and my 7300 mac.

- Some mostly untested fixes for egcs-1.1.2 and binutils-2.15 that enable use of the powerpcle-cygwin32 target.
Wow cool, this will be VERY interesting, when you are abel to make a screenshot, please show us how it looks. (Or if you have a digtal camera or if you run qemu-ppc.)

I guess similar projects will be usual as ReactOS gets more and more usable and the base of enthusiasts is growing.

arty
Developer
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:39 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

heh ya that's going to take a while

Post by arty » Thu Mar 03, 2005 7:24 pm

Hmm well there's really nothing to screenshot at the moment. The hello boot program prints 'hi' in openfirmware and then exits.

Of course, screenshots of gcc patches are quite exciting too.

Jaix
Moderator Team
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:40 pm
Location: Sweden, Växjö

Re: heh ya that's going to take a while

Post by Jaix » Thu Mar 03, 2005 8:34 pm

arty wrote:Hmm well there's really nothing to screenshot at the moment. The hello boot program prints 'hi' in openfirmware and then exits.

Of course, screenshots of gcc patches are quite exciting too.
Two computer nerds talking to eachother:
- :) 101110001101010011010101001100101010
101010110001101010011010101001100101010
011101110001101010011010101001100101010
101111100101101010011010101001100101010
011101110001101010011010101001100101010


- 8) 1101010001110111000110101001101010


- :) :) Ha Ha Ha Ha ha ha ha!!!

Dr. Fred
Developer
Posts: 607
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 10:09 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Re: heh ya that's going to take a while

Post by Dr. Fred » Thu Mar 03, 2005 8:46 pm

That's not vailed ascii-code. :)

SirTalon
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 8:53 pm

Re: heh ya that's going to take a while

Post by SirTalon » Thu Mar 03, 2005 9:13 pm

Jaix wrote:- :) 101110001101010011010101001100101010
101010110001101010011010101001100101010
011101110001101010011010101001100101010
101111100101101010011010101001100101010
011101110001101010011010101001100101010

Code: Select all

¸ Ô Õ 2 ª ± © ª e N ã S T Ê ¯ – ¦ © • ;
"People do have a real life." -- w3seek

Guess that means I'm not a person :-D

uniQ
Posts: 246
Joined: Sat Dec 04, 2004 8:58 am

Re: heh ya that's going to take a while

Post by uniQ » Fri Mar 04, 2005 2:02 am

arty wrote:The hello boot program prints 'hi' in openfirmware and then exits.
:shock: Piccy!

-uniQ
Coming on, coming up, let me help ROS and I'll be able to look @ a life well used.

arty
Developer
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:39 pm
Location: Chicago, IL

Post by arty » Wed Mar 09, 2005 7:46 am

Heh ok you wanted a screenshot... Well here it is for what it's worth. I decided to make one because I just got it to copy freeldr to the right location. The four words at the end are the first four instructions from freeldr. The addresses following boot are the begin and end of the freeldr payload in our boot program.

http://64.81.145.152/~arty/freeldr_ppc.jpg

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Semrush [Bot] and 1 guest