RosBE 0.3.6

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

roytam1
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 11:14 am

Re: plz test: Newer RosBE 0.3.6

Post by roytam1 » Sat Apr 28, 2007 4:55 pm

roytam1 wrote:
EmuandCo wrote: EDIT 2: I replaced great parts of the NSIS Script and made it waay smaller. No real Code change, but I uploaded a newer Version. Dralnix, why didn't you use automatic recursive search instead of adding every single file? Additionally it does not kill files like a SVN repo in the same directory anymore (Hi RT|Chatzilla....)
Hope so.
I'll try to uninstall it next time. :wink:
The unistaller still removing files that were not installed by the installer.
e.g. I placed some additional libraries in rosbe\4.1.3\lib but it simply removes rosbe\4.1.3

And it put whole directory to HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\PendingFileRenameOperations

lucky I don't reboot after uninstall then.

EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4317
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Post by EmuandCo » Thu May 03, 2007 11:35 pm

Aaand another Update. See Changelog. No Compiler Changes, only Gimmicks and Code cleanup.

Meklort
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 11:53 pm
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Post by Meklort » Fri May 04, 2007 12:49 am

EmuandCo wrote:Aaand another Update. See Changelog. No Compiler Changes, only Gimmicks and Code cleanup.
Next time you edit your post, could you please state which files have been updated (the exe, .7z, the src, or all of the above)?

Thanks.

edit: Just saw the email on the mailing list, Ill update the mirror on my site

EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4317
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Post by EmuandCo » Fri May 04, 2007 7:28 am

Sorry, it was late and I was pissed because of the "Deutsche Bahn". :-P Next time, OK?

Meklort
Posts: 175
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 11:53 pm
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Post by Meklort » Fri May 04, 2007 11:03 pm

EmuandCo wrote:Sorry, it was late and I was pissed because of the "Deutsche Bahn". :-P Next time, OK?
That would be great, and I just updated my mirror:
http://meklort.isa-geek.com/RosBE-0.3.6.exe
http://meklort.isa-geek.com/RosBESrc.7z

EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4317
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Post by EmuandCo » Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:47 am

Once more... an Update. See first post. ONLY RosBE0.3.6.exe was updated

Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Post by Haos » Sat Jun 09, 2007 3:13 am

This is why i told you EmuandCo to separate every update. Current RosBE 0.3.6 has issues with out trunk.

[WRC] obj-i386\base\applications\cmdutils\find\find.coff
windres: find.find.res.tmp: Not a valid WIN32 resource file
mk[1]: *** [obj-i386\base\applications\cmdutils\find\find.coff] Error 1
mk[1]: Leaving directory `D:/ReactOS'
mk: *** No rule to make target `makefile.auto', needed by `all'. Stop.

Latest trunk, using latest 0.3.6 and GCC 4.1.3...

I dont know which update introduced this error, as they are not distinguished. It has been confirmed on another PC.

EDIT: Many thx to Russell. He pointed this issue to the windres file. The one provided with current 0.3.6 is exactly 688686bytes in size and is NOT WORKING. It is causing the bug as pasted above.

W3seek has updated the windres to: mingw32-windres-CVS06082007.zip
It is over 730kb in size, and works fine.
Please update ASAP.

EDIT2:

If someone doesnt want to wait till RosBE is updated, here is the link: http://reactsoft.com/binutils/

EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4317
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Post by EmuandCo » Sat Jun 09, 2007 10:23 am

oops. OK. will be updated today.

EDIT: Updated

roytam1
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 11:14 am

Post by roytam1 » Mon Jun 11, 2007 1:40 pm

Haos wrote:This is why i told you EmuandCo to separate every update. Current RosBE 0.3.6 has issues with out trunk.

[WRC] obj-i386\base\applications\cmdutils\find\find.coff
windres: find.find.res.tmp: Not a valid WIN32 resource file
mk[1]: *** [obj-i386\base\applications\cmdutils\find\find.coff] Error 1
mk[1]: Leaving directory `D:/ReactOS'
mk: *** No rule to make target `makefile.auto', needed by `all'. Stop.

Latest trunk, using latest 0.3.6 and GCC 4.1.3...

I dont know which update introduced this error, as they are not distinguished. It has been confirmed on another PC.

EDIT: Many thx to Russell. He pointed this issue to the windres file. The one provided with current 0.3.6 is exactly 688686bytes in size and is NOT WORKING. It is causing the bug as pasted above.

W3seek has updated the windres to: mingw32-windres-CVS06082007.zip
It is over 730kb in size, and works fine.
Please update ASAP.

EDIT2:

If someone doesnt want to wait till RosBE is updated, here is the link: http://reactsoft.com/binutils/
I got this with windres sized 730KB.

[WRC] obj-i386/base/shell/cmd/cmd.coff
<built-in>:0: fatal error: when writing output to : Invalid argument
compilation terminated.

EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4317
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Post by EmuandCo » Mon Jun 11, 2007 5:09 pm

Make a clean build and try again :-)

roytam1
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 11:14 am

Post by roytam1 » Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:20 am

EmuandCo wrote:Make a clean build and try again :-)
OMG I got same result.
windres sized 515KB from mingw seems working fine.

EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4317
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Post by EmuandCo » Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:30 am

Can anyone else confirm this? I can build ROS very well with the build you can load on page one.

Heis Spiter
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 11:39 am
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by Heis Spiter » Tue Jun 12, 2007 12:03 pm

I've no problems to build with this RosBE version.
Last edited by Heis Spiter on Fri Jul 13, 2007 11:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
Pierre Schweitzer (aka Heis Spiter)
ReactOS kernel developer.
ReactOS systems administrator.

roytam1
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Oct 06, 2005 11:14 am

Post by roytam1 » Tue Jun 12, 2007 2:14 pm

EmuandCo wrote:Can anyone else confirm this? I can build ROS very well with the build you can load on page one.
Please check your log. Although there's message aboves, it seems not breaking building process.

Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Post by Haos » Sat Jul 21, 2007 7:42 am

IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT:

Official RosBE 0.3.6 release is shipped with a buggy version of windres. Please either update to latest RosBE 0.3.7b or if you dont want to use beta version - just change windres.exe in /4.1.3/bin/ directory. A known working version is the following one: 2007.01.29. Others may also work but be sure not to use versions 2007.06.07 and 2007.06.08 - as they will produce a magnitude of resource-related bugs.

Feel free to ask if you have any questions.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], Baidu [Spider], Semrush [Bot] and 2 guests