radial menus

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
Floyd
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 7:45 am
Location: The frozen part of the USA

radial menus

Post by Floyd »

Any thoughts on radial menus?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Radial_menu

they seem pretty human-friendly to me.
:)

edit:
apparently macs are looking into it:
http://binarybonsai.com/archives/2006/0 ... ial-menus/
pax mei amici amorque et Iesus sacret omnia

mikedep333
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 1:48 am
Location: United States

Post by mikedep333 »

Considering that ReactOS aims to have a very familiar UI for windows users, I doubt it will be implemented.

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Post by Z98 »

Pie menus will not be implemented in ReactOS.

Floyd
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 7:45 am
Location: The frozen part of the USA

Post by Floyd »

i'm not surprised they won't be implemented.
but they seem useful to me.
pax mei amici amorque et Iesus sacret omnia

oiaohm
Posts: 1322
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2004 8:40 am

Post by oiaohm »

Still I would not exactly write if off.

Radial menu as a option for right click menus. Of course this is still a no time soon operation.

1) OS Stable
2) OS Security
3) Fun bits.

Have not got past number 1 yet.

Radhad
Posts: 605
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 5:09 pm
Contact:

Post by Radhad »

For my old Logitech mouse, the driver supported a menu while pressing down the mouse wheel.

User avatar
Jaix
Moderator Team
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:40 pm
Location: Sweden, Växjö

I had one too

Post by Jaix »

Radhad wrote:For my old Logitech mouse, the driver supported a menu while pressing down the mouse wheel.
I had one too, I found it very annoying so I disabled it.

Mrkaras
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 5:43 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by Mrkaras »

I don't normally like radial menus, although sometimes there not too bad.
I don't think they would be suitable as a general right-click menu because they are based on the same item being at the same angle every time and as a right click menu various shell extensions could make the list length change, therefor things would have to move (or go multi-level, and there never good).

Radhad
Posts: 605
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 5:09 pm
Contact:

Re: I had one too

Post by Radhad »

Jaix wrote:
Radhad wrote:For my old Logitech mouse, the driver supported a menu while pressing down the mouse wheel.
I had one too, I found it very annoying so I disabled it.
I only used it to close the window or minimize it

cmoibenlepro
Posts: 483
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 5:44 pm
Location: Canada

Post by cmoibenlepro »

That's useless.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], DotBot [Crawler] and 12 guests