UnrealTournament is playable in ReactOS!!!

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Gasmann
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 6:53 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

UnrealTournament is playable in ReactOS!!!

Post by Gasmann »

I tested some apps today that hadn't worked some time ago, and found something working: UnrealTournament!!!
It's not only working, it's also fast enough (at least for me) to be playable!!! 8)
I wrote a Tutorial howto get it working.
I also made some 'screenshots' (well not really screenshots I know) here

Only thing bad at it is that Mouse-Capturing messes up ReactOS, so the mouse can't be used fully :( But overall JUST AMAZING !!!

Dr. Fred
Developer
Posts: 607
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 10:09 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Post by Dr. Fred »

CCCCCCCCCCOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOLLLLLLLLLLL
Where do you want ReactOS to go today ?

Dr. Fred
Developer
Posts: 607
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 10:09 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Post by Dr. Fred »

Which version of Ros do you use ?
Is UT a OpenGL or a DirectX Game ? Or somethings else ?
Maybe the input does not because DirectInput is not implemented (don't know how far GreateLord is)
Where do you want ReactOS to go today ?

zoken
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 7:35 pm
Location: Belgium

Post by zoken »

ReactOS 0.3.0 svn 02/01/05
edit: it's 'Software Rendering'
all is in his tutorial
Last edited by zoken on Wed Feb 02, 2005 4:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

loki1985
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 1:39 pm

Post by loki1985 »

Dr. Fred wrote:Is UT a OpenGL or a DirectX Game ? Or somethings else ?
on the tut, he says he uses the software renderer... so neither DX nor OGL....
the game has got renderers for both OGL and DX as well as IMHO 3DFX and software mode....
Last edited by loki1985 on Wed Feb 02, 2005 4:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Gasmann
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 6:53 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Gasmann »

Dr. Fred wrote:Which version of Ros do you use ?
Is UT a OpenGL or a DirectX Game ? Or somethings else ?
Maybe the input does not because DirectInput is not implemented (don't know how far GreateLord is)
The input works perfectly only the mouse doesn't work fully - because you need Mouse-Capturing for it which crashes (well not really crashes, you just can't do anything anymore).
It's both an OpenGL and a DirectX game, additionally it has software rendering support. All depends on the settings.

Gasmann
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 6:53 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Gasmann »

zoken wrote:
ReactOS 0.3.0 svn 02/01/05
edit: it's 'Software Rendering'
all is in his tutorial
If I'm not wrong, it's svn-rev. 13374.

Dr. Fred
Developer
Posts: 607
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 10:09 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Post by Dr. Fred »

I'm sorry that I didn't read the tutorial. Howerver it's greate.
Where do you want ReactOS to go today ?

Gasmann
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 6:53 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by Gasmann »

Ok, now it's in frik85's database :wink:

btw. I'm pretty sure the mouse capturing bug is the reason why quake2 isn't playable on ROS.

BrandonTurner
Developer
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 1:42 am

Post by BrandonTurner »

wow, good work dude, thats sweet.

Luemmel
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2005 7:18 pm

Post by Luemmel »

very _very_ nice :D i think this could be the eyecatcher on the next exhibition :)

frik85
Developer
Posts: 829
Joined: Fri Nov 26, 2004 7:48 pm
Location: Austria, Europe
Contact:

Re: UnrealTournament is playable in ReactOS!!!

Post by frik85 »

gasmann wrote:I tested some apps today that hadn't worked some time ago, and found something working: UnrealTournament!!!
It's not only working, it's also fast enough (at least for me) to be playable!!! 8)
I wrote a Tutorial howto get it working.
I also made some 'screenshots' (well not really screenshots I know) here

Only thing bad at it is that Mouse-Capturing messes up ReactOS, so the mouse can't be used fully :( But overall JUST AMAZING !!!
Wow ... Really amazing! I will search the UT cd and try the game ...
Maybe even Half Life (1) work ... (I will try it) :wink:

Stead
Posts: 163
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 3:00 pm

Post by Stead »

once direct input is working, i'd hazard a guess that most games that use software rendering, or even 3dfx would work, (does the card need to be installed, i remember i use to play some old glide games like camageddon when i had NT4, and they used to work fine in NT5/5.1 too..

if u got an old voodoo card try just using the glide files see if it will run with it?:P

i got an old voodoo 2 here, remember paying good money for that 12mb graphics card...those were the days...

Toxigenicpoem
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 6:48 pm

Post by Toxigenicpoem »

Thats a good idea! I plan to pop the old Voodoo3 in and give it a run... Now Glide software, I wonder if I can find that old version of Need for Speed :) You got the rain and bug and smoke effects if you had a Glide card, how sweet it was!

Elledan
Posts: 363
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 3:18 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Elledan »

What might cause the mouse issue with UT?

BTW, this is great news! :)

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests