Page 1 of 1

ReactOS for AMD64 architecture?

Posted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 4:33 pm
by hyperwind
Have we a chance to install ReactOS based on Kernel made for AMD64 ?
How soon?

Posted: Thu Jan 13, 2005 9:16 pm
by meij
Judging by the commits some of the codes being ported to by 64bit friendly, though id rather see a stable 32bit ReactOS before people go port crazy. Then again it could be really easy to make it 64bit friendly, i have no idea.

Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 12:14 am
by NetSlayer
Porting to x86_64 won't be a problem. Simply recompiling will (almost) do. Problem with porting is: Your apps have been made for Win32, so they won't use the 64 bit advantadges => /dev/null.

I think porting to other platforms is the stupidest thing we could do at this stage of very early development. There are simply too many problems to solve, and that takes time - time we need to get the x86 version working.

Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 2:09 am
by Elledan
NetSlayer wrote: I think porting to other platforms is the stupidest thing we could do at this stage of very early development. There are simply too many problems to solve, and that takes time - time we need to get the x86 version working.
I fully agree.

Developing an application simultaneously on two or more platforms is most definitely not efficient. At most you can ensure during development that it'll be easy to port once you're (almost) done.

Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 2:33 am
by avryhof
Elledan wrote: I fully agree.

Developing an application simultaneously on two or more platforms is most definitely not efficient. At most you can ensure during development that it'll be easy to port once you're (almost) done.
There is no wiser advice anyone could give than this. It's nice to see that some people are working on x86_64, but get it working on standard x86 first.

This is surely what we need. At the rate ROS is moving, it should be targeting the desktop user market... These are people who just use the computer for Games, Email and The Internet.

Remember, there are still people out there running Windows 98 and Windows 3.1 Applications... Lack of Win32 applications wont be an issue for a long time, and I see no craze for people to mindlessly jump to 64-Bit chips.

On the other hand, the code should be easily portable...Linux is, BSD is, BeOS was...ReactOS should be.

Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 2:56 am
by uniQ
[ Irked ]

It's AMD64 (A64) now, not x86-64, an never was "x86_64"!!!

[ / Irked ]

I'm willing to run in x86 compatibility mode like I am now with XP, untill ROS gets stable and well provided enough in other neccisary fields and then jumps every which way @ 1ce. I'll be ready.

-Q

Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2005 10:45 am
by Elledan
uniQ wrote:[ Irked ]

It's AMD64 (A64) now, not x86-64, an never was "x86_64"!!!

[ / Irked ]
AMD64 is the marketing name. To developers it's still x86-64:

http://www.x86-64.org/documentation

I also prefer to use the latter, because it's the manufacturer-neutral, most descriptive term (x86 with 64-bit extensions).

Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2005 3:14 am
by uniQ
Alright, but it's still not "x86_64". "x64" works as well.

-Q

Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2005 12:01 pm
by Elledan
uniQ wrote:Alright, but it's still not "x86_64". "x64" works as well.

-Q
'x64' sounds like a bastard version of x86 ;)

Whatever

Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2005 8:35 pm
by avryhof
Ok, so I made a mistake, big deal. If people can get away with chatspeak (replacing are with R and You with U and a number of malformations of the English language) in this forum, then I can get away with making a simple mistake.

Either way, the point got through.

Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2005 8:59 pm
by NetSlayer
avryhof wrote:Ok, so I made a mistake, big deal. If people can get away with chatspeak (replacing are with R and You with U and a number of malformations of the English language) in this forum, then I can get away with making a simple mistake.
I made the same "mistake"; I don't care.

btw: I didn't notice that people are scrambling the English language. Maybe I'm not reading enough. Only thing I've seen is people using capital letters for the first letter in each word.

Posted: Sat Jan 15, 2005 9:41 pm
by uniQ
Well, back on subject (I think the only scrambing is in solemnwarnings sig), there's talk on the mailing list of recasting the code [Newbies terms] to make it easily portable to A64 when the time comes.

-uniQ

Portabel?

Posted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 4:46 pm
by Jaix
I have a question? How much work is it to run it through a x86-64 compiler instead a x86 one? Does the code have to change in any way or is it just a daily build that has to be done? If it is really simple I see no reason not to port early so reactos can be made really good in other ports too. On the other side, if it has to be a lot of changes we'd better not.

Posted: Sun Jan 16, 2005 5:33 pm
by nothin2g
when u port to different platforms you normally find a lot of bugs.