Elite Dangerous/Star Citizen

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
Maylor Rom
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 10:21 pm

Elite Dangerous/Star Citizen

Post by Maylor Rom » Sat Jul 13, 2019 10:25 pm

Hello

I am trying to get Elite Dangerous and Star Citizen to run successfully on ReactOS.

These are two important space games in the gaming community, and if they will run on ReactOS, you will have a very large group of supporters for this platform. I will be feeding my results from testing these two games in this OS back to this forum.

I have worked at Microsoft, in the Windows Systems Group for a number of years and although retired now, I would like to offer "software testing" on the two above mentioned games.

Thanks.

ThePhysicist
Developer
Posts: 508
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2005 12:46 pm

Re: Elite Dangerous/Star Citizen

Post by ThePhysicist » Sun Jul 14, 2019 1:51 am

Hi,
Thanks for your interest in ReactOS. First of all, I have to point out, that quite a number of applications and games do not work on ReactOS yet, and I personally don't know Elite Dangerous or Star Citizen, and while they might be great games, they probably can't compete with "Make the latest Firefox version work". But I don't want to discourage you. If you think these games are relevant, I would like to encourage you to try and when you hit a problem, ask here or in chat.reactos.org (Our Mattermost server). If the games don't work, create a bugreport with a detailed analysis of what is failing, providing as much information as you can get (detailed description, screenshots, debuglogs, own debugging sessions ... if you have been working as a software engeneer at MS you will probably know best how to create an excellent bugreport). This still doesn't mean that this will be taken on by anyone directly, as we have only few developers and more than enough things to fix/implement to be busy until the sun runs our of hydrogen, but a good bugreport is a good start.. From there, to get attention, I would suggest you join our chat (chat.reactos.org - Development channel), and ask for guidance on how to possibly get the right people interested and how to help with testing.

karlexceed
Posts: 459
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Elite Dangerous/Star Citizen

Post by karlexceed » Mon Jul 15, 2019 3:11 pm

A quick Google search led me to the following results for minimum system requirements:

Elite Dangerous: Windows 7 SP1 32-bit.
Star Citizen: 64 bit version Window (Windows 7 service pack 1 (64 bit) or higher)

ReactOS is currently targeting Server 2003 / XP for compatibility. If the installers for these games are checking the OS, they will likely currently fail to install. If there are no checks or if the compatibility layer can successfully lie to the installers, then it's just a matter of what API calls from NT 6+ the games rely on.

Another thing to note is that Star Citizen requires 64 bit and also apparently 16+ GB RAM. Since ROS is currently 32 bit only, this may be an issue as well.

Maylor Rom
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Jul 13, 2019 10:21 pm

Re: Elite Dangerous/Star Citizen

Post by Maylor Rom » Tue Oct 08, 2019 9:41 pm

Well, if a browser does not work, you are miles away from getting any game working. I have tested the installs for both games and they crashed without giving any error as to why. Being totally unfamiliar with ReactOS, I could not guess why. Most likely, paths do not exist, no access to registy values, a dot-net framework being unavailable and no way to tell what the installer is doing.

So, we are stuck with either Linux or Windows until someone comes up with a third alternative which can do both. That would be a miracle.

ThFabba
Developer
Posts: 263
Joined: Sun Jul 11, 2010 11:39 am

Re: Elite Dangerous/Star Citizen

Post by ThFabba » Fri Oct 11, 2019 11:05 am

Maylor Rom wrote:
Tue Oct 08, 2019 9:41 pm
Well, if a browser does not work, you are miles away from getting any game working.
FYI, most games are _way_ less complex than modern browsers. They generally just require a window and some API to draw on it (of course DX11 as an important example of such an API _is_ complex; but that's a part of why Vista+ support is hard).
Browsers these days perform extremely intricate memory management, utilizing complex OS features for maximum performance, and make assumptions about many undocumented implementation details in the OS in order to implement their sandboxes.

In any case, until ROS has the whole compatibility layer figured out more, it's of course best to start by testing apps that run on Windows XP or Server 2003, or you'll be disappointed a lot more than necessary.

MadWolf
Posts: 540
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 4:19 am
Contact:

Re: Elite Dangerous/Star Citizen

Post by MadWolf » Thu Oct 17, 2019 3:52 am

Elite Dangerous is a dx11 game and Star Citizen is a 64bit game

testing games you want to look for games that are 32bit and use DirectX 9 and you may need to use user created patches

Quim
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 11:45 pm

Re: Elite Dangerous/Star Citizen

Post by Quim » Thu Oct 17, 2019 6:49 am

MadWolf wrote:
Thu Oct 17, 2019 3:52 am
testing games you want to look for games that are 32bit and use DirectX 9 and you may need to use user created patches
Gamers are needed for intensive game testing! :D

I can remember in my time: "Kkrieger-beta", "INCOMING lux et robur", "INCOMING FORCES", "WillRock", "HALF LIFE 2", "Serious Sam" I, 2, "Counter Strike", "BLOOD 2 The Chosen", "SHOGO Mobile Armor Division" and so many others...(it would be better to have a list of working videogames).

Lookin into webpages that have videogames demos is also another option...

Thanatophobia
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 1:28 pm

Re: Elite Dangerous/Star Citizen

Post by Thanatophobia » Thu Oct 17, 2019 6:10 pm

But the true question is,...

...can ReactOS run Duke Nukem Forever?

Quim
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 11:45 pm

Re: Elite Dangerous/Star Citizen

Post by Quim » Fri Oct 18, 2019 8:39 pm

Thanatophobia wrote:
Thu Oct 17, 2019 6:10 pm
But the true question is,...

...can ReactOS run Duke Nukem Forever?
If it works under Windows XP, you can try running it under ReactOS, with "Mesa 3D" installed. Just make an .iso with the game and Mesa 3D to mount it under VirtualBox, QEMU in ROS.
Do you have any link to download this game demo?

ROCKNROLLKID
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 3:19 am
Contact:

Re: Elite Dangerous/Star Citizen

Post by ROCKNROLLKID » Sat Oct 19, 2019 12:13 am

Quim wrote:
Fri Oct 18, 2019 8:39 pm
Thanatophobia wrote:
Thu Oct 17, 2019 6:10 pm
But the true question is,...

...can ReactOS run Duke Nukem Forever?
If it works under Windows XP, you can try running it under ReactOS, with "Mesa 3D" installed. Just make an .iso with the game and Mesa 3D to mount it under VirtualBox, QEMU in ROS.
Do you have any link to download this game demo?
I think you missed the joke.

crackez
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Sep 19, 2008 11:17 am

Re: Elite Dangerous/Star Citizen

Post by crackez » Fri Nov 01, 2019 2:02 am

I've played elite dangerous ...a demanding game and reactos can't run this, shouldn't be able to play this at reasonable speed anytime soon

Also this game is buy-only, it's an online game, one time purchase

Quim
Posts: 235
Joined: Wed Jul 04, 2018 11:45 pm

Re: Elite Dangerous/Star Citizen

Post by Quim » Thu Nov 07, 2019 10:24 pm

crackez wrote:
Fri Nov 01, 2019 2:02 am
Also this game is buy-only, it's an online game, one time purchase
What about a demo for free download? (All games should have a demo...).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DotBot [Crawler] and 19 guests