I am newbie

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
liborse
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2006 10:21 pm

I am newbie

Post by liborse »

Hi, I'm from Czech republic. I downloaded live CD and tried ReactOS. It is very good, but I missed Czech translation. I saw same bugs too. And I can't browse Internet :cry: . I have Laptop with PCMCIA card, i have WiFi 8) . So, I am lucky, because for example Irfanview runs there. But Firefox no :evil: . But this OS can be very powerful and interesting. Good work :twisted:

User avatar
EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4432
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Post by EmuandCo »

Ah, a newbie.
Yes there are not that much translations in ReactOS yet. Perhaps you could help them making a Czech one.
Browsing Internet will work over LAN with DHCP. No need for changing the IP.
No PCMCIA and Wifi Support Yet.
Firefox works, but very unstable.

Ged
Developer
Posts: 925
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 3:00 pm
Location: UK

Post by Ged »

EmuandCo wrote:Firefox works, but very unstable.
Firefox is pretty stable in SVN HEAD thanks to Gé's work.

Mike_PSP
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 11:46 pm

Post by Mike_PSP »

Yes i also highly recomend firefox over the reactos browser.

Personaly we should drop our browser.
and adapt firefox, less stress. Perefict preformance.
and a big time saver, more time for the os

Ged
Developer
Posts: 925
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 3:00 pm
Location: UK

Post by Ged »

We need a base browser for config reasons. (although it's usless without moz ctrl at the moment)

It will become much better as it's developed in the future

Mike_PSP
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 11:46 pm

Post by Mike_PSP »

Why dont we use firefox as the base browser

and what we doing
using our current base as explorer or some thing?

Please tell me the idea isnt to copy cat IE

cmoibenlepro
Posts: 483
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 5:44 pm
Location: Canada

Post by cmoibenlepro »

Mike_PSP wrote:Why dont we use firefox as the base browser
Because it needs too much 3rd party tools to compile (like cygwin).
So it's useless to add it to reactos code when the end user can easily download it separetly.

Mrkaras
Posts: 379
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 5:43 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Post by Mrkaras »

I don't think the web browser works in the live cd version because it needs to download files (the mozila control). You are probably better off using the vmware version.

User avatar
Jaix
Moderator Team
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:40 pm
Location: Sweden, Växjö

Post by Jaix »

cmoibenlepro wrote:
Mike_PSP wrote:Why dont we use firefox as the base browser
Because it needs too much 3rd party tools to compile (like cygwin).
So it's useless to add it to reactos code when the end user can easily download it separetly.
And we need the ActiveX control to be able to have web in explorer just like MS.
Our Ibrowser is actually just a framework using the ActiveX plugin, so there is no heavy development on ROS account.

Phalanx
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2004 12:42 am
Location: Australia

Post by Phalanx »

and in other applications which use the IE control (which is a lot)!

Ged
Developer
Posts: 925
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 3:00 pm
Location: UK

Post by Ged »

Strangley enough, there are no open source Windows web browsers, written in C or C++, which aren't reliant on another engine like IE or Gecko.

Off By One is the closest we ever got, and whilst free, it's not open source.

Until we or someone else implements an engine, we're stuck with our reliance on Gecko. We can't stay like that forever though, we need a default working browser.

User avatar
Jaix
Moderator Team
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:40 pm
Location: Sweden, Växjö

perhaps good to port geko to ROS.

Post by Jaix »

ged wrote:Strangley enough, there are no open source Windows web browsers, written in C or C++, which aren't reliant on another engine like IE or Gecko.

Off By One is the closest we ever got, and whilst free, it's not open source.

Until we or someone else implements an engine, we're stuck with our reliance on Gecko. We can't stay like that forever though, we need a default working browser.
Perhaps it would be good to port the geko engine to ROS so it doesn't need anything else then ReactBE so we could include it in the svn?

cuppm
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu Jan 13, 2005 3:42 pm
Location: Columbus, OH
Contact:

Post by cuppm »

what all does the gecko code need from cygwin in order to build that mingw doesn't have?

User avatar
Jaix
Moderator Team
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:40 pm
Location: Sweden, Växjö

Mozilla Windows Build Prerequisites

Post by Jaix »

cuppm wrote:what all does the gecko code need from cygwin in order to build that mingw doesn't have?
I have no idea, but perhaps you can find out for yourself at:
http://www.iol.ie/~locka/mozilla/mozilla.htm
http://lxr.mozilla.org/seamonkey/source ... c/control/
==================
EDIT:
I have made some digging, here you can read what is currently needed to compile Mozilla:
http://www.iol.ie/~locka/mozilla/control.htm#source
http://developer.mozilla.org/en/docs/Wi ... requisites Windows Build Prerequisites
http://gemal.dk/mozilla/build.html Build with mingw
I hope this answers your questions.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests