64 bits Kernel for ReactOS with AMD64 and Pentium EM64T

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
fabien
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 12:11 pm

64 bits Kernel for ReactOS with AMD64 and Pentium EM64T

Post by fabien »

There's no plan for a 64 bits Kernel in the Future. May be this project is on development plan, but for many reason not for now ! May be for an advanced version (1.0 or 2.0) same of MenuetOs.

Today three versions of ReactOS exist but no fully functtonnal for the moment :

ReactOS for Power PC (very good for old Mac G3, G4 and G5 !) if i understand !
ReactOS for ARM (For embeded system or Mobile Phone) In development
ReactOS for AMD64 and Intel EM64T In development to

I't's very interesting for learning Kernel programmation on this paltforms.

Question :
When do you see the first ISO or ROM image fullly functionnal of this systems ?


Thank you

:) Fabien
Last edited by fabien on Thu Jul 02, 2009 7:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dr. Fred
Developer
Posts: 607
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2004 10:09 pm
Location: Amsterdam

Post by Dr. Fred »

If anyone will be intereserested to implement it it will be implemented. There is no need to write in red.
Where do you want ReactOS to go today ?

GreatLord
Developer
Posts: 926
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Sweden

Post by GreatLord »

Hi
It exits plan to devloping 64bits kernel, but we can not do it yest for binutils does not support genrate 64bits pe files yet. or was it some other problem with binutils. anyway, the problem lies in binutils.

mikedep333
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2005 1:48 am
Location: United States

Post by mikedep333 »

According to the revision notes, I'm pretty sure that many steps are being taken to ensure compatibility with x64.

reub2000
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 5:54 pm
Location: Evanston, IL, US

Post by reub2000 »

ReactOS is a clone of Windows NT, a portable operating system. I don't see why ros couldn't be ported later.

GreatLord
Developer
Posts: 926
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Sweden

Post by GreatLord »

windows nt can be 32 or higher bit system.
see
Windows NT 4 for alphs
WIndows XP for amd64
Winodws vista 32bits and 64bits version

All these are using NT kernel

menn
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Dec 27, 2005 10:22 am

Post by menn »

while obvious to many here, you can still run ros on a 64bit machine that is running in 32bit compatibility mode. i didn't see that anywhere on this thread, and thought it worthy of note, in case a newcomer reads this. it's not like ros is useless on 64bit machines. i'm sure it will be ported eventually- not that there would be any reason to rush it.
FOSS="MY Computer"
drm="NOT My Computer" http://eff.org

reub2000
Posts: 100
Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 5:54 pm
Location: Evanston, IL, US

Post by reub2000 »

menn wrote:while obvious to many here, you can still run ros on a 64bit machine that is running in 32bit compatibility mode. i didn't see that anywhere on this thread, and thought it worthy of note, in case a newcomer reads this. it's not like ros is useless on 64bit machines. i'm sure it will be ported eventually- not that there would be any reason to rush it.
Application continue to gobble up more and more RAM. Some day games or image editing might require 8GB of RAM, and run best with 12GB.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests