ROS compatiblity

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
davefilms
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 7:51 am
Contact:

ROS compatiblity

Post by davefilms »

I know that ROS is Xp and 2K compatible but... I'd like ROS to implement under-the-hood improvements from Win7, 8, & 10. is this possible?

erkinalp
Posts: 859
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 5:55 pm
Location: Izmir, TR

Re: ROS compatiblity

Post by erkinalp »

Non-GUI parts of userspace can be ported over without loss of Windows 5 compatibility.
-uses Ubuntu+GNOME 3 GNU/Linux
-likes Free (as in freedom) and Open Source Detergents
-favors open source of Windows 10 under GPL2

DOSGuy
Posts: 582
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 5:55 pm
Contact:

Re: ROS compatiblity

Post by DOSGuy »

ROS is at version 0.3.17 and probably 5 to 10 years away from being fully compatible with XP and 2003. Let's let them achieve NT5 compatibility before asking for anything from NT6.
Today entirely the maniac there is no excuse with the article. Get free DOS, Windows and OS/2 games at RGB Classic Games.

PurpleGurl
Posts: 1788
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 5:11 am
Location: USA

Re: ROS compatiblity

Post by PurpleGurl »

It is possible to a point as pointed out. Also, we've been forced to include some of the newer stuff, such as stubs or a limited API library to get newer Wine code to run. That's just easier than rewriting the imported functions to use older code.

User avatar
EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4436
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Re: ROS compatiblity

Post by EmuandCo »

check stuff like kernel32_vista module and you will see how we do that now ^^
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], DotBot [Crawler], Google [Bot] and 2 guests