Testing ReactOS v0.2.9...

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
Ceco`85
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 4:33 am

Testing ReactOS v0.2.9...

Post by Ceco`85 »

Hi 2 all!
I've decided to take a look at this OS.I've downloaded ReactOS v0.2.9 LiveCD version.And that's it:
When i double click on C:\ or D:\ i give the following message:
ShellClasses Exception

E_ACCESSDENIED - WIN32 access denied error
Context: ShellFolder::ShellFolder(IShellFolder*,LPCITEMIDLIST)
Location: subsys\system\explorer\utility\shellclasses.cpp:283
When clicking on "Shell" button i give this error too.

All buttons in "Properties for System" don't work except "Environment Variables"

No sound card detected.
No video card detected.
USB Mouse don't work.
Keyboard not detected.When pressing Caps,Num or Scroll Lock the lights on the keyboard don't lights up.
When right click on desktop...u can remove this ugly "About Explorer"
On "Properties for Display" all buttons don't work except "Browse"
When right clicking on Taskbar you can remove this ugly "About Explorer" again.
When clicking on "Start->Search" only "Search Program..." works
When clicking on "Start->Browse Files->Network" i give this error "network not yet implemented"
In React Explorer menu "Help->Explorer FAQ" i give "Sorry - no web browser control could be loaded"
When right clicking on "My Computer" no buttons work.
With two words...most things in this OS don't work!

My PC conf is:
MB: K7Upgrade-880
CPU: AMD Athlon XP 2000+ (Thorton)
Video: GF4 MX440
Mouse: Logitech 2 button+scroll,USB laser mouse
KB:Unitek kb-2325
You have to do a lot of work guyz to progress the ReactOS.

BrandonTurner
Developer
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 1:42 am

Post by BrandonTurner »

Thank goodness you are here and ready to fix all these things! Can you have the patch done by tomorrow night?

andreasm
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by andreasm »

E_ACCESSDENIED - WIN32 access denied error

I already filed a bug for this:

http://www.reactos.org/bugzilla/show_bug.cgi?id=1192
Greets, Andreas
my homepage http://www.energie-bewusstsein.de let's stop wasting energy!

fraxx
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 5:04 pm

Post by fraxx »

ok, let me ask a general question at this point pls:

is it correct, that nearly nothing is working on the live cd? i'm able to start some apps, but networks aren't supported in live-cd mode? further no internet browsers etc.?
if i dont use the live version, but the hdd install version, do i have many more options to test reactos?

or to make it simple: whats the live cd for?
i read something about firefox in this board, but in my live version i cant do e.g. network settings oO.

i respect your work, i only dont know how far you already are. unfortunately there's no simple overview to get to this knowledge.

many thks in advance for any answer

BrandonTurner
Developer
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2005 1:42 am

Post by BrandonTurner »

fraxx wrote:ok, let me ask a general question at this point pls:

is it correct, that nearly nothing is working on the live cd? i'm able to start some apps, but networks aren't supported in live-cd mode? further no internet browsers etc.?
if i dont use the live version, but the hdd install version, do i have many more options to test reactos?

or to make it simple: whats the live cd for?
i read something about firefox in this board, but in my live version i cant do e.g. network settings oO.

i respect your work, i only dont know how far you already are. unfortunately there's no simple overview to get to this knowledge.

many thks in advance for any answer
Networking is working fine on the live cd as it on the bootcd for those network cards that are supported. I'm willing to bet that we dont have a driver included for your specfic network card. However if you run it in Qemu or VMWare(suggested testing and development envirnment) you will see that we do have support for both of those networking cards.

As for internet browser. We have Ibrowser which needs the mozilla activex control, this should download automaticly. Also in trunk we have an app to download firefox automatically. The reason we dont want to include these by default is that we dont want to include their source in ours because it will increase size(by a lot relative to our current source size), increase build time, and we will have to support their building tools and envirnments.

The live cd is just for what you expect, a cd that has ROS on it that doesnt need to be installed. Fun for testing and very useful at least for me in my development.

We are working on a page that will give a better idea of exactly how far things are coming along. In an operating system it is very hard to explain exactly how far things are, and what does and does not work. For example because of a lack of drivers for your network card you believe that networking is working. We also have support for Ext2 filesystems but you would never know since our cache manager at this time doesnt support it. And so on...

Hope that helps and clears up your questions.

fraxx
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 5:04 pm

Post by fraxx »

Thank you very much for taking the time to explain it to me.

I appreciate this!

Currently I'm formatting my laptop to install ReactOS ;).

andreasm
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2005 2:41 pm
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by andreasm »

>>Currently I'm formatting my laptop to install ReactOS

Are you sure to do this? Reactos is still in Alpha-status...
Greets, Andreas
my homepage http://www.energie-bewusstsein.de let's stop wasting energy!

GvG
Posts: 499
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 10:50 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Testing ReactOS v0.2.9...

Post by GvG »

Ceco`85 wrote:You have to do a lot of work guyz to progress the ReactOS.
Yup. That's why it's called version 0.2.9 and not 1.0...

fraxx
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 5:04 pm

Post by fraxx »

andreasm wrote:>>Currently I'm formatting my laptop to install ReactOS

Are you sure to do this? Reactos is still in Alpha-status...
i'm using my laptop only for testing new os/destri's. it's an old one (750 mhz, 256 ram) and opensuse has been tested enough now ;)

temarez
Posts: 117
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 10:52 pm
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Post by temarez »

fraxx wrote:Currently I'm formatting my laptop to install ReactOS ;).
Please share your test results with public. I have much older laptop (P133, 24 Mb RAM, 2GB HD) and want to see if ReactOS will boot on such hardware (I had Win9X, Linux, OS/2 working on it). If ROS will boot and work I'll surely make some tests and describe results in forum. I scheduled this operations on following two weeks (when I'll have free time).

SpoonmAn
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2005 6:09 pm

Post by SpoonmAn »

i am going to test ros also this week on my pIII 800 Targa Companion... cant wait till i find time to do so....

TOTMS
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 3:00 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Testing ReactOS v0.2.9...

Post by TOTMS »

Ceco`85 wrote:Hi 2 all!
I've decided to take a look at this OS.I've downloaded ReactOS v0.2.9 LiveCD version.And that's it:
When i double click on C:\ or D:\ i give the following message:
ShellClasses Exception

E_ACCESSDENIED - WIN32 access denied error
Context: ShellFolder::ShellFolder(IShellFolder*,LPCITEMIDLIST)
Location: subsys\system\explorer\utility\shellclasses.cpp:283
When clicking on "Shell" button i give this error too.

All buttons in "Properties for System" don't work except "Environment Variables"

No sound card detected.
No video card detected.
USB Mouse don't work.
Keyboard not detected.When pressing Caps,Num or Scroll Lock the lights on the keyboard don't lights up.
When right click on desktop...u can remove this ugly "About Explorer"
On "Properties for Display" all buttons don't work except "Browse"
When right clicking on Taskbar you can remove this ugly "About Explorer" again.
When clicking on "Start->Search" only "Search Program..." works
When clicking on "Start->Browse Files->Network" i give this error "network not yet implemented"
In React Explorer menu "Help->Explorer FAQ" i give "Sorry - no web browser control could be loaded"
When right clicking on "My Computer" no buttons work.
With two words...most things in this OS don't work!

My PC conf is:
MB: K7Upgrade-880
CPU: AMD Athlon XP 2000+ (Thorton)
Video: GF4 MX440
Mouse: Logitech 2 button+scroll,USB laser mouse
KB:Unitek kb-2325
You have to do a lot of work guyz to progress the ReactOS.
erm I just want to point out that R0S is still very much an alpha. Specific hardware (e.g. graphics cards and sounds cards) are not the priority at the moment, stable and complete implementation of APIs and functionality is. I have not noticed some of the issues you pointed out. Alot of the configuration pages exist as place holders at the moment until they are finished. Be patient :)

Ceco`85
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 25, 2005 4:33 am

Post by Ceco`85 »

OK guyz i'll be back in the forum after 5-6 years when ROS gets version 1.0 and be usable ;) (joking)
Just want to ask something...
DONT MAKE ROS TO EAT MUCH RESOURCES LIKE XP OR KDE!
I really hate this cause it slows down the system a lot! :P
And one more thing...make it a good replacement to Windows.We allready have linux that cant play gamez on it.Make it Windows like Linux OS! :P
I've read a topic about the file system.Am... BeFS is 64Bit file system.I like this ;].Get something from BeOS.It's very fast OS.Get the best from many OS's and put it into one OS!
See ya! :}

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], Trendiction [Bot] and 2 guests