ReactOS in jDOSBox

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
fred02
Posts: 551
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 5:54 pm

ReactOS in jDOSBox

Post by fred02 »

http://vogons.zetafleet.com/viewtopic.p ... 851#287064
And there is even a version running in a browser some posts below :!:

I was unable start them on my laptops though. :|

MadWolf
Posts: 556
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2005 4:19 am
Contact:

Re: ReactOS in jDOSBox

Post by MadWolf »


Pisarz
Posts: 375
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 9:29 am

Re: ReactOS in jDOSBox

Post by Pisarz »

So... I was waiting for about half an hour, just to see a bluescreen.
[ external image ]

It actually works sometimes, but it doesn't seem to be fast at all.

User avatar
EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4401
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Re: ReactOS in jDOSBox

Post by EmuandCo »

it's java. what do you expect? java IS slow
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes.

Pisarz
Posts: 375
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 9:29 am

Re: ReactOS in jDOSBox

Post by Pisarz »

It was working quite nice on my friend's Quad-Core Xeon-based PC though...

This project is quite impressive, rewriting DOSBox to Java and even making ROS boot in it. But it's kind of useless unfortunately.

Btw. so we can run FreeLoader from DOS after all...?

User avatar
EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4401
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Re: ReactOS in jDOSBox

Post by EmuandCo »

you can use dos box as a full computer emulator. without any dos. you just need to hand it a virtual hdd image and no emulated folder thing
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes.

reactosfan
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:31 am

Re: ReactOS in jDOSBox

Post by reactosfan »

Maybe I will give it a try on my Quad Gamer at home, currently I am on business travel and lack of time and propper hardware. Despite this we will fix some hardware, chips arrived, between Christmas and New Year and I have to see how much time is left. In case of some spare time I will post my results here :D :D :D

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Ahrefs [Bot], DotBot [Crawler] and 1 guest