ROS Desktop for HYPER-V Server?

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
alexei
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 5:29 pm

ROS Desktop for HYPER-V Server?

Post by alexei » Tue Sep 11, 2012 2:11 am

Please note, HYPER-V Server 2008 is not Server 2008 with HYPER-V.
HYPER-V Server 2008 is a separate product and it's freeware (from MS!).
It would be nice if ROS desktop could run on it.
HYPER-V Server 2008 also lacks audio support, some important GUI DLLs are missing, etc., but it would be really cool to make such chimera work.
It would be significant advantage to everybody (excluding MS, though).

Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Re: ROS Desktop for HYPER-V Server?

Post by Haos » Wed Sep 12, 2012 3:36 pm

I will take a look at it, but if vt-x cpu is required, finding a suitable platform might take time.

alexei
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 5:29 pm

Re: ROS Desktop for HYPER-V Server?

Post by alexei » Wed Sep 12, 2012 6:12 pm

Almost any AMD-64 would do and you can install HYPER-V under VMWare player. I used GRMHVxFRE1_DVD.iso and VMware-player-3.1.2-301548.exe.
It's possible to manage Hyper-V from Win 7 that runs on it (no 2nd box required). Also there are several freeware 3rd party applications - look for ones to manage Server Core.
Surprisingly:
You can install and run HYPER-V under HYPER-V. After turning HYPER-V feature off in guest VM you get something close to Server Core.
64bit OS runs in VMWare player on 32bit Windows (as I remember it didn't work with VMWare server).

forart
Posts: 1050
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 1:36 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ROS Desktop for HYPER-V Server?

Post by forart » Thu Sep 13, 2012 9:09 am

ROS won't run in HyperV last time I checked (a month ago).
»Forward Agency NPO
In progress we (always) trust.

Techno Mage
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 2:05 pm

Re: ROS Desktop for HYPER-V Server?

Post by Techno Mage » Thu Sep 13, 2012 4:28 pm

I just checked with HyperV on windows 8, it gets stuck at AFD.SYS

Radhad
Posts: 605
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 5:09 pm
Contact:

Re: ROS Desktop for HYPER-V Server?

Post by Radhad » Thu Sep 13, 2012 11:17 pm

Can anyone post a link to Hyper-V? I've also read taht Hyper-V 2012 without Windows Server 2012 should be available for free but didn't find it either.

Techno Mage
Posts: 89
Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2005 2:05 pm

Re: ROS Desktop for HYPER-V Server?

Post by Techno Mage » Fri Sep 14, 2012 3:30 pm

You can download the Windows 8 Enterprise trial from the Microsoft site, it has HyperV built in

alexei
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2005 5:29 pm

Re: ROS Desktop for HYPER-V Server?

Post by alexei » Fri Sep 14, 2012 8:07 pm

forart wrote:ROS won't run in HyperV last time I checked (a month ago).
This topic is about running ROS Desktop on Hyper-V Server 2008 host, not running ROS in its VM.

JohnK
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2006 3:57 pm

Re: ROS Desktop for HYPER-V Server?

Post by JohnK » Fri Sep 21, 2012 4:41 am

alexei wrote:Please note, HYPER-V Server 2008 is not Server 2008 with HYPER-V.
HYPER-V Server 2008 is a separate product and it's freeware (from MS!).
It would be nice if ROS desktop could run on it.
HYPER-V Server 2008 also lacks audio support, some important GUI DLLs are missing, etc., but it would be really cool to make such chimera work.
It would be significant advantage to everybody (excluding MS, though).
Hi alexei,

Thanks for this post! I wasn't aware MS offered a free OS, much less a hypervisor. I downloaded both the 2008 and the 2012 versions and ROS explorer does indeed work in both. Extract these files from the ROS iso: explorer.exe, notifyhook.dll, and (I recommend) winefile.exe. Place them in c:\windows on hyper-v and launch from command line.

You can also launch from the regular startup locations in the registry or make ROS explorer the default shell.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 1 guest