3D Acceleration support

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
gnu_rocky
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 10:36 pm

3D Acceleration support

Post by gnu_rocky » Thu Nov 24, 2005 12:48 am

um...

What 3D accelerated video boards are supported in ReactOS? Can I have a list of them? I have a ATI RADEON DV 9600 board.

Jaix
Moderator Team
Posts: 838
Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:40 pm
Location: Sweden, Växjö

Re: 3D Acceleration support

Post by Jaix » Thu Nov 24, 2005 9:37 am

gnu_rocky wrote:um...

What 3D accelerated video boards are supported in ReactOS? Can I have a list of them? I have a ATI RADEON DV 9600 board.
When plug n' play and driver installation is is implemented we can just hope the driver works with ReactOS else you have to test for your self by tampering with reg values and manual driver installation. read about this in the wiki. Actually I would like to recommend you to browse through the wiki for any information that you need about ReactOS, it is a lot of nice reading there.

Ged
Developer
Posts: 925
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 3:00 pm
Location: UK

Post by Ged » Thu Nov 24, 2005 10:09 am

Most ATI and nVidia cards appear to be ok.

They run in software mode though.

GreatLord
Developer
Posts: 926
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Sweden

Post by GreatLord » Thu Nov 24, 2005 8:53 pm

No we are using hardware acclatrion for any 3d party drv
GDI and OpenGL we have done that seen release 0.2.5 thx to blight.

gnu_rocky
Posts: 44
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 10:36 pm

Post by gnu_rocky » Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:19 pm

GreatLord wrote:No we are using hardware acclatrion for any 3d party drv
GDI and OpenGL we have done that seen release 0.2.5 thx to blight.
Do you mean that there IS accelleration support? :|

GvG
Posts: 499
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2004 10:50 pm
Location: The Netherlands

Post by GvG » Sat Nov 26, 2005 7:42 pm

It depends a bit on what you define as "hardware accelleration". For "normal" GDI operations, a request to e.g. fill a rectangle with a given color is passed on to the driver. The driver can then use the hardware to do this very fast. Or the driver can tell ReactOS: nah, that's to complicated for me, you handle it. In that case, the generic code in ReactOS will fill the rectangle by updating bytes on the video card. So, on the GDI level, there is hardware accelleration if the driver implements it (and if you're using that driver and not the VBE driver).
However, often when people talk about "hardware accelleration" they mean DirectX and refer to GDI rendering as "software rendering". The first steps to get DirectX working have been done, but it's still a long way to go. So in the DirectX sense, we don't have hardware accelleration yet.

loki1985
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Dec 07, 2004 1:39 pm

Post by loki1985 » Tue Nov 29, 2005 4:24 pm

i am a little confused about this: i know opengl works, but: are hardware vendors ICDs/ogl driver dlls working already, too?

so: can i use nvoglnt.dll or atioglxx.dll (or whatever they are called) an play e.g. glquake (opengl quake 1 port) with hardware acceleration in the current state of ROS?

GreatLord
Developer
Posts: 926
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 10:26 am
Location: Sweden

Post by GreatLord » Tue Nov 29, 2005 4:39 pm

Yes if u follow blight instructions at wikis.

kaczor
Posts: 44
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 3:54 pm

Post by kaczor » Wed Nov 30, 2005 9:13 am

and when plugnplay will work .. .and normal driver instalation?

TOTMS
Posts: 112
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 3:00 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Post by TOTMS » Sat Dec 10, 2005 4:41 pm

kaczor wrote:and when plugnplay will work .. .and normal driver instalation?
lol as with most things, it will work when it is done. If you want to help keep trying new versions of ROS, installing drivers and reporting back on wierd occurances and BSODs :p

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DotBot [Crawler] and 3 guests