Does PR-Team need a "standard" ROS-Laptop ?

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
wildschwein
Posts: 413
Joined: Tue Sep 16, 2008 1:13 pm

Does PR-Team need a "standard" ROS-Laptop ?

Post by wildschwein » Fri Aug 17, 2012 12:11 pm

What about finding and defining a "standard" ROS Laptop, on that ROS runs very well and stable and on that all the hardware drivers works fine ?

Consider there will be a time in near future hopefully, where members of PR Teams will have the opportunity to present ROS in a company or an organisation. So why not do the presentation on ROS itself (with a second Windows Laptop in backhand, if ROS should exceptional crashes on this laptop).

What a brilliant presentation would it be, to present ROS with Powerpoint, without mentioning, that OS is not windows. And after Presentation, let the cat out of the bag, and demonstrate ROS on this laptop.

Or present ROS directly, without Powerpoint.

Perhaps this step is to early, but we should keep it in mind. At some point PR-Team MUST present ROS in action to a kind of audience...

Witch
Posts: 293
Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 12:30 pm
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Contact:

Re: Does PR-Team need a "standard" ROS-Laptop ?

Post by Witch » Fri Aug 17, 2012 12:23 pm

+1 Like.

Blackcrack
Posts: 1808
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Does PR-Team need a "standard" ROS-Laptop ?

Post by Blackcrack » Fri Aug 17, 2012 1:35 pm

first should be realy enough money on the pot befor anyone think about to buy
for the PRteam standartlaptops or Netbooks or what ever..

the PRTeam shold at first look for one or more Supporter
who can support someone or some things, then can think about ..

behind one comes 2 you should look for Supporter,
then can think about more for the PRTeam.. or isnt it ?!

the idea it is +1/not bad but like i say one, then two ...

milon
Posts: 969
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 9:26 pm

Re: Does PR-Team need a "standard" ROS-Laptop ?

Post by milon » Fri Aug 17, 2012 3:29 pm

No one said anything about money. That's a question that may need to be raised later, but I think we first need to know if there is a standard model laptop which is currently compatible with ROS. Excellent idea, wildschwein!

Blackcrack
Posts: 1808
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Does PR-Team need a "standard" ROS-Laptop ?

Post by Blackcrack » Fri Aug 17, 2012 3:55 pm

if it be not paid must with ReactOS money, is in itself a good idea,
but it should be a IBM-compatible notebook and can be different notebooks..
by once different, to enabling by side if it's run all, 2nd to let show to run on different systems.
Want be only a "Standart-Laptop" so can it be it only bug fix it for only this Notebook and not at all,
but mus be run on all IBM-Compatibles Hardware-systems and not on a/one "Standard-Hardware"

a Laptop for the PR Team per"child" *bg* it is generaly a good idea, but not a Standard-hardware..
So can take any time the CD or an USB-Stick to installing/or livesystem as example
any were and not only on an Standart Notebook later can the PR-Human take easy a usb-stick, create a Liveusb-system and boot there with by an Probant who can tell, take a look, run any were if you whant, LiveCD, LiveUSB and any Notebooks who be IBM-Compatiebel (and may by Arm Compatible too)
so want be a standard notebook btw a standard Hardware a not so nice idea.. it mus work easily
and not on a special Hardware ... there for a notebook a generaly good idea, but a Special Notebook not..

SomeGuy
Posts: 586
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 9:48 am
Location: Marietta, GA

Re: Does PR-Team need a "standard" ROS-Laptop ?

Post by SomeGuy » Fri Aug 17, 2012 5:22 pm

Unfortunately, there just aren't enough people testing ReactOS on laptops right now to get any definitive results of what brands/models would work well.

A good starting place for compatibility would probably be to look at laptops designed for Linux. Such laptops would usually have fewer oddball or proprietary parts.

Features a modern ReactOS laptop would require:
A standard SATA chipset supported by UNIATA, that can also do IDE emulation.
SATA Hard drive and CD drive. (not USB)
PS/2 internally compatible Keyboard and trackpad (not USB garbage)
A PCI connected standard wired network interface chipset, preferably Realtek. (not anything USB)
A PCI connected sound chipset.
Optionally a PCI connected wireless adapter similar to the few tested already.
Vesa 2 compatible video.
A Serial COM port.
A complete set of drivers for Windows XP/2003. (Even though they won't likely work yet)

Ideally I'd even suggest a non-USB internal floppy drive, but I'm sure it is hard enough to find a current laptop with the above specs as it is.

kayedee
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 10:44 am

Re: Does PR-Team need a "standard" ROS-Laptop ?

Post by kayedee » Fri Aug 17, 2012 6:46 pm

Maybe we should start a new topic with a tiltle.

"What laptops will install and run Reactos on which revision/build"

This would be a great starting point for a hardware compatibility database.

Z98
Release Engineer
Posts: 3379
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 8:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Does PR-Team need a "standard" ROS-Laptop ?

Post by Z98 » Fri Aug 17, 2012 6:58 pm

You guys could email Aleksey or one of the German devs, since they often have to bring along laptops to do demos.

Blackcrack
Posts: 1808
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Does PR-Team need a "standard" ROS-Laptop ?

Post by Blackcrack » Fri Aug 17, 2012 7:39 pm

kayedee wrote:Maybe we should start a new topic with a tiltle.

"What laptops will install and run Reactos on which revision/build"

This would be a great starting point for a hardware compatibility database.
Maby a New Tread/Forum, "Testet Hardware and Driver compatibility " and there in the first Post:
"Testet Notebooks"

"Testet Hardware and Driver compatibility " it is good for
check the hardware and Driver compatibility's from diffrent users
and check it out if all Drivers good running or something over Hardware and Drivers ...

kayedee
Posts: 47
Joined: Fri Jul 13, 2012 10:44 am

Re: Does PR-Team need a "standard" ROS-Laptop ?

Post by kayedee » Fri Aug 17, 2012 9:11 pm

Z98 wrote:You guys could email Aleksey or one of the German devs, since they often have to bring along laptops to do demos.
OK, done

Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Re: Does PR-Team need a "standard" ROS-Laptop ?

Post by Haos » Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:45 pm

Blackcrack wrote:Maby a New Tread/Forum, "Testet Hardware and Driver compatibility " and there in the first Post:
"Testet Notebooks"
"Testet Hardware and Driver compatibility " it is good for
check the hardware and Driver compatibility's from diffrent users
and check it out if all Drivers good running or something over Hardware and Drivers ...
http://www.reactos.org/wiki/Supported_Hardware

@wildschwein

Laptops, despite their attractivity, are considerably harder to debug than desktops. Lack of COM port hurts a lot.

Blackcrack
Posts: 1808
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Does PR-Team need a "standard" ROS-Laptop ?

Post by Blackcrack » Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:52 pm

hy Haos,
i don't now, to be a wiki a forum who can write any to specially themes..
i had mean we need for short or long a Hardware and Driver -Forum
who can any User writing about his own experience wit his own hardware and drivers

Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Re: Does PR-Team need a "standard" ROS-Laptop ?

Post by Haos » Fri Aug 17, 2012 11:10 pm

The forum will not help in this case. It lacks any mechanism to organize data.

Blackcrack
Posts: 1808
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Does PR-Team need a "standard" ROS-Laptop ?

Post by Blackcrack » Fri Aug 17, 2012 11:22 pm

there for can be different peoples who can organize this data one of them can be you..
With more Peoples/members and there with more "testers" (privatetester in one)
goes much faster and you can be one of them Organizers ..

Haos
Test Team
Posts: 2954
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 5:42 am
Contact:

Re: Does PR-Team need a "standard" ROS-Laptop ?

Post by Haos » Fri Aug 17, 2012 11:33 pm

Nope, this will still require writing it down somewhere else, which is basically doubling the work.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest