can I do a dual boot ?

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

michaelj2

can I do a dual boot ?

Post by michaelj2 »

Can I do :) a dual boot :) with React OS added onto my current windows xp machine ?

I would like to Install react OS operating system, and then when I reboot my system I am given a choice of booting into windows Xp, or into React OS. That makes sense to me, but is that supported ? can I do that ? does that work?

thank you :D

(I am new to the React-OS Operating System)

I am now using windows xp. 780 megs ram. about 50 gig internal drive (c drive)

I like the way they say that react os will be supported even when windows xp is no longer supported, and I like the way they say that react OS can run windows applications.
DOSGuy

Re: can I do a dual boot ?

Post by DOSGuy »

Not if you care about your Windows XP machine. ReactOS is in alpha stage and it is highly recommended not to run it on a hard drive that has data that you care about. If you have a test machine that has a copy of Windows XP on it that you're willing to reinstall, the best answer is "maybe". ROS seems to have some issues with partitions. It might work, it might not work, and it might destroy the other partition and corrupt all of the data.
Today entirely the maniac there is no excuse with the article. Get free BeOS, DOS, OS/2, and Windows games at RGB Classic Games.
SomeGuy

Post by SomeGuy »

michaelj2 wrote:Can I do :) a dual boot :) with React OS added onto my current windows xp machine ?
That is not recommended. Currently ReactOS is unstable enough it may destroy information on your drive. The best way to try it out is inside VirtualBox. If you really want to see if it can do anything on your hardware try a LiveCD.
milon

Post by milon »

SomeGuy wrote:The best way to try it out is inside VirtualBox.