Do you have a on-screen keyboard ?

Here you can discuss ReactOS related topics.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
10_GOTO_10
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 11:55 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Do you have a on-screen keyboard ?

Post by 10_GOTO_10 » Tue Jan 10, 2012 12:00 am

Hi,

It seems to me that ReactOS don't have some virtual keyboard (on-screen keyboard osk.exe). I have made this program, and with little changes it works on ReactOS (it doesn't work essentially because the flag WS_EX_NOACTIVATE don't work). Obviously I am the author and owner of the code. If you think it can be useful for ReactOS, I can give it to the project. In this case, tell me how to do to commit the files.

After, it would be interesting to can choose "no keyboard" when installing OS. For now when I choose english language, I have only english keyboard in the list, and after first reboot I have no keyboard and no mouse...

Regards

DOSGuy
Posts: 582
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2011 5:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Do you have a on-screen keyboard ?

Post by DOSGuy » Tue Jan 10, 2012 12:18 am

That's a great idea. I don't need it for accessibility reasons, but I've used the on-screen keyboard in Windows when keyboards have died or failed to be recognized at boot time. Good initiative!
Today entirely the maniac there is no excuse with the article. Get free DOS, Windows and OS/2 games at RGB Classic Games.

EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4323
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Re: Do you have a on-screen keyboard ?

Post by EmuandCo » Tue Jan 10, 2012 8:31 am

File it as a Bug please or show it our dev mailing list. The first few patches are reviewed and committed by our devs. Later after a few you get your own access.
Image
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes.

Pesho
Posts: 209
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 1:16 pm

Re: Do you have a on-screen keyboard ?

Post by Pesho » Tue Jan 10, 2012 11:58 am

The On-Screen keyboard is absolutely necessary for tablet PC's. WinXP tablet edition and anything above Vista has the Tablet Input Panel (TIP) installed by default.

Image

Disregarding the handwriting recognition, the most important feature of this on-screen keyboard (as opposed to the default one) is the way it sticks to the taskbar so that it's always available for all applications. I have not tested how ReactOS works with the digitizer driver but there is a good chance they will work, since most tabletPC digitizers use a serial connection.

elhoir
Test Team
Posts: 397
Joined: Thu Sep 13, 2007 7:01 pm
Location: Madrid, Spain
Contact:

Re: Do you have a on-screen keyboard ?

Post by elhoir » Tue Jan 10, 2012 12:58 pm

is there any place where one can download your app?

10_GOTO_10
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 11:55 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Do you have a on-screen keyboard ?

Post by 10_GOTO_10 » Tue Jan 10, 2012 1:28 pm

Here is a zip file:

http://denis.beru.free.fr/Download/osk.zip

Regards

jimtabor
Developer
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 3:00 pm

Re: Do you have a on-screen keyboard ?

Post by jimtabor » Tue Jan 10, 2012 9:52 pm

ReactOS needs to support keyboard attach input thread so the keyboard program will input into the target thread and display in the target application. ATM this is broken.

jimtabor
Developer
Posts: 223
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 3:00 pm

Re: Do you have a on-screen keyboard ?

Post by jimtabor » Tue Jan 10, 2012 9:54 pm


10_GOTO_10
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 11:55 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Do you have a on-screen keyboard ?

Post by 10_GOTO_10 » Tue Jan 10, 2012 11:16 pm

by jimtabor » 10 Jan 2012 19:54

Open source,,,
http://www.codeproject.com/KB/cpp/onscreenkeyboard.aspx
It uses MFC and cpp. I don't think it is ReactOS coding conventions.

gonzoMD
Posts: 1020
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 7:49 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Do you have a on-screen keyboard ?

Post by gonzoMD » Wed Jan 11, 2012 10:17 am

I don't know if it's 100% correct, but I tried to make a german translation, maybe EmuandCo can review it.
Here it is: http://www.filefactory.com/file/c15c585/n/de-DE.rc

EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4323
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Re: Do you have a on-screen keyboard ?

Post by EmuandCo » Wed Jan 11, 2012 8:20 pm

Maybe when I find some time for it. There's still a newsletter to be reviewed too
Image
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes.

wojo664
Posts: 320
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 5:39 pm

Re: Do you have a on-screen keyboard ?

Post by wojo664 » Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:20 pm

Code: Select all

 PUSHBUTTON      "Verr maj",SCAN_CODE_30,3,60,28,13,BS_ICON
I'm making a Polish translation, and I don't know what is "Verr maj"...
It's in English lang file.

10_GOTO_10
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2011 11:55 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Do you have a on-screen keyboard ?

Post by 10_GOTO_10 » Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:53 pm

"Verr maj" is in french (verrouillage majuscules), "caps lock" in english. But it is not important, because there is an icon on this key.

Pisarz
Posts: 375
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 9:29 am

Re: Do you have a on-screen keyboard ?

Post by Pisarz » Sat Jan 14, 2012 11:03 pm

Could someone put here compiled binary? Cause there is no makefile and I'm not really a dev...

wojo664
Posts: 320
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 5:39 pm

Re: Do you have a on-screen keyboard ?

Post by wojo664 » Sat Jan 14, 2012 11:41 pm


Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests