Page 1 of 1

Software RAID 5 in Windows 7

Posted: Wed May 13, 2020 12:31 am
by Johannes Krauser II
Hello,

I am writing here in hope that this gets too the attention of the people behind ReactOS, as they might figure out this:

RAID 5 is not an option in win7, it's reserved for win server 2008. I desperatelly want to use this feature, and chipset/pcie card RAID is not an option. WinXP also didn't had RAID 5 option, but they found a way and hacked it. So xp,8 and 10 can do RAID 5, but not 7. It seems that the staff behind sysinternals knew a way (you know who I am talking about), but the article is long gone (I wonder why...), as I read here:

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/win ... 781a183ffd

Does anyone know how to do this?

Re: Software RAID 5 in Windows 7

Posted: Wed May 13, 2020 8:45 am
by EmuandCo
As I use RAID very often at work I can only say that a software RAID is not worth the name RAID. The one and only solution for a RAID is a RAID controller. Not the reply you wanted, but the only way for a useful RAID is a hardware RAID.

Re: Software RAID 5 in Windows 7

Posted: Wed May 13, 2020 12:19 pm
by Johannes Krauser II
Hardware RAID assumes that you have free pcie lanes (I don't) and a hardware-build array is not portable. Plus the ludicrus cost (as you said, if you want hardware RAID it must be REAL HARDWARE RAID ($$$$) and not some cheap card). Software RAID is, lets just say, plug and play. It can be transferred in another pc just like that. If your RAID card fails, you are bound to find the same card or cards that are compatible in order to recover.

Re: Software RAID 5 in Windows 7

Posted: Fri May 22, 2020 2:15 pm
by middings
Software RAID 5 appears to be available in Microsoft Windows Server 2003 according to this Microsoft support article, How To Establish a Striped Volume with Parity (RAID-5) in Windows Server 2003.

Re: Software RAID 5 in Windows 7

Posted: Wed May 27, 2020 1:20 pm
by erkinalp
EmuandCo wrote:a software RAID is not worth the name RAID.
Which part of the Redundant Array of Inexpensive Disks cannot be represented in software? Redundant, inexpensive, array? How does it make into a Redundant Array of Imperformant Disks?