Software RAID 5 in Windows 7

If it doesn't fit anywhere else, drop it in here. (not to be used as a chat/nonsense section)

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
Johannes Krauser II
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 13, 2020 12:20 am

Software RAID 5 in Windows 7

Post by Johannes Krauser II »

Hello,

I am writing here in hope that this gets too the attention of the people behind ReactOS, as they might figure out this:

RAID 5 is not an option in win7, it's reserved for win server 2008. I desperatelly want to use this feature, and chipset/pcie card RAID is not an option. WinXP also didn't had RAID 5 option, but they found a way and hacked it. So xp,8 and 10 can do RAID 5, but not 7. It seems that the staff behind sysinternals knew a way (you know who I am talking about), but the article is long gone (I wonder why...), as I read here:

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/win ... 781a183ffd

Does anyone know how to do this?

User avatar
EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4420
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Re: Software RAID 5 in Windows 7

Post by EmuandCo »

As I use RAID very often at work I can only say that a software RAID is not worth the name RAID. The one and only solution for a RAID is a RAID controller. Not the reply you wanted, but the only way for a useful RAID is a hardware RAID.
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes.

Johannes Krauser II
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 13, 2020 12:20 am

Re: Software RAID 5 in Windows 7

Post by Johannes Krauser II »

Hardware RAID assumes that you have free pcie lanes (I don't) and a hardware-build array is not portable. Plus the ludicrus cost (as you said, if you want hardware RAID it must be REAL HARDWARE RAID ($$$$) and not some cheap card). Software RAID is, lets just say, plug and play. It can be transferred in another pc just like that. If your RAID card fails, you are bound to find the same card or cards that are compatible in order to recover.

middings
Posts: 1028
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 9:18 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: Software RAID 5 in Windows 7

Post by middings »

Software RAID 5 appears to be available in Microsoft Windows Server 2003 according to this Microsoft support article, How To Establish a Striped Volume with Parity (RAID-5) in Windows Server 2003.

erkinalp
Posts: 858
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 5:55 pm

Re: Software RAID 5 in Windows 7

Post by erkinalp »

EmuandCo wrote:a software RAID is not worth the name RAID.
Which part of the Redundant Array of Inexpensive Disks cannot be represented in software? Redundant, inexpensive, array? How does it make into a Redundant Array of Imperformant Disks?
-uses Ubuntu+GNOME 3 GNU/Linux
-likes Free (as in freedom) and Open Source Detergents
-favors open source of Windows 10 under GPL2

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests