React OS = Linux?

If it doesn't fit anywhere else, drop it in here. (not to be used as a chat/nonsense section)

Moderator: Moderator Team

havig4u

React OS = Linux?

Post by havig4u » Sat Apr 01, 2006 9:44 am

Hi

Am a fresh newbie here and interested in react......but what is it based on?

Is it a kind of Linux or...........

st

Post by st » Sat Apr 01, 2006 9:58 am

No. It is based on its own WinNT-like kernel written from scratch.

GreyGhost

Post by GreyGhost » Sat Apr 01, 2006 11:26 am

Welcome havig4u.
A must read for newbies,
http://www.reactos.org/xhtml/en/about_userfaq.html

havig4u

ok..tnx

Post by havig4u » Sat Apr 01, 2006 11:26 am

So its more like XP then Linus.............

If I understand i correct its a bit tricky to install programs in Linux.....its not as easy as in windows were you just double click the exe file.......

But what about the "react"? Installation is it the ".exe" style?

I´ve been reading about the Microsoft license deal....it seems that there is an update to the license.
If you bought an computer with OEM XP or build it youself with OEM XP you are not allowed to switch Motherboard......then you need to buy a new OEM license........this suck!!!! I presumme that the XP will not validate and youre cut off.........

Any comments?

Thats why am looking at other OS solutions........as linus or React.
React seems to be the most interesting......am only a few days into the learning process.......

w3seek
Developer

Post by w3seek » Sat Apr 01, 2006 11:33 am

Good luck using ReactOS in a production environment...

EmuandCo
Developer

Post by EmuandCo » Sat Apr 01, 2006 12:26 pm

Its called ReactOS

Its based on a completely from scratch written NT-Like Kernel.

Its still Alpha and not recommended for everyday use.

ThePhysicist
Developer

Re: ok..tnx

Post by ThePhysicist » Sun Apr 02, 2006 1:30 am

havig4u wrote:So its more like XP then Linus.............
I would say it's more like Windows but with the freedom of Linux.