MS-DOS 3.3 refuses to install

If it doesn't fit anywhere else, drop it in here. (not to be used as a chat/nonsense section)

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
Missingno50
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:28 am
Location: Dixon, California
Contact:

MS-DOS 3.3 refuses to install

Post by Missingno50 »

I figured you'd guys would know better than me. I'm trying to install MS-DOS 3.3 on a VMware machine(not 3.31, 3.30), and I have it set so that it has a size of 32 megabytes. The problem is that this machine doesn't seem to realize the hard drive is there, no matter what I do. It keeps telling me "Invalid drive specification." Does anyone know what's happening? It's set to an IDE port.
"We are going to have to act, if we want to live in a different world."
Proud owner of one semi-modern ROS compatible computer. I hope to make an industry out of selling ROS compatibles the moment 0.5.0 releases.

User avatar
binarymaster
Posts: 355
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 7:05 pm
Location: Russia, Moscow
Contact:

Re: MS-DOS 3.3 refuses to install

Post by binarymaster »

...but ReactOS is better than MS-DOS 3.3 :roll:

User avatar
mrmajik45
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 1:21 am
Location: USA, Indiana
Contact:

Re: MS-DOS 3.3 refuses to install

Post by mrmajik45 »

What if it's a DOS only application?
ReactOS Donator ~ $5.00 | Linux Mint Donator ~ $1.00 in BTC

Trasher
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Nov 29, 2004 4:06 pm
Location: Ottawa. Canada

Re: MS-DOS 3.3 refuses to install

Post by Trasher »

I don't know the level of your expertise and I have not used VMWare in a long time but here goes:
Make sure your VM is set to "BIOS" or "CSM" mode. DOS used BIOS calls to detect the HD.
After, boot from the floppy and use "FDISK" to create the partition and "Format" to make the drive ready.

Good Luck.

karlexceed
Posts: 506
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: MS-DOS 3.3 refuses to install

Post by karlexceed »

Did you use fdisk to create/initialize your HD? Otherwise DOS running from the floppy doesn't know what "C:" means.

Edit:

Here's the full instructions I just used to install DOS 3.30 in VBox:
- Create VM, make sure your HD is 32 MB or less.
- Mount disk01.img in virtual floppy drive.
- Boot your VM, set date and time.
- fdisk (just accept all defaults)
- format c:
- sys c:
- md c:\dos
- copy a:\ c:\dos
- copy a:\command.com c:\
- Swap disk 2 into floppy drive
- copy a:\ c:\dos
- Remove virtual floppies, reboot VM.
- Done.

Missingno50
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:28 am
Location: Dixon, California
Contact:

Re: MS-DOS 3.3 refuses to install

Post by Missingno50 »

Hi guys, sorry for holding off on this, was busy all week. I'm trying to install MS-DOS 3.3 to deal with Windows 1.4, which has issues with later versions of MS-DOS(and ReactOS is far too unstable for what I need to use Win 1.4 for.) Anyways, I've done everything you guys asked and it still isn't working for some reason.
"We are going to have to act, if we want to live in a different world."
Proud owner of one semi-modern ROS compatible computer. I hope to make an industry out of selling ROS compatibles the moment 0.5.0 releases.

karlexceed
Posts: 506
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: MS-DOS 3.3 refuses to install

Post by karlexceed »

What's your virtual hardware/VM template?

tomleem
Posts: 631
Joined: Mon Mar 28, 2005 6:59 pm
Location: New Hampshire of United States of America
Contact:

Re: MS-DOS 3.3 refuses to install

Post by tomleem »

There is a free advanced form of DOS called FreeDOS. http://www.freedos.org Perhaps an alternative to MS-DOS?
[ external image ]
* * * * * * * * * * * * *
Tom Lee M / BigGoofyGuy
* * * * * * * * * * * * *

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests