Recaptcha Warning

If it doesn't fit anywhere else, drop it in here. (not to be used as a chat/nonsense section)

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
Missingno50
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:28 am
Location: Dixon, California
Contact:

Recaptcha Warning

Post by Missingno50 »

I saw this when logging in.
[ external image ]
Just needed to alert you about it.
Sorry if you are already on it, this isn't really a great first post.
"We are going to have to act, if we want to live in a different world."
Proud owner of one semi-modern ROS compatible computer. I hope to make an industry out of selling ROS compatibles the moment 0.5.0 releases.

PurpleGurl
Posts: 1789
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 5:11 am
Location: USA

Re: Recaptcha Warning

Post by PurpleGurl »

I recently was working in the Wiki and saw that too.

Adcock
Posts: 237
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 5:37 pm

Re: Recaptcha Warning

Post by Adcock »

What does it mean?

User avatar
EmuandCo
Developer
Posts: 4394
Joined: Sun Nov 28, 2004 7:52 pm
Location: Germany, Bavaria, Steinfeld
Contact:

Re: Recaptcha Warning

Post by EmuandCo »

It means what you can read there. The captcha needs to be updated until the day of reckoning mentioned there.
ReactOS is still in alpha stage, meaning it is not feature-complete and is recommended only for evaluation and testing purposes.

Adcock
Posts: 237
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 5:37 pm

Re: Recaptcha Warning

Post by Adcock »

EmuandCo : Didn't understand a thing of what you wrote!

Just tell me that the days of Reacting are not coming to an end.

Thank you.

karlexceed
Posts: 507
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Recaptcha Warning

Post by karlexceed »

Not to worry, Adcock, it looks like someone already made the necessary changes. I see the new version of ReCaptcha on the "Create new account" page.

User avatar
mrmajik45
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 1:21 am
Location: USA, Indiana
Contact:

Re: Recaptcha Warning

Post by mrmajik45 »

karlexceed wrote:Not to worry, Adcock, it looks like someone already made the necessary changes. I see the new version of ReCaptcha on the "Create new account" page.
It's happening on the wiki page too.
ReactOS Donator ~ $5.00 | Linux Mint Donator ~ $1.00 in BTC

User avatar
cernodile
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2017 7:01 pm
Location: Estonia
Contact:

Re: Recaptcha Warning

Post by cernodile »

Adcock wrote:EmuandCo : Didn't understand a thing of what you wrote!

Just tell me that the days of Reacting are not coming to an end.

Thank you.
Reactos doesn't die, it's about Google's recaptcha being deprecated in favour of their "Are you a robot?" V2
My working rigs:
Dell Latitude E5430 on 0.4.9-vgal - i5-3340M, USB boot.
Partially working rigs:
Ryzen 7 3700X on B450 board - 0.4.14 boot via preinstall. USB broken.
[ external image ]

User avatar
mrmajik45
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 1:21 am
Location: USA, Indiana
Contact:

Re: Recaptcha Warning

Post by mrmajik45 »

I can confirm that the wiki's Recaptcha is not updated
ReactOS Donator ~ $5.00 | Linux Mint Donator ~ $1.00 in BTC

karlexceed
Posts: 507
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Recaptcha Warning

Post by karlexceed »

Where are you guys seeing the ReCAPTCHA on the wiki? I can't seem to find it anywhere but the "Create new account" page.

Also, what browser are you using? I'm using Chrome.

Adcock
Posts: 237
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2016 5:37 pm

Re: Recaptcha Warning

Post by Adcock »

karlexceed : Thanks for the clarification.
cernodile : Thank you too.

:mrgreen:

User avatar
mrmajik45
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2017 1:21 am
Location: USA, Indiana
Contact:

Re: Recaptcha Warning

Post by mrmajik45 »

karlexceed wrote:Where are you guys seeing the ReCAPTCHA on the wiki? I can't seem to find it anywhere but the "Create new account" page.
When you edit a wiki page and press apply changes you have to put in a captcha.
ReactOS Donator ~ $5.00 | Linux Mint Donator ~ $1.00 in BTC

middings
Posts: 1027
Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 9:18 pm
Location: California, USA

Re: Recaptcha Warning

Post by middings »

Yesterday I saw the same message on the Re-Captcha used on a major retailer's web site. I typed in V1 SHUTDOWN ON 2018-03-31 and the Re-Captcha let me proceed. I think a Re-Captcha that answers to a known, fixed string is a potential cyber-security hazard for sites that rely on the Re-Captcha to be an obstacle for repeated, rapid-fire automated attacks to discover user IDs (to name one example).

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests